We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Luxton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Luxton to your Saves list
The Luxton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Ir. H. Juanda No.18, Bandung 40115, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Bandung
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Simply nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It was our first time in this hotel and the impression was good. We stayed only one night on the weekday. The room was not ready when we arrived early 9 or 10 am, but not for long. The lovely staff offered connecting rooms and somehow 1 room ready just after one hour. My room was clean but the other one a bit smelly. It's also located to main street (Dago), easy to move. The staff was helpful. Breakfast was various. The parking lot is very limited (was no issue).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    102
    38
    7
    1
See reviews for
49
41
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this new hotel. Although quite minimalist, it has the creature comforts one is looking for in a hotel, a good bed for a solid and unbroken nights sleep. The breakfast was agreeable for those that prefer the local fare. The egg omelette that I had on 3 mornings I was there were cooked to perfection and extremely tasty, but do not expect any pork products in this area. I stayed over the weekend, so the hotel was completely full of weekend trippers from Jakarta, but the noise level was kept low and the ease with which one could use the dining area for small meetings was very pleasant.

Room Tip: I stayed in the main hotel tower, West I believe, but probably better to stay in the East Tower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

nice experience having short honeymoon in this hotel. Me and my husband spent two nights in honeymoon suite. We often spent time at the tub in the balcony. Nice, relaxing and romantic at night. However, we were quite disturbed by the children noises in the afternoon from our next room. It seems that they were playing in their tub and causes a lot of noises but Thanks God they stopped at night. Quite memorable stay for us in Luxton Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Luxton is simple hotel but the service is excellent, I've stayed on Dec 23rd 2011 at one of room at new wing building. the room is bigger than other hotel 4 stars...it must be 5 stars hotels! breakfast menu so variety and tasty food. i love the fitness and swimming position in the same level floor...and suprised that the view was very nice when you were swimming. Unfortunately when i was there, the lounge in the new wings is not open yet. I wish i will check in again in this hotel future. Staff was giving the excellent service! GOOD JOB

Room Tip: Deluxe Room is Ok but I' ve showed the honeymoon suite is really romantic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Located just by the busy street of Juanda, which has bad traffic jam most of the time, this hotel has a very very limited parking space. So, after getting out from the traffic jam in hoping to get a great relaxing time, they asked us to u-turn to the other side of the road since they have alternative parking there. So, we are directly back in the traffic jam again. Although we didn't bring many luggages, there is no sign that some staffs will assist from the alternative parking space to the hotel.

The official check-in time is 2 PM, but I found although I came on 2 PM, my room had not yet been ready. It took about 20 minutes until the room was ready, and there is no compliment at all. Only a simple "sorry" from the front desk.

Room was considerably good and in good condition with good humidity. Many channels in the television. Breakfast is just usual, not special.

Location-wise, it is in vicinity with the Factory Outlets in Riau street. However, traffic is really bad on weekends. So it may took 30-60 minutes to get to Riau street.

About the signings, I feel very strange that I did not find the room number sign after I got out from the lift. So the lift is in the middle of a long corridor. After you get out from the lift, there are rooms to the left and right corridor. However, there is no sign on which room numbers are on the left, and which room numbers are on the right. I think it is a very basic sign that a hotel should have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Plus points :
- Very sleek, modern looking
- Very clean and neat
- Location is strategic, cost is reasonable
- Pool is great for relaxing

minus points :
- Staff not very helpful with the bags
- Furniture in room is not kids friendly, many pointy edge
- Parking lot is very small, only 1 level
- No complimentary drinking water
- No sign of 'kiblat' for Muslim's prayer

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, great service. Rooms are moderately sized, buffet was ample with a moderate spread, a mix of local and western food. Our rooms came with vouchers for breakfast, supper (congee or noodles) and complimentary local delicacies to take away when we checked out. Also, discount vouchers for the spa. All in a pleasant experience.

Location wise it's just a 10 minute walk from the factory outlets at Jalan Riau.

One thing - avoid Bandung during the weekends. We were told that 3 million Jakartians descend on Bandung every weekend to shop, eat & sightsee, so the narrow roads are choc-a-bloc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Luxton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luxton

Address: Jalan Ir. H. Juanda No.18, Bandung 40115, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Luxton 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Luxton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luxton Hotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Luxton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.