We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on a budget, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ubud Terrace Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ubud Terrace Bungalows to your Saves list
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great on a budget, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This little hotel is a really good deal for the $$ and especially when others with POOLS can cost you twice what you can get this one for. ITs also a great location right on Monkey Forest road so close to the forest entrance itself...if you are into the Monkeys that is.
I am happy to $18 night for Ubud Terrace Hotel but in school holiday season etc you can pay $30-$35. You can get better Hotels in Ubud for $35.
The staff were friendly and helpful with out being over friendly and pushy about tours etc. Small but sufficient breakfast was included in the price. Room spacious and typically dark, bathroom in need of good clean etc etc . But that is what $20 gets you so I don't expect toiletries and fancy bedding etc. I like the low key balinese type of accommodation and don't expect all the frills.
LOVELY pool, never too crowded. Quiet rooms as most of them are well back off the Monkey Forest road enough to be quiet. A Creek runs at the bottom of the property, and locals fish and bathe in it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
35
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drenthe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice place to stay for a good price. The hotel is located close to the centre of Ubud but is still very quiet. The room we had for 3 nights was all the way in the back of the beautiful garden. The room itself was very nice and clean with a great view over the garden. The only downside was that we did not have warm water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in 3 different rooms (as we kept extending our stay) and had a lovely time!

The environment is really lovely, there is a very nice (and clean) pool area, and many rooms (except at the front) are within a beautiful garden. The pool was never very busy and we could always get a sunbed, although we didn't spend too much time there.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and arranged us our boat to the gili islands, elephant rides and a cycling trip...all at a good deal.

The breakfast is good, banana or pineapple pancakes, cheese toasties and more, but we stuck to the pancakes which were yummy!

The location is great, monkey forest road has the most going on. Loads of shops and places to eat all along it. It is one of 3 main roads in Ubud and this is a great central location to be based at.

The rooms are basic but they are fine. Could be described as a bit rustic but really the beds were comfortable enough, there's a fan and hot water. Didn't have any insects in the room.

We stayed as a group of 3 and a room per night was 250,000 + 10% tax. Really good deal and wonderful place to stay! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great accommodation. We stayed for 3 nights in two rooms. We had beautiful 4 poster beds in spacious rooms, lush vegetation around us from the verandah. It is close to the monkey forest and the last morning we were invaded by monkeys along with their babies - great fun. Nice breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombes, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I only stayed for one night but it was a good experience. Clean and spacious, with a swimming pool.
The breakfast was lovely: banana pancakes and tea.
Ideal location close to Monkey Forest, many restaurant, bars, shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have stayed here over the last 9 years and love the place. Most of the rooms are spacious - room 7 is on the second floor and has two queen size beds and enough floor space to host a party! The little back deck overlooks rice paddies and the gardens are always well maintained. It's an old hotel, and the pool is by no means modern, however I can't beat it for a friendly place to be. In fact I love it so much, on seperate occassions I have taken our children there, my sister, and even my aging parents. And they all loved it! The staff are fantastic, and access is easy to get out and about either on foot, motorbike or car.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

the hotel is well placed in Monkey Forest road, close to the forest and a selection of restaurants and shops close by. As previous reviewers - this would be a great hotel should the owners just do the basics, revamp the rooms (repair loose handles, paint the room), clean the bathrooms (install towel rails - not use a rusted nail in the door frame). Improve the breakfast. The grounds are well kept and staff are helpful even when asking for example a light bulb and toilet paper. Replace some of the bedding in rooms including pillows. I am amazed that the hotel has an excellence award allocated to it.

Room Tip: rooms far from road and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ubud Terrace Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubud Terrace Bungalows

Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ubud Terrace Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Terrace Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Ubud Terrace Hotel
Ubud Terrace Bungalows Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ubud Terrace Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.