We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saung Angklung Udjo

Saung Angklung Udjo
Jl. Padasuka 118 Bandung, Bandung 40192 , Indonesia
+62 22 5543434
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Here you will find the Sudanese traditional bamboo musical concert performed by a small group of children with colorful and beautiful dances. Saung Angklung Udjo also presents selections of bamboo art performances and traditional dances such as Tari Topeng (Mask Dances), Wayang Golek demonstration (puppet show) and much more.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We arrived at 15.30 when the show just begun. The tickets cost us IDR60K (adults) and IDR 40K (child) and it include a souvenir (mini angklung necklace/pin) and a bottle of water/ice cream bar.
Many songs played with angklung creatively by the kids and teenagers. Everyone was lent an angklung. The host taught all of the audience how to play it. The host did a finger code for the instructions. Many audience (mostly foreigners) follow it enthusiasticly. Wow!
After the show, we walked around and visit the art shop. It sells various item of souvenirs, CD, books, doll, and angklung instrument!
What made me feel amazing was a performance from a young boy, playing an new generation of angklung instrument called Angklung Towel. He played one of the Beatles song very creatively! A must visit show for everyone!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    142
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice clean fun and informative trip on Angklung as a musical instrument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to the Angklung show which lasted over one and a half hour. Filled with Angklung music, dances and at the end all the spectators joined the Angklung orchestra by playing 5 songs using signs shown by the host. Very interesting and fun for the whole family. Also went to the production hut to see how Angklung is made from scratch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for everyone! So Indonesia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I went there last week with my wife, two little daughters, my sisters and my brother in law. We went for a visit in the morning and saw the workshop and talked with a man who was making the angklung, Mr Rahmat. We took photos, walked around and bought some cute gifts. In the afternoon we went for the show. It was really great! The price of 70 thousand rupiah is worth it!
What should be improved: please prohibit people smoking in and near the show area, there are lots of children! Some selfish people still don't care about this!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A daily show starting 1530 to 17.30. The complex seeks to preserve the local culture & the playing of the Angklung (wooden musical instrument made of bamboo. The children to young adults go to school in the morning & in the afternoon practice & then perform the show. The audience participitation whereby each guest is given a angklung with a single note (be it do ray mi far so etc with the young sons of director conducting a hand signals (1st one hand then with 2 hands) which particular angklung shake produced quite remarkable contemporary music.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to buy local gifts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice place to buy local gifts such local traditional music, show perfomance, but a little bit too far away

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saung Angklung Udjo also viewed

Bandung, West Java
 
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to Saung Angklung Udjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saung Angklung Udjo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.