We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung

Save Saved
You added Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Cihampelas 125-129 | Premier Plaza, Bandung 40131, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 151 hotels in Bandung
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“business trip..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

stayed for 3 days for a business. had stayed 2 years ago, but this time found that the service has somehow deteriorated:
- hot water not flowing perfectly, do not turn the cold water unless you want to shower with the coldwater
- breakfast buffet is as ok usual, but the waitress was very few so used tables not being cleaned/prepared quickly for new guests to use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    45
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
18
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Heard a lot of great reviews of this chain of hotels so pick it for the first business trip for Bandung.
Lobby, service are all pretty up to the standard that we look forward to. Room was provided earlier at 1pm as we arrived earlier. So no doubts abt the great service.
BUT, the room 310 that we had was WAY too close to the roadside and huge glass panels are only single paneled. Result? I woke up from my sleep at 4.00am (cos traffic starts moving) and I'm writing on tripadvisor now at 7.08am with goggled eyes.
I'm paying a junior suite for abt 95euros for a restless night. I've still got one more night here!! I need to do something

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you come to Bandung to shopping this is the best place to stay. aston Tropicana Location really awesome. In the centre of shopping area everything just walking around. Many shops, restaurants with a lot of choices.
Our room was in the 7th floor, they have small lobby overlooking to the swimming pool with very nice sun shining in the morning. The room was nice with comfortable bed and pillow. But the bath room small enough. Wifi also free in the room with good signal.
Their provide many kinds of food for the breakfast. Indonesian foods, chinese foods and of course western style breakfast were available. I like the dimsum very tasty.....
If you bring your own car, some time very hard to find a parking space in the weekend. Try to come earlier to bet the parking space.

Room Tip: Ask the room in the 7th floor with very nice view Overlooking the swimming pool and fitnes centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Best for location, in the busy street of Cihampelas, where you can find many shops and FO, restaurants. Ciwalk is just 2 minutes walk. The room is very cozy for family with 2 children. Swimming pool is okay. Just need some more area for parking.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was in Bandung & did a walk-in booking. Though I checked in at 7pm, the receptionist refused to provide late checkout & wasn't really friendly. She told me that their Premiere and Deluxe Rooms were fully booked and I had no choice but to take up the Executive Twin Room and paid about SGD 180 per night. The Executive Room comes with 2 huge beds and an additional sofa for a 3rd person to sleep on comfortably. Hotel is situated just along Cihampelas St. Room & hotel decor probably suits those with families. Given that price in Bandung, I would probably better off stay elsewhere since there's only 2 of us. The only thing I liked about this hotel is their wide buffet spread for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very good choice to stay here. There's a mall nearby, ChiWalk where you can find everything there including food and supermarket. We love the room that we have booked through booking.com. Spacious room, nice pool and very good choices of food for breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Choose the room which is on the same level as the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is situated at Cihampelas, opposite Chiwalk. The shops, restaurants and banks are just within a walking distance. However, due to this, the road is so congested that it took us a while to get to the hotel. The staff are friendly. The spread of breakfast is average but the food are tasty. The setting of the hotel is quite old fashioned. The bed is comfy and the room is equipped with flat screen TV. We brought our external Hard Drive and it could be played with it.

But the only problem is the room. One of our bathroom light was not working and no one came to replace the bulb or tell us what's wrong. We have used the sanitary bag on the first night and it was no replaced to a new one. There were only 2 sachets of nescafe in the tea&coffee facilities. Also there was no iron in the room and there were stain on the clean towels.

We wanted to try the spa, but the price is quite high compared to the one outside. Therefore we did not try but we looked at the room and if you want to have a couple room, you have to pay additional Rp75,000 which I think it was not worth it since the room has only 2 mattress on a wooden floor. Try the spa at Bali Heaven, which is much cheaper.

Room Tip: Corner room is better compared to the one facing the pool as it could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung

Address: Jl Cihampelas 125-129 | Premier Plaza, Bandung 40131, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tropicana Hotel And Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.