We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel..5 star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saren Indah Hotel to your Saves list
Saren Indah Hotel
Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“3 star hotel..5 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a wonderful experience at Saren Indah. Room 117 upstairs..spotless every day! Great views, staff could not do enough for us..went out of their way to make our stay fabulous. Good breakfasts..you can order lattes at no additional charge. Fruit juice to order-hold the sugar. Richard the Manager was eager to please and wanted to hear constructive feedback. The shuttle was always there for us and they went out of their way to take us every time. Quite impressive actually. Will stay there next time we are blessed enough to make the trip!

Ps..Spa is okay bit go when no one is around pool area:)

Room Tip: We loved upstairs for better views and more windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    185
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
118
343
45
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel was at a convenient location, directly next to the Monkey Forest. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and really value for money. We enjoyed our stay but the only disappointment was the shuttle bus. There was free shuttle bus service between the hotel and Ubud marketplace. We had arranged beforehand for the shuttle bus to pick us up at 730pm (which both the reception and the driver had acknowledged) but unfortunately, due to poor handover/miscommunication, we were left waiting in the rain for the bus for at least half an hour. Hopefully, the hotel staff can pay more attention next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff couldn't do enough for us. The best and friendliest service,we have ever had and we have travelled the world. It was our 25th wedding anniversary so the manager, Richard, surprised us with a special candle-light dinner, Balinese costumes and a special one off menu for Annette's Vegan diet. It was truly amazing and we will never forget it. Location was perfect, just behind the Monkey forest and quiet, gardens were spacious and every single staff member we met became a friend. Rooms are adequate, with upstairs giving us great privacy overlooking the fields. We would love to come back again.

Room Tip: I found upstairs better as I like fresh air and we had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at saren indah for 4 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful with gorgeous views overlooking rice fields. Lots of monkeys around as it sits on boarder with monkey Forrest. Very good food at restaurant. Good breakfast. Big room. Don't miss the Friday night dance show!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have never written a review before but because I have used tripadvisor for my holiday in Bali and it has been invaluable in helping me choose wisely I thought I would share my rating of Saren Indah. I have stayed in a few hotels only in Bali as I travel around and nothing has compared to Saren Indah. We had two rooms as initially we booked for three nights and decided to then stay another three nights. First three nights were upstairs (two floors) and we thought this was great. Huge bed and comfortable, cleaned every time we went out the door. There was really no need but the service was just fantastic. The breakfast is a buffet style and included... great! Again the staff couldn't do enough. The setting is magic. Rice fields in the grounds, beautiful gardens, pool, small bar huge dinning and breakfast areas... have I mentioned friendly staff. We were upgraded free to the garden deluxe for final three nights and the room was actually better again. This for us was pure luxury. The hotels we have stayed in since have just not matched the quality and service. P.s. it is 2 mim walk from monkey forest and far enough awayfrom the bustle of Ubud. A tour that we can also recommend is the Lombon ( I think this how it is spelt) cooking class. Unbelievable. I know I am using strong words but try it and see. Booked through hotel. Got picked up and brought to a real market (where we would never buy) and got shown all ingredients with fu ll explanation from (Sunday our guide) pronunced this way but spelt differently then brought to the family home where all was cooked from start to finish. A great way to experience Bali culture.

Room Tip: We found the garden room was more luxurious but upstairs was great before that so your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffs harbour, australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Saren Indah really feels like our home in Bali and we've recently stayed here for the 10th time. It is such a lovely little hotel with the most wonderful staff of any hotel we've ever stayed in. They are just so pleasant and eager to please and nothing is too much for them to do for their guests. Every request is dealt with promptly and with a beaming smile.

Rooms are very well cleaned each day and towels replaced each morning, with clean shower towels also being offered each evening. Sheets are replaced as required by leaving a notice on your bed when you require clean ones. I noted that while some of the older towels remain in use, there are many more newer, soft and fluffy white towels being provided.

I noted a comment re the breakfast in a previous review. I do feel that the breakfast offered is really more than adequate, especially for a 15 room hotel. There are cereals, 3 different fruits, salad and dressing, 3 or 4 hot side dishes and eggs cooked to order, toast plus pastries, butter and jams. Fruit juice is made to order and there is an endless supply of tea and coffee. I do agree however, about some items being left uncovered. I brought this to the attention of staff and they immediately covered the fruit with plastic wrap, although the hot side dishes remained uncovered. This is one area of the breakfast that does need to be addressed as soon as possible to avoid possible health issues.

There is a nice spa area right next to the pool area, and both of us had a massage by the hotel spa staff and were very pleased with the quality. As always, the pool was sparklingly clean and the gardens beautiful.

We have already booked another stay at Saren Indah, and are looking forward to our return to our "home in Bali"

Room Tip: there are 21 very steep steps to the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is situated just a couple of minute's walk from the Monkey Forest. Upon arrival, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was a decent size but a bit dated with signs of wear and tear. The ensuite was slightly dissapointing as although it had a shower, it was not fully mounted on the wall, so unless you're very short, you'd have to hold it up. It was clean, but at one point our water stopped working, however the staff did fix it by the following day.

The breakfast was a pretty limited buffet, and one concern I had was that only some of the food was covered - and with flies etc around, it was a bit disconcerting.

Although the Hotel is very close to the Monkey Forest, it is located on the south side of the Forest, while the lion share of the town's tourist attractions/restaurants/shops are on the north side - so unless you take a taxi, you'd have to walk through the forest to get to them - which isn't ideal at night.

The price is pretty reasonable and the experience overall was ok - but this hotel is probably just a bit too dated to fully recommend and the breakfast was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#16 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#33 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saren Indah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.