We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Dirty Bathroom!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Serena Hotel Bandung

Save Saved
You added Serena Hotel Bandung to your Saves list
Serena Hotel Bandung
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Serena Hotel Bandung
Jl. Marjuk No 4-6 Kebon Kawung, Bandung 40171, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 234 Bandung B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Smelly Dirty Bathroom!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

From the outside it looks like this hotel may have some potential...... sadly no. We stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid tour, so had expected better. The bathroom is an open wet room, see photos. Disgustingly filthy, mouldy and smelt of bad drains! We were given two grotty greying towels, which quite fankly I did not want to touch, let alone dry myself with! There was only one plug socket to charge cameras/phones etc, hidden in a cupboard.

We were also unlucky to have a room at the top of the corridor directly down from the main entrance. After seeing the room and the smell, we asked to change and were told that all the other standard rooms were booked out. I then had the pleasure of enjoying loud music coming from a bar outside of the bedroom window!

I would not recommend staying here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    16
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went there for a night on an Intrepid tour. The sheets were dirty greyish white, as were the towels. The toilet was black under the rim. The room smelt. There was no light to read by, just a weak centrally- hanging low wattage bulb.
Some one else along the corridor had an infestation of cockroaches which were breeding in the bedside cupboard. One of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The best room would be in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at 1am..already book extra bed earlier but still havent setup when we reached there...and actually it is only a mattress! Dirty..old fashion toilet..food was terrible..room too small... No jug kettle & they charge u rp8000 everytime u request for hot water. Rp8000 per tumbler!!! Our stay there was really a nightmare...i will not suggest anyone to stay there...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

hotel serena just opposite od Bandung central station is too expensive. rooms are ok and the staff is helpfull. however, the breakfast is not very good. did a nice trip with Jem, a driver affiliated to hotel serena. he trip was good and Jem is a really noce guy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French River, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We slept there one night on Intrepid tour. The room reeked from horible smell, was dirty and bad in every way. Appaled that Intrepid had used this hotel, worse than one they used in Jakarta. Would not reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for just the one night on an Intrepid Tour through java. We did not think much of Bandung at alland to be honest, we couldn't wait to get out of there - but that's not the Serena Hotel's fault to be fair.
What is their fault is the horrendous smells out of the bathrooms in the rooms - and that's before we used them before any of you get smart! It has no safe deposit boxes either in the rooms or at reception which for me is a downer. I put security pretty high up on my list of priorities in any hotel. By no means am I suggesting that the place is 'unsecure' but I don't think a lace to keep your passport and cards is beyond reasonable for any traveller.
They are just about the only faults I can write about though. The location of the hotel is good, right across from the rain station which you can use as a means of escaping from Bandung.
The food in the hotel restaurant is pretty nice to be fair and the morning breakfast was quite good.
It is the 'Our Pick' in my edition of the Lonely Planet Guide to S.E. Asia but having spent a day in Bandung I can only assume that ti does not have much competition. So if you find yourself in Bandung, this place will do okay, absolutely nothing wrong with it really - but for the love of God, life is too short to give Bandung much more than one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel was a short walk from the train station. The room was clean with sufficient furniture and a basic bathroom. There was no separated shower area in the bathroom, which made the entire floor wet.

A buffet breakfast was available in the restaurant on the ground floor but I had to order an omelette separately.

My impression was brief as I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serena Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Bandung

Address: Jl. Marjuk No 4-6 Kebon Kawung, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Serena Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serena Hotel Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.