We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent view and staff, unforgetable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery to your Saves list
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Melayang, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent view and staff, unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

the boss, Peter, who upgrade our room from studio to Villa freely when they know we spend our honeymoon there

me from China, who spend amazing 2 days at this hotel on Mar
25th and Mar 26th with my wife . we really want to extend my
stay there but as our fligt will not allow us to do so. it is
really a pity.

Really appreciate their considerable and warmest arrangment for our
honeymoon, which is the happiest day we spent in Bali. it is
unforgetable experience and memory in our life with their nice smile,
gentle intoduction, friendly staff, and the comfortable, beautiful
villa.

The amazing thing not only beacuse of the charming view of the valley,
the Infinity pool which i can swim like a fish, but also the
unbelievalbe and shocking collections in private museum,
especially for the tooth of mammoth ivory.

We will definitely choose the hotel again if there is an opportunity
to visit Bali again in futher and will highly recomend to all my
friends in China to tell them the amazing story what i got.

Room Tip: the villa is amazing with big room and bath room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    64
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
127
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I went to Ubud with my friend on 30 Mar to 2 Apr 12 and stayed at Timor Cottage, Tanah Merah Resort and Gallery. It was a totally wonderful experience. The cottage was well maintained and clean. You will be waken up by the joyful sounds of birds and animals in the morning. Do remember to enjoy the infinity pool. The view was great! I have the luxury to have the infinity pool just steps from my cottage, I sat on my rocking chair and enjoy the morning and evening view from the infinity pool. It is a great place to rest and relax and do nothing.

The good was great! Remember to try the beefsteak! I think it is the best steak i have ever eaten!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We spent 3 days here at the end of our honeymoon. We were made to feel like we were staying with family. The food, the grounds and the service were all excellent. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Tanah Merah Resort and Gallery and absolutely loved it! We stayed for 7 days originally in a Timor cottage which was lovely and had an amazing bathroom and sweet porch. Peter Bloch the owner kindly upgraded us to a Bali villa which was amazing! And had such a fantastic view! It was quiet (apart from the buliders making a new house by the pool area and another building near the lobby; but we are talking about one handeheld hammer not pnematic drills! And it wasn't at all that disturbing). Its in a fantastic location in a small village area near ubud amongst beautfil paddy fields and overlooking a gorge.

Some people here have said the breakfast was not that great?! I thought the breakfast and for that matter all the meals we had there were great! Not 5 star restaurant fare, but great tasty simple food and probably one of the best steaks I have ever had! The gallery and museum was fascinating and Peter is a very friendly and interesting guy who was always available if we needed anything. The staff were great- I have to say it was the staff that made our stay so special. They were so kind, funny and made you feel right at home and looked after. If we went backt o Ubud we would definately come back to Tanah Merah!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a Bali villa but the Timor cottages are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I planned to join a busy Intrepid trip to Lombok, but before starting this adventure we wanted a place to relax, have a massage and enjoy some good food. The Tanah Merah Resort was perfect for that!
The location is about 10 minutes drive from the center of Ubud, but location is very quiet and the nature is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Timor Cottage, which was very big with a huge bad and beautiful Indonesian style bathroom. The food in the resort's restaurant was with the best food we had on our Indonesia trip.
If we ever go back to Bali, we will definitely stay in this place again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Tanah Merah was a real delight to stay in. Stayed for 2 nights in a beautiful room which was very spacious, with great amenities such as a large four poster bed, striking copper bath, indoor lounge area and own private outdoor courtyard. The room had really interesting paintings and furniture items, which in themselves were each worthy of viewing. We were told that the art was for sale and that most rooms each had different and individual art work; a welcome change to the usual mass- produced homogenous decorative features usually found in hotel rooms. The setting of the Tanah Merah was lovely; lush garden area, a breakfasting restaurant that was overlooking a stream/river and forest. Lots of great 'photo' spots. The breakfast menu was good and the breakfast food very tasty. The Tanah Merah has its own fab gallery which has fascinating items of furniture/sculptures/jewellery/art etc. It’s really a must to visit the gallery, if you stay at the Tanah Merah. The owner, Peter, was very welcoming and friendly and the Tanah Merah is evidently a real achievement on his part. The staff were helpful and efficient. We had the benefit of quite a reduced rate for our stay due to when we booked and the time of year; I expect that the normal standard rate would have been more expensive; therefore for me the stay definitely represented very good value. There were only two small downsides: the restaurant where we had dinner on the first night, was relatively expensive but the food was only ok. The other downside is the location of the Tanah Merah; its a little way outside of Ubud in a hilly location with a remote feel to it. We took taxis to get to and from the Tanah Merah- although its worth mentioning that I think the Tanah Merah had a shuttle bus that was available at specific times. However these small two factors didn't diminish the wonderful stay and the Tanah Merah definitely deserved my overall excellent rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Tanah merah is a wonderful retreat away from the hustle and bustle of tourist crowds. All the staff and host, Peter, we so welcoming and I couldn't fault anything. My short stay was perfection and I will be returning next year. Amazing views, amazing food and amazing service plus a fascinating gallery and museum showing pieces from through Indonesia. A must for all those interested in Balinese and Indonesian culture and history.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery

Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanah Merah Resort and Gallery is a captivating resort of refined villas embracing a precious parcel of valley landscapes that descend down to the Petanu River. The Resort is located on the outer boundary of spiritually charged village of Ubud. This private retreat ensures that every stay is an enriching experience. The Resort offers a fine collection of aesthetically designed villas for discerning travelers seeking the quality time out surrounded by the natural beauty of the Ubud Valley, a unique style and standard of personalized service in luxurious, environmental friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.