We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serela Riau Bandung

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Serela Riau Bandung to your Saves list
Serela Riau Bandung
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. LLRE. Martadinata (Riau) No 56, Bandung 40153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

It is just a stone throw from major factory outlets at Jalan Riau. Very convenient if your main itinerary is shopping.

Rooms are clean and decent. Book directly with the hotel and they will provide free shuttle to and from airport.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main road so that it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisna P, General Manager at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Good day.
 
Warm greeting from Grand Serela Hotel.
 
On behalf of our entire staff and management, I would like to personally thank you for you taking some of your time to post a review in TripAdvisor and your willingness to give a favorable opinion to our property. Hopefully you can find it in yourself to go back to our Hotel for your future visit to Bandung.
 
Best regards.
Krisna Permana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    126
    56
    18
    7
See reviews for
120
35
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The location is good. Rooms were small but clean. Good value for money. The service was good.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisna P, General Manager at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Good day to you, Ms. Arina.
 
Warm greeting from Grand Serela Hotel.
 
Thank you for taking some time to put up the review about your staying experience with us. Judging for your concisely submitted review, it seems like in general you have a positive opinon about your stay and for that, on behalf of our entire staff and management, I would like to say that I am very grateful.
 
We are most definitely looking forward to welcoming you again in the future if you choose to visit Bandung again.
 
Best regards.
Krisna Permana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

True, the hotel is well located in the area where lots of Factory Outlets shopping can be found. It is convenient if FO shopping is the reason why you are in Bandung. Get a corner room if you like to have more sunlight because of the additional windows. Nah, not so much for the view. Rooms facing the main road can be noisy during the night due to the traffic. But it is bearable. Generally, the room is clean and spacious. In the night, the lighting level in the room is not suitable for light reading. No white light. A kettle is available in the room but tea and coffee are not provided.Too bad, not eveyrthing is complimentary except 2 bottles of drinking water. Suggest to bring your toiletries too to supplement the very basic items provided for you in the bathroom. You may need to adapt to the very soft pillow. Perhaps, too soft for comfort .Overall, we think the hotel is fine in security, service and location.

Room Tip: Beware rooms facing the road may be nosiy due to the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisna P, General Manager at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Good day to you, Mr. Jerry.
 
Warm greeting from Grand Serela Hotel Bandung.
 
First of all, thank you for your very concise review about your experience staying with us. Although in general you do seem to have enjoyed your stay, we are glad that you are willing to point us to things that we can improve upon, such as the lighting level, the lack of tea and coffee, the soft pillow, and others.
 
It is from reviews such as yours that we can find ways on how to better ourselves, and for that we are grateful.
 
We hope you can stay again in Grand Serela Hotel should you ever visit Bandung again in the future.
 
Best regards,
 Krisna Permana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

location of the hotel is the plus. walking distance to shopping area.
Hotel stuff & breakfast are great. Rooms are clean & bothroom is working fine.

Only Air Port pick is a mess. we waited at the air port for almost 1.5hrs.
Another lady from Singapore who arrived earlier then us was waiting for the pick up more then 2 hrs at the air port.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisna P, General Manager at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Good day to you, Mr. Alanskeo.
 
Warm greeting from Grand Serela Hotel Bandung.
 
Thank you for putting up your review in TripAdvisor about your experience with us. On behalf of the entire staff and management, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you unfortunately have to experience due to the airport pickup problem. Rest assured we will be looking into how that unfortunate incident can happen and will do everything in our power to make sure that the same mistake will not be repeated again.
 
Once again, thank you.
 
Best regards,
Krisna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I'm glad i selected this hotel during my stay almost 2 weeks ago. I booked directly to their website Kagum E-booking. The service staff were efficient and even picked us up from the airport upon request and patiently waited almost 2 hours for my family to get our passport settled.

My elderly parents were very comfortable and pleased with their rooms and the location as it is only walking distance to good number of Factory Outlets and it is really easy to get a taxi or their public Angkutan to other factory outlets.

Rooms we stayed were Superior King, good comfortable beddings, hot water shower - strong, flushing system - strong, aircond - cold, a tray of neatly organized toiletries topped up daily, housekeeping - trustworthy, safebox - functional, cleanliness - clean (no musty smell) and you have access to wifi every floor in your rooms. They have a nice and comfy area (lounge) every floor should you want get stronger wifi access. So bring your tablets/laptops along to download your pictures of the day *winks* Place is really quiet while we stayed there even when it's was fully booked.

We walked almost daily during the evenings and this location is really safe for tourist, no hassles from peddlers unlike some other places we walked.

