We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a lovely setting in Ubud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Restaurant

Casa Luna Restaurant
Jalan Raya Ubud, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 977409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 407 restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Established in 1992, Casa Luna is a spacious, elegant Balinese-style multi-levelled eatery located in the middle of Ubud.The menu is a creative mix of Mediterranean, Indonesian and Asian dishes focusing on fresh, local produce. Favourites include the Balinese-style paella, nasi campur, Lebanese salad, duck rice paper rolls, lime tart and tiramisu. The coffee is considered one of the best brews in Bali.Prices are reasonable and fresh, baked focaccia is served with all meals. Casa Luna is also the home of the annual Ubud Writers & Readers Festival. The owner, Janet DeNeefe, is the author of Bali: The Food of My Island Home and has been teaching Balinese cooking since 1987.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely setting in Ubud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Delicious satay and Balinese paella are the recommendations. Friendly service and nice spacious restaurant. Would prefer an area with air-conditioning as it was hot and there were some mozzies. We tried the their house blended health drinks - an acquired taste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    165
    181
    88
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Casa Luna is reliable for good and interesting food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A great standby for visitors to Ubud, the Casa Luna offers good food and a menu that is varied enough to interest everyone in your party. The prices are reasonable and free wifi is available. The only point of slight discomfort: the staff sometimes have a begrudging attititude where it's clear they don't want to be bothered with you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Luna_Group_team, Owner at Casa Luna Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much for enjoying our well-priced food. And I promise to try and un-begrudge the staff who need it. Most of them are actually very sweet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tasty break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Authentic food, served fresh, it takes a while to come, but worth the wait. I loved the snake bean salad- must get that recipe,!,

It has only changed a bit since the 15 years we we're last there, thankfully the food still worth the visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Luna_Group_team, Owner at Casa Luna Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Hamiriver. Thrilled you enjoyed Casa Luna! Our beans with roasted coconut is an all-time favourite with guests and if you would like the recipe please send us an email via the website.
Happy to send it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Casa Luna may not be the flashiest restaurant in Ubud but, over many years, we have found the food, the service and the menu to be consistently good.

The staff are well trained, the central location is very convenient and the view down into the river is particularly peaceful. Perhaps no real wow, but always worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Luna_Group_team, Owner at Casa Luna Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear John N. Thank you for being a faithful Casa Luna devotee. We always aim to please. My job now is to make it flashy. Stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Casa Luna was recommebded by some self-descrided"foodies". Im glad they did.
Having had a sad duck experience at The Mansions, i was hesitant about risking a repeat. I'm glad I did. Superb food, well cooked and beautifully presented.
As one comes to expect in Bali, the service was excellent and the price very pleasing. And the building suits the climate and is centrally located. What more could you want?
I wish I were back there now!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_Luna_Group_team, Owner at Casa Luna Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review. Positive comments like yours make it all worth while. And I'm thrilled that you enjoyed our duck so much. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Luna Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Luna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Luna Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.