We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Building on Easter Day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of G H Universal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added G H Universal to your Saves list
G H Universal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Setiabudhi 376, Bandung 40143 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 178 Hotels in Bandung
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic Building on Easter Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Actually GH Universal bandung is not my first option, someone recommend this place to my family because something happened to my hotel reservation (that's another story, and I will share it on TripAdvisor too). Anyway, I never heard before this hotel and I tried to googled it, and found their beautiful website so I decided to give it a try.

Yes the building is so classic and you could take a lot of pictures with your family, but I could tell that they're not maintaining the building very well. Me and my dad really excited to try the gym, and they said that it's "on maintaining progress" but what I saw is only a big room with only 1 treadmill and others that I rarely used actually :p

Because it's a long weekend (Easter), the hotel is fully booked with others family so when I had my breakfast at 8.30 AM, it's really crowded. Yes, the roof top restaurant is beautiful and perfect but it's not comfortable when there's too crowded. The breakfast is so-so, but I highly recommend you to have dinner at the Belle Vue, it's delicious!

Will I come back? Definitely yes but make sure to book for the Deluxe room, you will get disappointed with the Superior room.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is the best, you have your own balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    74
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
62
39
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Java, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently spent the weekend at the GH Universal hotel and was totally imporessed by the service and the unique thematic design of this mountain top retreat in Bandung. My wife and I went to Paris last summer and the architecture of this property reminded me so much of our trip to France.

The service personnel were so much better than the French and the weather was perfect. The was also spectacular views from the restaurant that you dont need to leave the hotel. Unfortunately I was alone and not with my wife, so ill havew to take her back in the near future. The GH Universal hotel name somehow doesnt fit what I found when I got there.....and that was an experience that was delightful, charming, romantic and exceptional in every way! Check it out!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very Classic, Nice View, Nice Environment, Nice Building, Nice Food, Nice Facilities, but very small room. This hotel has a lot of nice spot to us to take a pictures. Glad to be there.
Worth it to try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

G H Universal is a nice hotel. My husband and I enjoy dining at the rooftop restaurant, which has a lovely view of the city and is chic and romantic. The food is above average and the service is wonderful. We would recommend dining here with a loved one or family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

First time look at it..woow..it's palace build in java. The hotel have a very pleasant view, architecture, and atmosphere as it is spot on lembang hills, Bandung. Nearby, there're some FO and restaurants, but hotel restaurant "Belle Vue Restaurant" will give you a private diner experience, it opens 24 hrs. You can also dine in Kampung Daun, 30 mins driving, it is a great back to nature resto, give you a pleasant breeze in night. Overall, it is a great hotel, but fair superior room which I'm expecting more for a 5 stars hotel. And its check in time is 2 pm so hold back, plan the time before driving all the way here..

Room Tip: if you can afford more, don't stay for superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Few time ago I stayed at the GH Universal with the family, I got room with view the mountains. We stay overnight at the hotel and all the facilities was exxelent and friendly service from all the staff from the front office to the back office.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel has an amazing architectural design. The room is in adequate size, however there are some areas that need attention. The bathroom doesn't have a bath tub to my surprise.
We tried the room service menu, the food is also nice.
The location is a bit far from where the main activities are. So it will be very hard if you're not traveling by car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to G H Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G H Universal

Address: Jl. Setiabudhi 376, Bandung 40143 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bandung
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#28 Spa Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G H Universal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your G H Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g h Universal Hotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G H Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.