We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barong Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barong Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Barong Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 124 Hotels in Ubud
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in September at Barong Resort and Spa. I couldn't have been happier with the location and the accommodations. The location is smack in the middle of Monkey Forrest Rd and was perfect for walking to restaurants and shops. You could easily walk (10 - 15 min) to the Ubud market on one end of the street and then Monkey Forrest on the other. The grounds themselves were lush and very nicely kept and it was a nice walk back to the rooms.

Our room has a private patio where you could choose to have your breakfast delivered at a specific time if you called ahead and the patio was great hanging around in the evening before going out. The room itself was nice and large and they seemed to have paid attention to lots of details like having fresh flowers in the room and daily fruit and snacks. There is also a mini bar in the room as well that was nicely stocked. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very large and well appointed.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good and the portions quiet large. We didnt eat in the restaurant for any other meals since Ubud has so many options to choose from but breakfast was very delicious.

I really liked the choice we made to stay at Barong and would stay there again if I ever have the chance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The three of us, including our 7 months baby, could find a peaceful place in busy Ubud. The hotel is beautifully decorated and entirely reflects the beauty of the balinese architecture and style.
The pool villa where we stayed made us feel at home and offered total privacy.

The service was excellent and particularly friendly and discreet at the same time and the manager and the staff made it all to satisfy our requests and helped a lot with the baby showing a lot of flexibility.

The breakfast is a la carte and good, and set up in a peaceful al fresco just in front of the main road.

We did not have the time to try the SPA but it looked inspiring.

If back to Ubud we will no doubt go back there.

Room Tip: There is no fitness gym but a nice pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Barong Resort & Spa for 3 nights in August 2012. We've stayed in a number of different 'accommodations' in Ubud over the last 5 years and couldn't really fault this place. We booked through Lastminute.com whilst staying on Gili Trawangan Island near Lombok and it took a couple of phone calls to convince reception that they did indeed have accommodation available for 3 nights according to the website....little frustrating! This place is located right on Monkey Forest rd, right in the middle of all the action which is good if that's what you want and we couldn't hear any traffic noise. Bear in mind that it now costs approx 5AUS to get a taxi/driver to take you to any resorts (one-way) on the outskirts of Ubud and that can add up over a week. Some offer free shuttle buses but not always convenient and sometimes you just want to choose where you eat and not be stuck at a resort out of town. Enjoyed the pool at Barong, some rooms have their own private plunge pools, the breakfasts were good and they are building a new spa which looks very nice. Staff were pleasant and rooms were well serviced. Agree with another reviewer that the television is only Indonesian channels and it's too dark to read in the rooms at night. This place doesn't rock your socks off but you can't beat the convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in November 2011, while attending a friend's wedding at another resort.

Upon arrival, I realized that I had apparently gone and booked a whole villa for myself by mistake via a deal on the Trip Advisor website, but what a fortuitous (and not-too-expensive) mistake it turned out to be. Although the hotel is right smack on a busy major road, I was lucky that the room was set back far enough from all the traffic noise and it really felt like resort-living indeed. The room even came complete with a little personal swimming pool with a fountain within a walled compound with a wooden latched door. The four-poster bed with mosquito netting was comfy, and the bathroom had a little sunken tub/shower area. 2 bottles of drinking water were also provided daily.

The only issue I had with my stay here was that the food was really not very good. It would be far more wothwhile to check out the food options along Jalan Monkey Forest or Jalan Hanoman instead. The daily breakfasts included with the booking were monotonous - I would recommend choosing the Indonesian chicken rice porridge 'burbur ayam' over the rather dried out and not particularly tasty approximations of "Western" eggs-and-ham, and tooth-achingly sweet juices. The other down-sides of staying here were that the TV only had programs in Bahasa Indonesia (no cable) and the room was rather dark, so trying to read in place of watching TV was not really an option. The staff were helpful enough but English was not their strongest point and communication was a stretch. Although they were OK with booking a taxi to the airport for me, it seemed cheaper to get one off the street, and the staff had even suggested that I book a taxi myself from any of the guys touting near the tourist hot-spots the night before my flight. This felt like a bit of a risk since I had no way of knowing if the (different) guy who showed up with a random car the next morning was 'legit', but I did make my flight..

The location of Barong Resort nearer the Monkey Forest end of Jalan Monkey Forest made it easy to walk around e.g. to the cafes and shops along Jalan Hanoman, the museums and Ubud market. The hotel is worth checking out... but with the sheer variety of (and competition / deals from) similar hotels in the area , you would not be missing out on too much if you decided to stay elsewhere however. If I were to visit Ubud again, I would not mind coming back here if I was with a bunch of friends, but I'd probably like to have a go at the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 weeks and we both loved the experience. Spacious, well designed, spotlessly clean and very private villa. Excellant staff with attention to detail and everyone at Barong was always very helpful. The only negative experience at all was that the Wi-Fi reliability was terribly frustrating, but i did not deduct from my "excellant" rating because i am assuming and hopefully so because we intend to return to Barong again that they will fix this very serious problem soon. A young trainee at the reception desk Gede Loca Pala was always very helpful and so were the others who worked reception. I love this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Barong resort was lovely and peaceful, a great oasis away from the busy streets outside. we had a bungalow so we had our own little garden which was great and very private

The room was clean and spacious and the pool really refreshing, definitely something you need in the heat of Ubud!

Great location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights - the room was large, clean and tastefully decorated. Good food, nice pool and spa facilities. Quiet and very well located too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#53 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barong Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.