We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Dirty Bathroom!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Serena Hotel Bandung

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Serena Hotel Bandung to your Saves list
Serena Hotel Bandung
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Marjuk no. 4-6 Kebon Kawung, Bandung 40171, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 246 Bandung B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Smelly Dirty Bathroom!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

From the outside it looks like this hotel may have some potential...... sadly no. We stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid tour, so had expected better. The bathroom is an open wet room, see photos. Disgustingly filthy, mouldy and smelt of bad drains! We were given two grotty greying towels, which quite fankly I did not want to touch, let alone dry myself with! There was only one plug socket to charge cameras/phones etc, hidden in a cupboard.

We were also unlucky to have a room at the top of the corridor directly down from the main entrance. After seeing the room and the smell, we asked to change and were told that all the other standard rooms were booked out. I then had the pleasure of enjoying loud music coming from a bar outside of the bedroom window!

I would not recommend staying here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    18
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
5
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went there for a night on an Intrepid tour. The sheets were dirty greyish white, as were the towels. The toilet was black under the rim. The room smelt. There was no light to read by, just a weak centrally- hanging low wattage bulb.
Some one else along the corridor had an infestation of cockroaches which were breeding in the bedside cupboard. One of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The best room would be in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serendah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at 1am..already book extra bed earlier but still havent setup when we reached there...and actually it is only a mattress! Dirty..old fashion toilet..food was terrible..room too small... No jug kettle & they charge u rp8000 everytime u request for hot water. Rp8000 per tumbler!!! Our stay there was really a nightmare...i will not suggest anyone to stay there...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

hotel serena just opposite od Bandung central station is too expensive. rooms are ok and the staff is helpfull. however, the breakfast is not very good. did a nice trip with Jem, a driver affiliated to hotel serena. he trip was good and Jem is a really noce guy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French River, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We slept there one night on Intrepid tour. The room reeked from horible smell, was dirty and bad in every way. Appaled that Intrepid had used this hotel, worse than one they used in Jakarta. Would not reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for just the one night on an Intrepid Tour through java. We did not think much of Bandung at alland to be honest, we couldn't wait to get out of there - but that's not the Serena Hotel's fault to be fair.
What is their fault is the horrendous smells out of the bathrooms in the rooms - and that's before we used them before any of you get smart! It has no safe deposit boxes either in the rooms or at reception which for me is a downer. I put security pretty high up on my list of priorities in any hotel. By no means am I suggesting that the place is 'unsecure' but I don't think a lace to keep your passport and cards is beyond reasonable for any traveller.
They are just about the only faults I can write about though. The location of the hotel is good, right across from the rain station which you can use as a means of escaping from Bandung.
The food in the hotel restaurant is pretty nice to be fair and the morning breakfast was quite good.
It is the 'Our Pick' in my edition of the Lonely Planet Guide to S.E. Asia but having spent a day in Bandung I can only assume that ti does not have much competition. So if you find yourself in Bandung, this place will do okay, absolutely nothing wrong with it really - but for the love of God, life is too short to give Bandung much more than one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel was a short walk from the train station. The room was clean with sufficient furniture and a basic bathroom. There was no separated shower area in the bathroom, which made the entire floor wet.

A buffet breakfast was available in the restaurant on the ground floor but I had to order an omelette separately.

My impression was brief as I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Serena Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Bandung

Address: Jl. Marjuk no. 4-6 Kebon Kawung, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serena Hotel Bandung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serena Hotel location is only seconds from Train Station, easy access to Pasar Baru shopping area, and is only 10 minutes from the Airport. Serena Hotel accomodation features 65 rooms and suites with restaurant, 2 meeting room 30-120 seat capacity, Spa, Drug Store, Sameday Laundry Service, Tour & Transport, free WiFi in public area, Room Service, Major credit card accepted, and etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Serena Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serena Hotel Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.