We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung to your Saves list
Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Cihampelas 125-129 | Premier Plaza, Bandung 40131, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 174 Hotels in Bandung
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was in Bandung & did a walk-in booking. Though I checked in at 7pm, the receptionist refused to provide late checkout & wasn't really friendly. She told me that their Premiere and Deluxe Rooms were fully booked and I had no choice but to take up the Executive Twin Room and paid about SGD 180 per night. The Executive Room comes with 2 huge beds and an additional sofa for a 3rd person to sleep on comfortably. Hotel is situated just along Cihampelas St. Room & hotel decor probably suits those with families. Given that price in Bandung, I would probably better off stay elsewhere since there's only 2 of us. The only thing I liked about this hotel is their wide buffet spread for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    65
    44
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
22
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very good choice to stay here. There's a mall nearby, ChiWalk where you can find everything there including food and supermarket. We love the room that we have booked through booking.com. Spacious room, nice pool and very good choices of food for breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Choose the room which is on the same level as the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is situated at Cihampelas, opposite Chiwalk. The shops, restaurants and banks are just within a walking distance. However, due to this, the road is so congested that it took us a while to get to the hotel. The staff are friendly. The spread of breakfast is average but the food are tasty. The setting of the hotel is quite old fashioned. The bed is comfy and the room is equipped with flat screen TV. We brought our external Hard Drive and it could be played with it.

But the only problem is the room. One of our bathroom light was not working and no one came to replace the bulb or tell us what's wrong. We have used the sanitary bag on the first night and it was no replaced to a new one. There were only 2 sachets of nescafe in the tea&coffee facilities. Also there was no iron in the room and there were stain on the clean towels.

We wanted to try the spa, but the price is quite high compared to the one outside. Therefore we did not try but we looked at the room and if you want to have a couple room, you have to pay additional Rp75,000 which I think it was not worth it since the room has only 2 mattress on a wooden floor. Try the spa at Bali Heaven, which is much cheaper.

Room Tip: Corner room is better compared to the one facing the pool as it could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed in Room 610 from 8-10 Mar 2013. Weather in Bandung during this time is lovely. Drizzled but only for a short while.
The friendly & responsive hotel staff (Fitri, Dain etc) are the ONLY saving grace.

(1) Hotel lift lobbies - For some reasons, the lift lobbies are not lit during daytime and can be quite dark and unwelcoming since it's indoor.
(2) Free parking - is said to be provided but we didn't need cos wasn't driving.
(3) Room - OK for couple (Rm 610) and TV channels has HBO etc on flatscreens. 2 Fresh complimentary mineral water everyday. Curtain was dropping on one corner but no big deal.
(4) Toilet - see my photos. Really wish they can change the bright white light into at least cool white?
(5) Location - walking distance to basic factory outlets like "Residence" and a small mall next to Sensa Hotel with lots of food places. But far from outlets like Rumah Mode and Cascade.
(6) Breakfast - Coffee is nice! Variety is quite good. Nice open ambience just above the spiral stairs in the lobby.

Overall, ok to stay and might consider returning but not if have to pay > SGD70 a night.
Hope these help! Happy staying in Bandung!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the best things about this hotel are the staff, they were uniformally friendly, helpful and nice. The hotel itseld is about 3+ stars maybe 4 and the feel is of the older style Hyatts. In fact the bathroom and room reminds me a lot of the older rooms in H Inn, Bandung. A nice touch is the art deco rococo feel to the hotel. Nearby is also the big Chimp something shopping plaza with a lot of F&B places to have a meal. There is also a Yogya supermarket at the back there Good selection of cable TV channels (including Discover, TC and BBC Entertainment, Aljezerah news, etc) and free wifi although this is not so fast and on the odd occasion it is non-existent..

Some minuses, no clothesline in the bathroom for hand wash items, the shower is a bit weird over the bathtub, and the tub is narrow so you have to stand sideways to get under the water. No morning paper although I saw some papers on doors in the morning, And the breakfast is rather basic with awful coffee.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the main street are very noisy all night with the usual Bandun m'bikes who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Its the worst hotel i have ever been in my whole life. We took 2 connected rooms for 4 nights and our experience at the hotel as a whole was a disaster. 1 of the family moves out early after the 2nd night to Arion Swiss Hotel and leaves 1 of the room empty. My family move to Sensa Hotel on the last night and at the end of the day we leave both rooms empty even though its been paid earlier through Agoda.

1. We request the connected room keys. The person on the phone said OK, but when the person comes, he can only open the door for us. Everytime the door accidentally close, we have to call them to open and its troublesome. Its very hard when you bring small kids at the age 1-2 as they like to play with the door and its very dangerous.

2. We request for extra towel as we have kids and the person in-charge said cannot. When we ask why? The person reply, "Kerana sudah begitu - (Because its already ike that)". Everything there is because its already like that. Its very annoying and its my first time not be able to get extra towel.

3. The hotel smells very bad as they used automatic perfume spray like at my office toilet.

4. It get worst when on our 3rd day staying, we found out that all the foods we have and the baby's milk full with ants. A good hotel should take care their hygiene. When we call the Manager and Supervisor, they dont even apologize instead blaming us not to put the milk in the fridge. Can you imagine how a powder milk look after you takes them out from the fridge?

5. It takes hours for their cleaner to come to clean the room. What they did was just spray the carpet and table with repellent and never come back to vacuum or wipe the table.

6. The condition of the room and toilet are very dirty (if i can just share with you the pictures i took).

7. The maximum wifi speed i manage to get was 1 bar.

8. Their business room only have 2 old computer and out of that 2 computer only 1 functioning.

Summary:
As a whole, its very very bad.


This trip has motivated me to create a blog so i can share with everyone (including picture). Within this week i will send a complaint to the tourism and the relevant parties as it is unacceptable.

Bandung is a beautiful place and its important to choose the right place to stay so your trip and family will be good.

Places must go: their factory outlet, paris van java, cihampelas mall and street, tankuban perahu, kawah putih, pasar baru, and not to forget to try their traditional food.

Room Tip: Look for other hotel. Check out the pictures i share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here 3 days 2 nights. The hotel is located at a strategic location. just 2mins walk to chimpales walk. the rooms are clean and the bed are comfortable. Breakfast is excellent, lots of choices. the view is the swimming pool.
only one disadvantage is the swimming pool is not clean.there were leaves from the plants at the side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung

Address: Jl Cihampelas 125-129 | Premier Plaza, Bandung 40131, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#32 Spa Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tropicana Hotel And Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Tropicana Hotel Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.