We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place in central ubud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sama's Cottages and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sama's Cottages and Villas to your Saves list
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Bisma Street, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 331 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely place in central ubud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

holiday Bali in june 2010. and also stayed 2 nights at Sama's Cottages in Ubud. it's a small place, which i find very nice. the bathrooms are new and so is the swimmingpool and great chairs around it. the swimmingpool is in use since april 2010! the room we stayed in was number 10. it's a fan room,but ofcourse they have airco rooms too. we paid 360.000rp a night in june. all the other hotels around it charge a lot more and all in us$. the breakfast is included and is great and fresh. being on Jalan Bisma it's close to everyting and if you only want to stay on Jalan Bisma, there's enough to do/eat. but do recommend the Lotus cafe/Saraswati.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    78
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
116
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SouthEast Asia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

I was so relieved to arrive at our quiet little cottage after dealing with construction noise at our last hotel. All of the cottages are surrounded by their own little private garden and have a nice porch with seating in front.

Inside, our room had many charming little touches like fragrant jasmine placed on the bed and in the bathroom. The bedding was clean and simple, and the room had two screened windows and a fan so it didn't feel stuffy at all. The bathroom was small and had somewhat aging tile and ammenities, but everything worked as it should've. Also, we were given more than enough nice towels, In the evening, the sfaff sets out mosquito coils in front of each cottage, so we didn't get any bites (and we didn't even use the mosquito net provided).

The pool is a nice size and clean. There are chickens next door, so be prepared to hear them in the morning; It didn't bother me and was actually kind of a nice reminder that I was outside of the big city.

The staff was really great and accomodating. They helped us book tickets to a Kecak performance and rent a motorbike. Also, the included breakfast was really great and a change from the typical "free" hotel breakfasts. We were given plates of fruit, plus eggs and whole wheat toast and jam. A nice surprise.

I would easily recommend this place to a friend. The location is wonderful (set on a quiet path within walking distance to everything but still among rice fields), the staff were really lovely, and it was a great value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed in SAMA's for 3 weeks. The staff are wonderful and their smiles as they deliver breakfast is a great start to the day. They are not intrusive and allow you to relax. It feels like living in your own home but have the added luxury of service with a smile. The daily ceremonies and flowers and offerings takes one back to what life really should be about. There were no mossies around and the fans in the rooms are the best thing for tropical weather. I will return and would recommend Sama;s to all travellers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwama-shi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

As an expat from Aus in Japan, I really relished my break away from the hustle and bustle... and this place would have to be one of my highlights in Ubud. Good location, great staff/service and a really lovely atmosphere. Close enough to get to where you want to go without sacrificing tranquility. The rooms were lovely and cool, and the beds were quite comfortable. Wasn't pretentious in any way - and for the price I paid, really good value for money (around $30AUD/night). The pool was also a welcome distraction after spending all day shopping in Monkey Forest! My only qualm was the stairs - With an elderly mother, it was at times a little slippery. Then again, there are stairs everywhere in Bali, and you could always request a room closer to the entrance of the hotel as we did. Otherwise, no problems whatsoever with this place. I don't really understand why anyone would give it less than outstanding...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Sama cottages is a rare find in Ubud these days. It is situated on Jalan Bisma, just a short strole to Tri Nadi, where you can get a fab balinese massage for 1 hour with Erni for $8 AUD. A wee bit further up the road is the Roda net cafe where you can email or phone home with the help of the friendly staff who will remember you for years to come and always welcome you back. Then keep going down the road and turn right and you will find Casa Luna. If you thought you would loose a few kilos from all the walking and fresh mango and banana juice...well think again. The cakes and breads are so delicious you will be back everyday to try something different.
Then after all this excitement you can head back to your little bungalow at Sama. The gardens who where planted by the owner Sama many years ago are lush and cooling after a day out adventuring.. The location is quiet for central Ubud, which is hard to find.
I travel on business and usually am on my own. I always feel safe and looked after when I stay at Sama. The rooms are clean and comfortable. And the prices are the best around this part of Ubud...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at Sama's Cottages for a month recently and could not have been better cared for by the owners and staff. nothing was too much trouble - in fact the service equals any 5 star hotel. The cottages are deliighful and the setting superb. Each cottage has a balcony looking into the gardens and one can appreciated the birds whilst enjoying the delicious home cooked breakfast included in the tariff. The cottages have overhead fans and the beds are most comfortable with mosquito nets. The bathroom was basic but very clean and the linen was changed regularly. I will most certainly stay there again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosebud
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

What an enchanting little hotel this is! We stayed there with our teenage boys, 18 and 19 and we all enjoyed our stay there. The staff are very considerate and were very helpful when our boys wanted to go out. The rooms are in the typical balinese style and were refreshing after staying in the big, commercial hotels. A lovely, family run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sama's Cottages and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sama's Cottages and Villas

Address: Bisma Street, Ubud, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sama's Cottages and Villas is a peaceful and relaxing retreat in Ubud, yet is located just a 5 minute stroll from the centre of town. Our property has just 9 individual cottages and 3 villas, and all are newly renovated to make your stay more comfortable. You can choose either a fan cooled or air conditioned cottage, or a 1 or 2 bedroom private villa. Our staff bring your breakfast to your veranda each morning, or alternatively you may eat by our lovely pool if you wish. All room rates include breakfast and free WiFi, and are subject to 10 per cent Government Tax and 5 per cent Service Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sama's Cottages and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama`s Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sama's Cottages And Villas Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sama's Cottages and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.