We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hideaway in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barong Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Barong Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barong Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hideaway in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved our recent stay in The Barong. Had a great bungalow with a quiet courtyard. The pool was wonderfull. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location on Monkey Forest road was perfect, close to many restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were wonderful especially the Indonesian dishes.
We took a lot of trips around Ubud and further out. Ubud is a good base for the northern areas like Kintamani or the beaches or local trips around rice paddies. Just a great location.
We had a great guide and driver Komang Sudamara (balioriginal@yahoo.com) who made our trip very special. He was extremely knowledgable and frendly as a guide and a very good, reliable and safe driver.
A great place to experience the culture of Bali. We are so happy we went here first before spending a few days at the beach. This is real Bali

Room Tip: the bungalows were more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just had 10 days staying in a villa with a private pool. Just perfect. The staff were so attentive. Right in he heart of Ubud with about 30 restaurants within 100m. Already missing our onion ring calamari with fries for our light mid day snack.

Room Tip: Rooms further back in the small complex are quieter, but some nights thebase notes from a nearby bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful private villa, clean spacious and cool. Lots of little personal touches flowers on bed, bowl of fruit, insect repellent. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Very tasty and filling breakfast. Very central in Ubud. The villa it self is tuck away off the busy street you can miss it if you blink. We stayed only one night here but we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Loved the place and the location.
Must go and stay and keep going back
Excellent food and service
Lovely private suites
It is an excellent hide out for couples who would like some privacy, newlyweds and the likes. We took the private suite which has no room service and a private pool all for yourself. The rooms were lovely and the ambience was great!

Room Tip: Private suits for Honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The idea of the pyramidal reception hall is nice even if you have to climb up & down every time. Side walkway are very worn and look a bit dirty. The garden is nice but too old and not very well attended. Our Room no.5 catches the first lights of sunrise. Wifi was working perfectly. Room is worn but still very fascinating in its way, bathroom is large and shower is still with the old handhead that was sprinkling water allaround not thru the holes, this was a little puzzle as a lot of water overflows in the bathroom.
Morning we reserved the shuttle for going to a wellness centre, when we were back at 6 pm. We find another receptionist that didnt know nothing about our evening program so we cannot go to the wellness centre as the hotel car was already well park and driver back home.
For the price they require, it does not worthwhile to enjoy of this place.
English here still seems to be a remote language for the staff.

Room Tip: Complaints are not well understood
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Barong resorts is really nice, we have been upgraded upon our arrival to a private pool villa, very surprising indeed. Room is beautiful and quite, bathroom super spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast served directly in your room with no charges.
The only concern is the central position of the resort, too central for us. Ubud in August is quite a mess, Monkey forest road packed with cars all day and night and barely have enough space to walk on the sideways.
Beside that, no noise was audible from our room. Great service and great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ha il suo fascino! But for the price they require, this hotel is very neglected and abandoned to itself.
The shower head worked very badly and water sprinkled non from holes but along the edges....
No shuttle service available after 6 pm, and they know that there are not taxi available in Ubud and that there are only private cars available for 10 times the price.
Receptionists dont speak good english, who may does it, is not well trained to support queries from customers, there is not a computerized system, everything go ahead manually, so if you place your request it will be lost and next receptionist coming cannot read any requirement from customers.
They are wild to understand but very sharp for money, and when you check out many come to check if you have quit without have stolen anything.
Because of receptionists and the driver that went back home, we cannot find a car to reach the wellness center, and so we lost our massage at 7 p.m.
The walkways beside the reception hall, look a little bit dirty and not properly cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#53 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barong Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.