We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, rooms need some work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Hidden Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nick's Hidden Cottages to your Saves list
Nick's Hidden Cottages
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 315 Ubud B&B and Inns
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, rooms need some work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is slightly further away from the downtown core which allows you to escape all the hustle and bustle and actually experience a peaceful getaway. The gardens are well maintained and the pool was gorgeous. If you choose to walk to/fro the hotel it will be worthwhile as you pass several beautiful rice fields. The monkey forest is only about a 15min walk away.
The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. When we wanted to go into town, instead of calling a taxi they offered to drive us by motorcycle. The wifi wasn't working but fortunately their sister hotel Nick's Pension was only about a 10min walk away and they happily shared their wifi.
However the rooms left a lot to be desired. The drapes on the bed were dirty and towels didn't smell very good. We only received soap and no other toiletries. Good thing we only stayed one night because their inattention to details and poor maintenance didn't make for a good impression or comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
25
72
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We originally wanted to stay 1 night longer in Nick's pension but because there was no place anymore we've been relocated to Nick's hidden cottages.

Our first impression was good.. It's located in a quiet, peaceful and beautiful area, not far away from the main road and Monkey Forest. De room wasn't as nice as in Nick's pension but it was much cheaper so that's normal. But after having a good look in the bed I discovered the sheets weren't very clean. There were bloodstains (I think..) on the pillow and sheet. The sheets of my friend were clean so maybe I just had some bad luck and was it one single mistake..

The breakfast was ok en the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for the second time with 30 students and two other teachers during the recent Ubud Writers and Readers Festival. Probably a little downmarket to what our students are used to, but the only complaint was about the lack of Internet access. Students could quite often be found hanging out in the gazebo that is central to the establishment. Since last year Jalan Bisma has been sealed and more accommodation units built over the river at the end of the lane leading to Jalan Monkey Forest. Breakfast is no longer a la carte, but a buffet affair which is very basic and, as mentioned in previous reviews, just one example of cost cutting. I agree with most other reviewers that the location, garden and views are superb and staff are friendly and helpful but the place needs some serious upgrades. An important feature to note is that this Nick's is totally unsuitable for those who cannot climb stairs.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights after being relocated by Nick's Pension, with whom we made our original booking. This hotel's best features are it's physical buildings and surrounding beauty. The hotel is set about 100 metres from the road with rice fields on both sides of a narrow walkway. It gives a good first impression, and the interior is no different as the buildings are all very pretty with lots of foliage, Hindu statues and stone stairways (this place might not be for you if stairs are an issue as there are several sets). I wouldn't call the accommodations cottages though, and the buildings are all close together. There is a small pool that is quite lovely, with lounge chairs and a gazebo for relaxing.

If this hotel would invest in a few upgrades inside the room, I think I could give them an excellent rating, but unfortunately several things were disapointing once we got inside:

- The locks on the windows are extremely flimsy and some wouldn't even work. It would very very easy for anyone to climb into our room (on the ground floor)
- The bedsheet linen is too small to "tuck in" and is always exposing the mattress, so we ended up sleeping on it more than the linen
- There is only one pillow per person and it is very hard and uncomfortable
- There is no TV, mini fridge or safe (only noted this due to the poor locks on windows)
- Aircon is located too high to reach and no remote was in the room to turn it on. Spent first night without it which was stifflingly hot. There is a ceiling fan, but it is above the bed which has a canopy and totally blocks the fan. To their credit, staff had put one in room following day
- There were only two towels and one bar of soap, and the towels smelled bad. Like they were not washed/ had a mildewy smell
- We originally chose Nick's Pension due to wireless internet in rooms so we could plan more of our vacation. We were told this hotel had wireless in rooms as well but at reception the clerk advised us to try in the restaurant if it didn't work in the rooms. No real surprise then that it didn't work in the rooms, but it also didn't work in the restaurant. We had to use an internet cafe down the road
- There were a ton of ants around the toilet. Literally dozens that crawled all over it, even the seat. I killed most of these myself which seemed to help, but it was gross and this was just after we checked in too.

To sum it up, I liked the location, pool, outside views and ambiance of the hotel but due to several uncomfortable room conditions I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: #202 was a very good location for access to pool and view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a double room with a fantastic view. The bed was made everyday nd the towels changed. The pool area is nice, although not enough shade. Breakfast is also available; it's ok.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were 'dumped' here after Nick's Homestay failed to honour our hostelworld booking. They didn't even offer to provide transport to get us here.

The place is really overpriced. There are clearly some rooms with decent views here; ours was surrounded by walls! The rooms are shocking for what you pay - very very basic and tired set up, and no thought given to providing a kettle and small fridge (generally you can pay these prices in Ubud and these are now standard additions).

The breakfast was nasty - a horrid exercise in cost cutting - the cheapest white bread used, tasteless eggs, young staff coming around with pots of tea and coffee instead of leaving pots on your table.

Avoid the cafe at Nick's Pensions - the worst example of fried rice that, possibly, I've ever seen and tasted in my life!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

First stayed here three years ago when it was relatively new. Rooms are now in need of new linen, towels, bedspreads and curtains. Beautiful location but lots of steep steps on property. Excellent well-kept pool and surrounds. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff friendly. Room service prompt (food comes from Nick's Pension down the road so be prepared to wait half hour). Staff very friendly and helpful. 10 minute walk into main area of Ubud - road is not as yet fully sealed but lighting has improved since last visit. Lots of small shops, restaurants and massage rooms on Jalan Bisma. Can access Monkey Forest Sanctuary easily if you turn right when leaving cottages (lovely walk but no lights at night). Turning left leads you to Ubud main street. Can also access Monkey Forest Road by taking the path through Nick's Pension entrance area (lovely walk and well lit).Quiet area surrounded by rice paddies. Mattresses are very hard. You can request softer pillows if you wish.

Room Tip: Take a torch for walking along the road at night. Not suitable for those who struggle with steep st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nick's Hidden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Hidden Cottages

Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nick's Hidden Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nick's Hidden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Hidden Cottages Hotel Ubud
Nick's Hidden Cottages Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Hidden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.