We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation in the middle tea garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Garden Resort Bandung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tea Garden Resort Bandung to your Saves list
Tea Garden Resort Bandung
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dusun Cigeurenug Desa Cicadas Kecamatan Sagala Herang Kabupaten Suban | Wanayasa, Bandung 41282, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 178 Hotels in Bandung
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“vacation in the middle tea garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A very best view mountain scenery, fresh air and nice hotel , great staff. It would be great if the hotel provide a free wifi in the room and a better maintenance for the room equipment ( such as: closet, sofas). Also put a better hot water instalation in your bathroom.

Room Tip: A Tea garden view from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
28
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

i spent only a night with my big family here (12 adults & 4 kids). they have a lot of cottages in the middle of tea plantation and rice field. the weather so fresh in the day, but cold after 7 afternoon. the scenery so beautiful, only green trees and blue sky, no pollution. i really enjoyed the Jacuzzi with hot water from 5-7 Pm. the local breakfast is good enough. the staff are helpful and friendly. only some notes about the cottages: the hot water didn't work, the terrace needs to maintain, some of the nails are sticking out, it's dangerous, especially for kids. a good place to spend holiday with kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went there with friends (5 person), stayed for one night (villa #1). The access to this place is far from bandung city, but it feels worth it because the place is beautiful. The view is breathtaking. The staff is very nice, they gave us some game board. The room is clean enough and the design is simply gorgeous, there's a kitchen in room so you can cook by yourself. Too bad network coverage is very poor, there's ants everywhere and something wrong with hot water in bathroom. But overall we really enjoy our stay, we hope we can stay longer. Hopefully we can go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

You can locate the place easily using Waze app. Just follow the instruction and you will reach the resort. The view is breathtaking.

However, the place and service are dissapointing:
- Place is not well maintained
We were placed at 70sqm cottage upon check in. The cottage is beautiful, but we do notice that the floor is not clean (dirt and ants). Due to condition that the place is surrounded by nature, we thought that is normal.
Then we discovered that the lights in the room were flickering, the light outside the cottage was dead and the phone was dead. We used our cellphone to call frontdesk, it took more 15mins for a staff to come and check on the phone. However, he said he will come back again since he cant solve it.
Then a rat run from the dining area to the kitchen area to our horror.
We called front desk again and another 10 mins before a staff came and discovered that there is a small hole on the cottage door that allow the rat to come in from outside.
We called frontdesk again to ask for cottage replacement but after 30 mins there was no response.
We packed up and went to reception area demanding to see the manager. Frontdesk told us that the 70sqm cottage are full and phone was dead due to bad weather (it was raining earlier in the day) and we were unable to meet with the manager as he has left the premise.
5 mins after we asked to speak to the manager, the frontdesk informed as that we have been upgraded to 100sqm cottage as an apology.

As we stepped into the 100sqm cottage, no doubt that the cottage is beautiful.
But dirt and ants remained. We asked the staff to sweep and mop the place.
Another surprise came when we were preparing dinner, the water pipe broke and water started to flood the place. The staff quickly fix it in less than half an hour.

By the way, to our surprise; we still find the floor clean on the next day when we were about to check out. So we wonder, if they actually really do mop and clean the floor.

- Staff are not well trained
We called the kitchen to order BBQ package. On the menu, there is an option for veg: salad or stirfry. The kitchen staff has no idea what kind of stirfry is that, they need to check and call us back to confirm.

Since it is a BBQ package, the staff delivered a set of BBQ tools to our cottage. We asked the staff if there is any extra charge for the BBQ tools. He looks puzzled and asked us to call kitchen to clarify about it.

------
To sum it all, the place is beautiful but too bad it is not well maintained.
The staff is not well trained but they are actually very helpful and polite.

