We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent presentation but hardly the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sajian Sunda Sambara

Sajian Sunda Sambara
Jl Trunojoyo No. 64, Bandung, Indonesia
(022) 420-8757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 976 Restaurants in Bandung
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation but hardly the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Buffet-style restaurant serving Sunda cuisine. Food is charged as per order instead of by head count. Nice place to eat and get together with friends for one visit but hardly a place I would return to.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    18
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Sundanese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant has a very nice selection of modern Sundanese food how ever many of the drinks are too sweet and most of the food is quite spicy and oily (as is common for Sundanese). The dining experience was to our liking and the service was nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty sundanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

After so much let down of my culinary in Bandung, finally we find a good sundanese food. (Although we just found out there was a branch in Jakarta)
Overall, I love the food. They're all cooked and seasoned very well and tasty. Although most of the food is not even warm when they hit our table. If only all the food is served hot, it would be much better to perfection.
Empal gepuk, black squid, ayam bakar is really good. The sambal is VERY HOT but HOT it is. :D


    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A bit dry and too salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is the only Sundanese restaurant I went to. And I went after reading the great reviews. Sad to say, I didn't really like it.
Most of Sundanese food is dry, without gravy. And I felt they were a little too heavy with salt.
Sambara'a atmosphere is nice though and pricing is not too expensive.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth To Try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

It's one of the option if you look for a traditional Sundanese food. The food quality was good, the location was also easy to find. During the weekend the place will be very crowded.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sajian Sunda Sambara also viewed

Bandung, West Java
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to Sajian Sunda Sambara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sajian Sunda Sambara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.