We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and not that special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ubud Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ubud Inn to your Saves list
Ubud Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Groot-Ammers
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive and not that special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night because we were travelling to the south.
We stayed here because the hotel we wanted was fully booked and ended up here.
the room was clean, but very modest.
at 5 in the morning we were waked by a rooster who kept screaming for an hour.
Pro is that the hotel is very central and that is what you pay for.

It was way to pricey for Balinese standards, ( 80 dollars or 65 euros) for a normal room.
I've seen better places for less money.

breakfast is included, but not that great. The staff was friendly but the second we said we wanted the room, a staffmember wanted to know where we were going next and if we wanted transport. It is kind of annoying but it is the way Balinese people make a living so eventually we negiotated with him and got a good deal and a good driver.
But if you do not want anything just kindly say no thank you.

but the hotel is average and there are better places to stay in Ubud. Book in advance, because Ubus is popular en pricey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    35
    18
    10
See reviews for
18
39
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place came recommended in my guide book and proved to be a good place to stay. The location is great for access to the main attractions of Ubud, and while my room was basic it was a good price.
My only complaint concerned the staff at breakfast. Each morning of my stay a different member of staff (male staff - the female waiting staff were very polite and quiet) came to speak to me and while seeming to be 'helpful' were actually trying to sell me things to do at much higher than the going rate. Each day I politely declined their offers and instead either arranged trips myself or through an agent on the main street - always for a much lower price than the hotel staff mentioned. I wish I'd been left alone at breakfast as pushy sales each morning really did not make for a happy start to the day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had a good stay at Ubud Inn. A variety of room types are scattered in lusher-than-lush gardens. I thought it a peaceful place to stay. Surprisingly so as its on the main street, near the monkey forest. The staff I found to be friendly and helpful.
I had a standard room for a few nights which was clean and cosy but in need of some TLC. The bed linen was clean and crisp, with a beautiful local patch work blanket. The bathroom was a little grotty and the towels a little old. The pool is pretty good too- its a decent size and refreshing.
The highlight after the gardens is the breakfast, its yummy filling; fruit, choice of black rice pudding or banana pancakes or omlette. Get up early enough and see the adopted fuit bat being fed!
I would recommend staying here. Yes its cheap, so don't expect 5 star, but I found it value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Very dissapointing stay at the Ubud Inn. My girlfriend and I got a standard double room reduced from the normal price of US $100 due to it being low season.

On close inspection the room was filthy and had it not been for the fact we were exhasuted and only stayng for 1 night, we would have left straight away. The room smelt of mould which was growing in the bathroom, walls and shower curtain. The room we stayed in and the hotel itself could be lovely - it is just very neglected. A plug socket in our room was hanging off the wall and the door was locked with a padlock - which still allowed the door to be pushed open to reveal a large gap - not very safe indeed. The hotel entrance looks impressive but behind the facade it is a very different story. The reception staff were blunt and not very friendly.

Breakfast wasn't great but the most annoying thing was that the waiter was more like a salesman! He kept trying to sell us the hotel taxi service - all we wanted to do was eat our breakfast in peace.

The pathways in the hotel are poorly lit at night, we had to use a torch to get to our room located behind the pool.

Checkout time was midday so in the morning we went and did some last minute shopping. We arrived back to our room at 11am to find the bed had been made and the room 'tidyed'. Obviously the room maid didn't know we were checking out - what kind of hotel makes up a hotel room on the day that a person is checking out! The frustrating thing was that we had left our clothes etc on the bed to pack when we got back and the room maid moved them all.

As I mentioned, if I had been paying the full price for this room I would have left. There are much better hotels for a lot less within a few meters of the Ubud Inn. Definately would not be back.

Room Tip: Book a hotel elsewhere on Monkey Forest Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

On the first look, it looks perfect; great location, beautiful garden and room ok... a little bit pricy though... (100$ per day).

We stay three nights and we had to leave early to catch our shuttle to Padang Bai (to go the Gili Islands) which was booked with the hotel staff. When we checkout at 6am, the guy at the reception told us everything was paid and was ok so we left with the shuttle bus driver. About 30 minutes later, the driver stop the bus and tell us he received a call from the hotel saying the we didn't pay for our rooms and that I will have to get back and pay. I was shocked, I called the hotel and told us that I did the checkout and everything was paid. He was barely speaking english and did not understand what I was trying to explain and told us I try to steal from him and how come I left without paying... I told him it should be a mistake and then I offer to pay to the driver what was missing for our stay because I didn't want to miss my ferry for Gilis. He finally said ok and that he would call back the driver to let him know how much was it. When we arrived at Padang Bai, the driver told us that we owed more than 3 nights... We didn't want to have problem so we paid it. Once we get back to Canada, we realized that they double charged us!!!!

Avoid this hotel, the hotel staff is untrustable!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here 5 nights after two horrible nights at the Okawati. Our rooms were spotless and fresh. The plantings in the garden were outstanding. I can't believe the negative reviews here. It couldn't be a same hotel. Breakfast had 3 choices and we asked for two eggs and it was no problem. The pancakes were wonderful. Location good and just a short walk to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Dirty , damp, musky rooms. Dirty towels. No pool towels only old bath towels .No chairs in room . No plugs or hot water in vanity. Had to ask for new towels every day even though they took the old . Breakfast was a choice of one egg cooked any way . Staff harrassed you for transport both on the way & during breakfast & asked very inflated prices .
Spoilt a great trip to Bali

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ubud Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Inn

Address: Jl Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ubud Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Ubud Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hotel Ubud
Ubud Inn Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ubud Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.