If you happen to stay there, do try the tea walk. Great view along the way and beautiful waterfall in rewards for the long walk :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

First of all, the view is breathtaking, my villas (#26 & 27) are facing the tea - hills.....very nice. The nice lady in the front office also managed to give one room early check in (many thanks) In the morning the resort also can arrange for hiking toward the tea hills and end up is a pretty waterfalls, so when you coming here, do not forget to bring your hiking shoes along. You will love to see such a beauty nature.
They also have plunge pool with fill with warm water from 5pm - 9pm nearby the pool area.
The swimming pool itself (although is not big) but quite nice, few hundred metres away from the villa, you might be surprise that there is no toilet or bathroom nearby pool area, when nature call, you'll need to go back to your room which is quite a distance from the pool. I hate to imagine what the kids will do if they can not hold it any longer.
Other thing that I do not like are that all villa are not well maintain, you can see dirty corner everywhere even in the kitchen. I do not dare to peak on the kitchen drawer cause I am affraid something will jump out from there. It also smells like something old and humids. Bathroom is like a horror movie.
Breakfast is below standard, and when ordering a room service, the food taste awful....
What a pitty, cause I can really like the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I went with a big family to this resort and we rented 2 villas (number 21 and 23). We looked up the location in google map but thankfully after reading review here we found out that the location was wrong.( I have informed google map on the correct location, they yet need to respond). I called up the hotel and asked the direction. After several calls we finally got the place. We came early, 11.30 and the villa was not ready so we hang out in the resort area and had lunch in the restaurant. Food is ok, fair price as in hotel standard. The resort is nicely settled in the middle of tea plantation. Each Villa has nice minimalist design. The resort area is well maintained. There is swimming pool and 3 small hot tub (hot water available from 5-9pm). It's be nicer if they can keep them hot from the afternoon. They dont have beach towel ready and there is no staff at the pool area. Each villa has 2 bedroom (double and twin bed), a japanese style dining table, TV with a reclining couch and kitchen. Facility in each villa is not standard. Mine has 2 stoves and fans in the living room and bedrooms. But my sister's villa doesnt have a fan and only has 1 stove. They also only provide 2 towels, we had to ask for more. If a villa accommodates 4 people they should provide 4 towels.

There are various activity offered with a fee at the hotel
Which needs to be booked in advance except for daily tea walk (7-9am). They also provide bbq service at the villa rooftop for Rp75k/pax

Overall the resort is very relaxing and a nice getaway place. Great for bringing your family and friends. Very nice scenery too

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

That view, and better, can be had in many other places in this area and therefore on its own not a good reason to travel here.

Sure - the warm smiles everywhere are appreciated, but even this cannot hide the major failures of this resort.

The menu is laughable because of limited selection and hilarious because of the food descriptions.
The resort boasts of providing Japanese and Western meals prepared by their 'talented' chef as per room brochure. Sorry, but mashed potatoes as a main meal does not constitute Western and neither does fruit with mayonnaise ! How about trying 'fried fish with French fish' or ' papper (sic) chicken steak with paper ( yes this time with one 'p' ). You could try the 'fried lamb with lamb ' too and I presume this includes lamb. The worst items we ordered were nasi goreng - very oily and cold and banana split which consisted of a dry fibrous banana floating in melted ice cream. At this stage I should state that our group consisted of three Indonesians and myself and there was consensus about the poor quality of the food etc. The dining area is quaint but the spider webs on the ceiling were not. No coca cola, no nasi merah and the list goes on.
Internet is not available for a fee in the rooms - no explanation given.

The room furnishing ( executive cottage ) are of the cheapest quality - one small worn couch which is a fold out bed. Vinyl flooring ( faux wood). The room was very hot - day and night - no AC - living area fan out of service - flooding in tiny toilet - poor drainage in bathroom - showering requires a special skill to find a balance between freezing and frying your skin as the gas heater would engage and disengage depending on the height that you hold the shower head.

There is no heated pool - only a small splash pool which is heated at random times.

The old ladies working in the tea plantation were a delight and they could utter at least two English words - namely money and uang. Anyway at least there was no pretence.

What an utter disappointment.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tea Garden Resort Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Garden Resort Bandung

Address: Dusun Cigeurenug Desa Cicadas Kecamatan Sagala Herang Kabupaten Suban | Wanayasa, Bandung 41282, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Garden Resort Bandung 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TGR Cottages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tea Garden Resort Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nextage Tea Garden Resort Bandung Hotel Bandung
Nextage Tea Garden Hotel Bandung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Garden Resort Bandung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.