We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...spot to calm the mind..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serela Riau Bandung

Save Saved
You added Serela Riau Bandung to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Serela Riau Bandung
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. LLRE. Martadinata (Riau) No 56, Bandung 40153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 143 hotels in Bandung
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“...spot to calm the mind..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

experience of 4 days and 3 nights of fun, in addition to service excellence, strategic location, and comfort. calm the mind, the right place to eliminate the fatigue and strain of the capital. The food is pretty good, a lot less choice for bread

suggestion: multiply rooms with double beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    88
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
81
22
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

as a four stars hotel, i found nothing special about this place but the location. its placed in jl r.e. martadinata which many factory outlets can be found along the street (one of tourist destination when come to bandung). The hotel have no swimming pool and when i stayed there i've got room with no windows on it, so most likely it feels like living in a jail. Consider this one is a new hotel (less than 5 years) the room surprisingly not representing it. The carpet has permanent stain, the refrigerator box broken, and the cleanliness was so so. But still, since it's surrounded by many good place around, the hotel always fully booked on the weekend. so make sure you make your booking in advanced before your visit. good luck n enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights - at first we were booked into Ibis Hotel hotel downtown by the travel agent,after reading some of reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at the Grand Serela instead. We were not disappointed. The service by their staff were great compare to Ibis Hotel. The food was ok, just need to improve on the varieties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My few times in Bandung at various Hotels I found out the rate at Grand Serela and services are not at my expectations as the facilities mentioned was not efficient and u may even say it is not provided at all.Experienced blackout in my room suddenly during my late shower n was attended quite fast.The 'best' part nobody attended my call for no. 0-7..at 12:30am..just for an assistance for a wake up call...really saddened by this.When requesting for iron n the board was given various kind of answers...yes n no..at the end was a no!!! Toiletteries was not changed daily..better bring ur own..n the towels is merely suitable for the floor mat..pls changed..Only thumbs up for the friendly staffs...but sorry...that's the first n the last..not value for my money...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Although my booking for non-smoking room, the hotel assigned my to a smoking room, on the 3rd floor, near to the Ballroom. It was noisy and people constantly smoking outside the room. Upon check-in I was told I need to change room due to construction work the next day. After packed everything, I was told I can have my room. I request to change room since I already packed, I was given a worst room then current one. The room smell of stale cigarette, on 2nd floor, near gym, nearer to road. Noisy and cigarette smell were terrible. Breakfast lacks variety and some food such as fried rice were cold. However, the staff's good service compensate for what the hotel lacks. Although there was language barrier, the staff tried very hard to provide good service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The user experience with Grand Serela goes back to when I first booked the hotel room. It is my first time to Bandung, and I have no idea how the place is like, and where is ideal to stay. I am travelling with my parents and a teenage cousin, so I was finding an affordable room for 4. Then I found Grand Serela, which has a Grand Room for 4, perfect for my needs. However, I was unsure of the location. Grand Serela belongs to the Kagum Hotel Group, and at their website, they have a person online 24/7 to answer your query. It was 11pm, and I chatted with the person online. She answered my queries promptly, and without hesitation I booked the hotel. I even informed the person that I have booked the hotel, and she replied me that they have received it. Their online service has been prompt and assuring. So, I felt good about my stay with Grand Serela before even arriving at the hotel.

A tip would be to book the room directly with the hotel. I got it at a much lower rate than on hotels booking website (ie agoda and booking.com) If you have any queries, just check with the person online. She is fast in replying, and you can make your decisions fast.

Finally when I got to Grand Serela, I was able to check in immediately even arriving before checkin time. Their duty manager, Anom, a very friendly young chap greeted me, and provided me with great tips and help. All hotel staff are friendly and approachable. The receptionist lady, Dina, tried her best to answer my queries, despite the language barrier between us. However, she was very patient with me.

Grand Serela is within walking distance to a whole stretch of outlets, and a great restaurant just behind the hotel, called d'Palm. The must go outlet "Rumah Mode" is nowhere near, but easily accessible by a cab ride.

However, the room we stayed in is rather cramp, for 4 persons. Otherwise, it has been a pleasant stay, and it is affordable.

Highly recommended. Bravo, Grand Serela!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The bed is very comfortable, NOT the room. Breakfast was standard, Wi-fi in my room was terrible.. For a "3 star hotel", overall is good enough. For a business trip, it is OK.. but for a leisure stay or traveller, I just... do not recommend!

Room Tip: Don't choose room 236! It's very small... but expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serela Riau Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serela Riau Bandung

Also Known As:
Grand Serela Hotel
Grand Serela Hotel Bandung
Grand Serela Badung Bandung
Address: Jl. LLRE. Martadinata (Riau) No 56, Bandung 40153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serela Riau Bandung 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Serela Hotel Member of Kagum Group Hotel Management Jl LLRE Martadinata (RIau) Bandung Equipped with 77 rooms, karaoke, fitness center, massage and spa. Grand Serela Hotel is a three-stars hotel that combine great location and affordability with quality services and facilities.Located in the shopping district of R.E. Martadinata Bandung (famously known as Riau Street). Our hotel is the ideal choice especially for guests looking for an excellent shopping experiences that is uniquely Bandung.The street also in close proximity with many of Bandung’s main streets, making our hotel an ideal starting point for anyone wishing to fully explore the side and corners of Bandung ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Serela Riau Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serela Riau Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.