We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangkuban Perahu

Tangkuban Perahu
Jl. Tangkuban Perahu no 147, Lembang, Bandung, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Attractions in Bandung
Type: Geologic Formations, Mountains, Volcanos, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place should not be a missed if you are in Bandung. At first, we hesitate to visit here after reading all the bad comments about many sellers would pester or even force you to buy their stuff. To my surprise, only about 2 or 3 asked when we walked past and we just replied "No thank you" and they left us alone. Lucky we chose to visit and this place was like in heaven with beautiful scenery and nice cooling weather :) A very good experience!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    399
    217
    45
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic site...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

For most visitors to Bandung, this is definitely a must to go to place... A bit far from centre of town but worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

liked: very nice place.
Disliked: journey away from the city of Bandung. Requires own vehicle to reach the destination.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth the climb to the viewing deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We visited early morning on a weekday - the best time to go there as the crowds were tolerable in size at first and started increasing before noon (weekends are a killer, we're told).

The sight of the smoking volcano on one side and the cloud-covered peak of another mountain on the other makes this site definitely worth your time. Thankfully, the sky was really blue with sparse clouds so we were able to take good photos.

We also attempted to conquer the fifteen-minute climb up some steep and uneven steps to get to a higher viewing deck. Worth doing so if you're able!

Tourist tip: there are a lot of vendors selling berries up there. if you're interested, as your tour guide to haggle for you. when we (foreigners) asked for the price, we were told that each pack costs Rp100,000 but when our tour guide asked, she was told that they go for 3 packs for Rp50,000. Also, don't ask for the price for anything if you're not sure you want to buy! The vendors can be annoyingly persistent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Visit during weekdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Tangkuban Parahu should be visited during the weekdays to avoid the local tourist surge and the traffic that comes along with it.

Upon reaching the volcano's crater, you will face multitudes of vendors, cars, motorcycles, horses and of course, tourists. Vendors will swarm at you but a polite "no, thank you" should work if you're not interested in buying their wares.

The volcano's crater is huge. You can walk around the rim using the stairs to climb higher parts. Vantage points are scattered around the rim so you can take pictures of the crater from different angles. Despite the steam coming from the crater, Tangkuban Parahu is cool and windy but you will still smell the sulfur -- so it's best to bring a scarf to protect you from both the cold and the stench.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangkuban Perahu also viewed

 
Bandung, West Java
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to Tangkuban Perahu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangkuban Perahu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.