For the 4 days we were there, Monday to Friday, breakfast was great and yummy (we are not a fussy bunch & easily satisfied) therefore with the wide selection buffet is anytime better
than the normal limited American Breakfast we get in most places. Having breakfast there daily was really very satisfying for us especially being the typical Malaysians who likes eating in big portions and varieties.

Transportation for sight seeing can be arranged with the hotel for a reasonable fee but for us, we had no time to sight see....my family were more interested in the shopping spree and so we were lucky enough to get the public transport Angkutan who actually proposed to take us round the shopping areas for a reasonable fee and waited for us patiently until we are done for 3 whole days. Nice chap and honest too.

Food wise, well there are quite a number of food stalls (warung) around to make do for dinner, price is fair i suppose and trust me, after a long hard day of shopping, you will just have simple dinner anywhere and wait for the following morning for the hearty breakfast provided by the hotel.

We will be back to Bandung and we will definitely stay in this hotel again. The friendly and helpful and patient staff, the location and of course the hotel service.....makes us all think we made a good satisfying choice.

Special thanks to one particular person who was sooo helpful and made us soo comfortable during our stay - Ms Rahmah Hidayati (Guest Relation Officer). Thank you so much for attending some of our technical problems efficiently, being so friendly and warm and concern about our welfare during our stay at your hotel. You have done a Superb Job in keeping your customers happy and memorable. We will remember Grand Serela because of you *smiles*

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisna P, General Manager at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Warm greetings from the Grand Serela Bandung Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review.

I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and rated both our staff and service as excellent. We are continually striving for Operational Excellence and I have been constantly impressed by how far my associates have been prepared to go in order to exceed our guests' expectations.

Rest assured that we will be continuously improving our facilities and services so that Grand Serela Bandung Hotel will continue to become your preferred Hotel in Bandung.

Sir thank you once again for the praise and feedback. On behalf of the team, I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Grand Serela Bandung Hotel in a not too distant future

Regards
Krisna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

As the title said, no complaints for my part. This hotel is located in a good location--only minutes away from lots and lots of Factory Outlets (google this if you don't know what it is)--and some of Bandung's more well known main roads. For the price that they are charging the room I stayed in was quite satisfactory. The baththub located at the outside of the room in front of the bed in particular was a... pleasant surprise. Me and the missus enjoyed it a lot :p

Anyway, recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisna P, General Manager at Serela Riau Bandung, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Warm greetings from the Grand Serela Bandung Hotel.

Pak Budi Thank you for taking the time to complete the review.

I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay and rated both our staff and service as excellent. We are continually striving for Operational Excellence and I have been constantly impressed by how far my associates have been prepared to go in order to exceed our guests' expectations.

Rest assured that we will be continuously improving our facilities and services so that Grand Serela Bandung Hotel will continue to become your preferred Hotel in Bandung.

Pak Budi thank you once again for the praise and feedback. On behalf of the team, I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Grand Serela Bandung Hotel in a not too distant future

Regards
Krisna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was travelling as a group with a toddler, so we got the grand room which is 2 floor room with a king sized bed one the 2nd floor and 2 single beds on the 1st floor. The space is a little bit cramped because we had like 4 luggages to begin with.. Hotel provided essential toiletries, we had only 3 towels but it was a good thing i checked reviews before going there and brought our own towels just in case it was peak season. Otherwise, staff was friendly.. Check in time was ok. Breakfast was nice. The staff didnt mind cleaning up the mess my toddler made so we were happy overall with the service.

The only downside would probably be the free pick up from the bandung airport to the hotel. We emailed at the hotel a few days before our arrival to request for transfer but when we arrived, our name was not on the list. It was a good thing a driver was there to pick up another family so he offered the ride to get to the hotel! Lesson was to email the hotel numerous times to make sure they've confirmed it 200%..

Overall, we were satisfied staying there and will probably stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Serela Riau Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serela Riau Bandung

Address: Jl. LLRE. Martadinata (Riau) No 56, Bandung 40153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#9 Family Hotel in Bandung
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bandung
#13 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serela Riau Bandung 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serela Riau Hotel Member of Kagum Group Hotel Management Jl LLRE Martadinata (RIau) Bandung Equipped with 83 rooms, karaoke, fitness center, massage and spa. Serela Riau Hotel is a three-stars hotel that combine great location and affordability with quality services and facilities.Located in the shopping district of R.E. Martadinata Bandung (famously known as Riau Street). Our hotel is the ideal choice especially for guests looking for an excellent shopping experiences that is uniquely Bandung.The street also in close proximity with many of Bandung's main streets, making our hotel an ideal starting point for anyone wishing to fully explore the side and corners of Bandung ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Serela Riau Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Serela Hotel Bandung
Grand Serela Badung Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serela Riau Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.