We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Serela Bandung” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Serela Riau Bandung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Serela Riau Bandung to your Saves list
Serela Riau Bandung
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. LLRE. Martadinata (Riau) No 56, Bandung 40153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 159 Hotels in Bandung
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    107
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
103
31
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

It was my third time around staying in this hotel, yet this is my first review of it. First off, great location, at the heart of the city. Out the hotel and to your left, multiple choices of factory outlets. To your right are places for your culinary experience. And all are within walking distance. I booked the hotel directly, via email, for 2 nights and 2 rooms. Unfortunately, one of the rooms wasn't the one we ordered. But, no fuss. Cleanliness and room amenities were okay. Don't expect a large room, because of its location. If lucky, you'll get a street-view room. My wife went to the spa and said was nice. No swimming pool, maybe, again, because of its space. The breakfast was standard. They serve quite a variety of choice. But maybe to some, the taste is so-so. Public transport can be quite confusing. But there's always Blue Bird taxi that you can count on, unless you have a car. At the end of the day, this is your perfect choice of hotel if your travel motives are shopping and/or food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satrya, Copy Writer at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Good day Mr. Aji :)

My name is Anindita Rangga Satrya, and I represent KAGUM Hotels, the owner of Grand Serela Hotel, Grand Seriti Hotel, Golden Flower Hotel, and Banana Inn Hotel & Spa.

With this response I would like to extend my deepest gratitude not only for your review, but on your repeated patronage of our Hotel. Of course, it is in my wish that you will continue using our Hotel for your stay in Bandung, and we will always strive to provide you with a better and better experience each and every time you are staying with us.

Thank you once again, and best regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I was at Grand Serela last week (June 24 - 27) & I enjoyed my stay here. So did my mom, big sis & my little son aged 3.
The rest was ok. The breakfast was very nice. Room was clean every single day we were there. But the front desk girl was unfriendly on my 1st day there. We dropped our room access card at the reception. Later when we came back, we asked the girl for it after mentioned the room number. But she said somebody has taken it. Weird huh? When my sis asked her who took it, she replied that she didn't know! What a stupid answer!
Later, I couldn't stand her reaction (plus I was holding my little boy who was fall asleep) I showed her my passport & asked her again that I was the one who registered just now & hoping so that she could check again. But immediately after that, she finally found the card & just passed it to my sis. That was the most annoying things happened to us at Grand Serela.
But the rest was ok...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satrya, Copy Writer at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Good day to you, Mrs. Dewi Andra,

My name is Anindita Rangga Satrya and I am here on behalf of KAGUM Hotels, the current owner of Grand Serela Hotel, plus Grand Seriti Hotel, Golden Flower Hotel, and Banana Inn Hotel & Spa.

Thank you for your reviews of our Hotel. Rest assured that your complaints about the lack of hospitality shown by our Front Desk staff has been addressed promptly. We would certainly love to welcoming you again in the future to show how much we have improved since your last stay here.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Paid for my room using a travel voucher from RajaKamar. So, as expected, we didn't get a room with the best view! Haha, but no worries since we weren't in Bandung for the hotel view.

Rather snobbish/unfriendly reception staff so didn't like that but the rest of the staff were excellent.

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to Jalan Riau's Factory Outlets. We paid about 450krp for the deluxe room. Room is nice with 54 tv channels! Clean, tastefully decorated. Love the bathroom.

Breakfast spread is not bad - good choice of continental/local food plus the other usual fruits, pastries.

Taxis can be hard to flag down, sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satrya, Copy Writer at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Hello!

My name is Anindita Rangga Satrya and I am here in behalf of KAGUM Hotels, the owning company of Grand Serela Hotel, Grand Seriti Hotel, Banana Inn Hotel & Spa, plus Golden Flower Hotel.

Thank you for your patronage of our Hotel and for your review. Thank you also for pointing the problems with our reception staff, as we are always working hard to improve everything that needs improving.

We are hoping you can stay with us again in the future.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Probolinggo, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I checked-in into Executive suite, which is actually a bedroom with a sofa set and study table - not worth the price (Rp 1.2 million). When I reached the suite, I found out to my horror that it is not ready yet! Went downstairs to complain, and they said they will call house-keeping to clean it. While waiting, I went to the hotel's restaurant to have lunch. I was THE ONLY customer, yet they took about 45 minutes to prepare my simple meal of soup buntut goreng.

After lunch (about one hour later), went back to the counter to pick-up my keys, and then go back to the suite. I was very upset to see that the room was still not ready! I went to the lobby and complained again. I have to wait at the lobby while the staff sorted this matter out. After 15 minutes, the staff came to me to apologize and informed me that the room is ready.

I went to the room and found that it was not cleaned accordingly, especially the bathroom. I am not that picky, but have to tell you that the situation in the bathroom was not hygienic. The suite did not have a view at all.

I was really eager to check-out the next morning, don't think I will stay here again. The only positive things are location of this hotel (near to the factory outlets) and also the pleasant staff at reception.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satrya, Copy Writer at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Good day to you.

My name is Anindita Rangga Satrya, and I represent KAGUM Hotels, the owning company of Grand Serela Hotel, Grand Seriti Hotel, Golden Flower Hotel, and Banana Inn Hotel & Spa.

I know it's late, but I still would like to extend my deepest apologies for all the inconveniences that you suffered during your times with us. If you give us another chance, you will learn that we have improved our services considerably and that your unfortunate experience will not be repeated again, guaranteed.

Once again, I apologize, and thank you for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serela Riau Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serela Riau Bandung

Address: Jl. LLRE. Martadinata (Riau) No 56, Bandung 40153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bandung
#8 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#8 Family Hotel in Bandung
#17 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serela Riau Bandung 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serela Riau Hotel Member of Kagum Group Hotel Management Jl LLRE Martadinata (RIau) Bandung Equipped with 83 rooms, karaoke, fitness center, massage and spa. Serela Riau Hotel is a three-stars hotel that combine great location and affordability with quality services and facilities.Located in the shopping district of R.E. Martadinata Bandung (famously known as Riau Street). Our hotel is the ideal choice especially for guests looking for an excellent shopping experiences that is uniquely Bandung.The street also in close proximity with many of Bandung's main streets, making our hotel an ideal starting point for anyone wishing to fully explore the side and corners of Bandung ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Serela Riau Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Serela Hotel Bandung
Grand Serela Badung Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serela Riau Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.