We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern looking hotel, not for family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Luxton

Save Saved
You added The Luxton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Luxton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Ir. H. Juanda No.18, Bandung 40115, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 147 hotels in Bandung
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Modern looking hotel, not for family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Plus points :
- Very sleek, modern looking

- Very clean and neat
- Location is strategic, cost is reasonable
- Pool is great for relaxing

minus points :
- Staff not very helpful with the bags
- Furniture in room is not kids friendly, many pointy edge
- Parking lot is very small, only 1 level
- No complimentary drinking water
- No sign of 'kiblat' for Muslim's prayer

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    85
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
36
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, great service. Rooms are moderately sized, buffet was ample with a moderate spread, a mix of local and western food. Our rooms came with vouchers for breakfast, supper (congee or noodles) and complimentary local delicacies to take away when we checked out. Also, discount vouchers for the spa. All in a pleasant experience.

Location wise it's just a 10 minute walk from the factory outlets at Jalan Riau.

One thing - avoid Bandung during the weekends. We were told that 3 million Jakartians descend on Bandung every weekend to shop, eat & sightsee, so the narrow roads are choc-a-bloc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean, but the service is a bit slow.
We are in hurry to catch-up the flight, but when we order the taxi, they are very slow in order the taxi. In addition, the check-out process are also slow. This is new hotel, but the service need to improve. Hopefully, we can come back with the new improvement.

Room Tip: Corner area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

2nd Stay in Luxton in the last 6 months. Was there for 4 nights each.

Location - Bandung is a small place, hence this hotel is close to most places. Its next to Dago Plaza where you can find a lot of bars and also close to 100's of factory outlet stores.

Rooms - Clean, Modern Decor. The rooms in the new wing are better than the rooms in the old building.
Only problem is that many rooms are connected rooms and if you are unlucky enough to have a noisy neighbor.....it can be really irritating

Restaurant - Breakfast is good. Good variety.

Internet - No Wifi in room, only wired internet connection which is a disappointment. Wifi is available only in the hotel lobby and restaurant.
Internet speed is unbelievably slow.....impossible to work....

Overall despite of the slight hick-ups here and there....its quite a good hotel.

Room Tip: Insist for a non-connected room. they have only few
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The room was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was of a good size as well. However, the pillows quite flat, which didn't allow very good sleep.

Service was great. They responded quickly to calls for help for internet connection.

The buffet breakfast was good. There was a good selection of both Western and Asian food. The a la carte menu, on the other hand, I felt was lacking in variety.

Overall, I had a good stay at The Luxton hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Little disappointment occurred when I was checking in. I have confirmed to the hotel by phone that I can check in at 2 PM, but when I was arrived at 2PM, I have to wait almost an hour to finally enter the room. However, the hotel made me smile again since they voluntarily offered late check out until 2PM on my departure.
I stayed in Honeymoon Suite and it was very nice with its wood floors, see-through bathroom (without bathtub) and especially its outdoor whirlpool. The whirlpool is nice and worked perfectly.
Reasonable price for the minibar and in-room dining, but haven’t got a chance to try, since Bandung have so many options for culinary session.
Got welcome drink in the lobby and welcome snack delivered to the room. Nice gesture from the staff when I borrowed praying mat and internet password. I also got buffet supper (also haven’t got to try since we already had proper dinner outside before the supper time at 9-12 PM). Breakfast was nice. They served local food such as nasi kuning (yellow coconut rice), chicken rice porridge and many others, waffle, quiche, hash brown and sausages, egg station, and others. They reach the peak time at 8.30 AM where there could be no seat available.
Location wise, it’s so great, there are so many attractions nearby. Among all, I would suggest The Kiosk (200 meters before) for local based restaurant and Superindo (100 meters before) for groceries shopping.
On the departure, I got a bag of local snack for souvenir. Not so important but it was a nice touch to close the experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed at The Luxton hotel when there was some credit card promotion (50% off) which was a great deal! The hotel style is modern - contemporary (which is my favourite type of hotels). The room size is spacious, no complain except a bit noisy. I could hear people walk and talk when they're outside the room (at the corridor/ hallway).

Breakfast was superb, loads of choices and good ambiance. Located nearby factory outlets. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Luxton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luxton

Address: Jalan Ir. H. Juanda No.18, Bandung 40115, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#14 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Luxton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Luxton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luxton Hotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Luxton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.