We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible..horrible..night mare!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Serena Hotel Bandung

Serena Hotel Bandung
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Serena Hotel Bandung to your Saves list
Serena Hotel Bandung
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Marjuk No 4-6 Kebon Kawung, Bandung 40171, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 244 Bandung B&B and Inns
Serendah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrible..horrible..night mare!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at 1am..already book extra bed earlier but still havent setup when we reached there...and actually it is only a mattress! Dirty..old fashion toilet..food was terrible..room too small... No jug kettle & they charge u rp8000 everytime u request for hot water. Rp8000 per tumbler!!! Our stay there was really a nightmare...i will not suggest anyone to stay there...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    18
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

hotel serena just opposite od Bandung central station is too expensive. rooms are ok and the staff is helpfull. however, the breakfast is not very good. did a nice trip with Jem, a driver affiliated to hotel serena. he trip was good and Jem is a really noce guy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French River, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We slept there one night on Intrepid tour. The room reeked from horible smell, was dirty and bad in every way. Appaled that Intrepid had used this hotel, worse than one they used in Jakarta. Would not reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for just the one night on an Intrepid Tour through java. We did not think much of Bandung at alland to be honest, we couldn't wait to get out of there - but that's not the Serena Hotel's fault to be fair.
What is their fault is the horrendous smells out of the bathrooms in the rooms - and that's before we used them before any of you get smart! It has no safe deposit boxes either in the rooms or at reception which for me is a downer. I put security pretty high up on my list of priorities in any hotel. By no means am I suggesting that the place is 'unsecure' but I don't think a lace to keep your passport and cards is beyond reasonable for any traveller.
They are just about the only faults I can write about though. The location of the hotel is good, right across from the rain station which you can use as a means of escaping from Bandung.
The food in the hotel restaurant is pretty nice to be fair and the morning breakfast was quite good.
It is the 'Our Pick' in my edition of the Lonely Planet Guide to S.E. Asia but having spent a day in Bandung I can only assume that ti does not have much competition. So if you find yourself in Bandung, this place will do okay, absolutely nothing wrong with it really - but for the love of God, life is too short to give Bandung much more than one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel was a short walk from the train station. The room was clean with sufficient furniture and a basic bathroom. There was no separated shower area in the bathroom, which made the entire floor wet.

A buffet breakfast was available in the restaurant on the ground floor but I had to order an omelette separately.

My impression was brief as I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Never stay in this hotel. Rooms are dirty. Pillows are hardened lumps of old latex( feel like putting yr head on a few hard tennis balls at night)!Toilets not working, blocked and leaking sink, filthy mould covered shower area and bathrooms smells horrible. Food for breakfast buffet is either too sweet or too salty and menu is the same everyday. Please stay away from this hotel!There is only one miserable factory outlet within walking distance of this hotel and the prices there are ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel has a great location across the road from the train station. It is down a small laneway so it is away from the noise of the trains and the traffic. The staff were very friendly and helpful even though they looked so young! The room prices are quite expensive i arrived late at night with no booking and it was no problem to get a room. The decor was very dark and old fashioned. The room wasnt as clean as it could have been. The bathroom was very questionable! I was travelling in the wet season and one day there was a particularly bad storm, the rain water was running down the walls in my room luckily I noticed it in time and managed to move my stuff before it got damaged! I mentioned it to staff in reception and I was told Id be allowed move rooms, but nobody came. I ended up mopping up the water with the towels in my room. Breakfast is included in the price but its not very impressive. Rice, noodles bread and jam. The day I was there the toaster was broken! I dont drink tea but the coffee was vile so Im sure the tea was the same! The restaurant had very limited choices for food...but the locals selling foods from the carts on the lane or in the train station carpark were very good! I definately think this hotel is way too expensive for the quality you receive..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serena Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Bandung

Address: Jl. Marjuk No 4-6 Kebon Kawung, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serena Hotel Bandung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Serena Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serena Hotel Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.