We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location it's greatest asset!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barong Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Barong Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barong Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 117 hotels in Ubud
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location it's greatest asset!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Barong Resort & Spa for 3 nights in August 2012. We've stayed in a number of different 'accommodations' in Ubud over the last 5 years and couldn't really fault this place. We booked through Lastminute.com whilst staying on Gili Trawangan Island near Lombok and it took a couple of phone calls to convince reception that they did indeed have accommodation available for 3 nights according to the website....little frustrating! This place is located right on Monkey Forest rd, right in the middle of all the action which is good if that's what you want and we couldn't hear any traffic noise. Bear in mind that it now costs approx 5AUS to get a taxi/driver to take you to any resorts (one-way) on the outskirts of Ubud and that can add up over a week. Some offer free shuttle buses but not always convenient and sometimes you just want to choose where you eat and not be stuck at a resort out of town. Enjoyed the pool at Barong, some rooms have their own private plunge pools, the breakfasts were good and they are building a new spa which looks very nice. Staff were pleasant and rooms were well serviced. Agree with another reviewer that the television is only Indonesian channels and it's too dark to read in the rooms at night. This place doesn't rock your socks off but you can't beat the convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in November 2011, while attending a friend's wedding at another resort.

Upon arrival, I realized that I had apparently gone and booked a whole villa for myself by mistake via a deal on the Trip Advisor website, but what a fortuitous (and not-too-expensive) mistake it turned out to be. Although the hotel is right smack on a busy major road, I was lucky that the room was set back far enough from all the traffic noise and it really felt like resort-living indeed. The room even came complete with a little personal swimming pool with a fountain within a walled compound with a wooden latched door. The four-poster bed with mosquito netting was comfy, and the bathroom had a little sunken tub/shower area. 2 bottles of drinking water were also provided daily.

The only issue I had with my stay here was that the food was really not very good. It would be far more wothwhile to check out the food options along Jalan Monkey Forest or Jalan Hanoman instead. The daily breakfasts included with the booking were monotonous - I would recommend choosing the Indonesian chicken rice porridge 'burbur ayam' over the rather dried out and not particularly tasty approximations of "Western" eggs-and-ham, and tooth-achingly sweet juices. The other down-sides of staying here were that the TV only had programs in Bahasa Indonesia (no cable) and the room was rather dark, so trying to read in place of watching TV was not really an option. The staff were helpful enough but English was not their strongest point and communication was a stretch. Although they were OK with booking a taxi to the airport for me, it seemed cheaper to get one off the street, and the staff had even suggested that I book a taxi myself from any of the guys touting near the tourist hot-spots the night before my flight. This felt like a bit of a risk since I had no way of knowing if the (different) guy who showed up with a random car the next morning was 'legit', but I did make my flight..

The location of Barong Resort nearer the Monkey Forest end of Jalan Monkey Forest made it easy to walk around e.g. to the cafes and shops along Jalan Hanoman, the museums and Ubud market. The hotel is worth checking out... but with the sheer variety of (and competition / deals from) similar hotels in the area , you would not be missing out on too much if you decided to stay elsewhere however. If I were to visit Ubud again, I would not mind coming back here if I was with a bunch of friends, but I'd probably like to have a go at the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 weeks and we both loved the experience. Spacious, well designed, spotlessly clean and very private villa. Excellant staff with attention to detail and everyone at Barong was always very helpful. The only negative experience at all was that the Wi-Fi reliability was terribly frustrating, but i did not deduct from my "excellant" rating because i am assuming and hopefully so because we intend to return to Barong again that they will fix this very serious problem soon. A young trainee at the reception desk Gede Loca Pala was always very helpful and so were the others who worked reception. I love this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Barong resort was lovely and peaceful, a great oasis away from the busy streets outside. we had a bungalow so we had our own little garden which was great and very private

The room was clean and spacious and the pool really refreshing, definitely something you need in the heat of Ubud!

Great location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights - the room was large, clean and tastefully decorated. Good food, nice pool and spa facilities. Quiet and very well located too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

this is a small hotel with 11-ish rooms (if i remember correctly from the staff). Thus the services they offer are pretty personalized because it is easy for them to remember the guests.

We had good experience in this hotel for 6 days as we spent our time around Ubud. Room was always clean and tidy. The cleaning lady came twice a day to 1)clean the room 2)make the bed for the night. Privacy is very well kept as each room has a private small yard with door. Breakfast was very nicely prepared and ingredients felt fresh (even if only few guests are having breakfast as it is a small hotel).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The place and location are awesome and good value for money. You will get an exclusive villa with surrounding walls and a little garden so it is very homey although not too big. The location is rght a long moneky forest with many cute shops and restaurants nearby. Services, however, are bot up to par esepcially with bali standard. Staffs are quite slow and not as responsive, although they are quite polite. Breakfast was not quite elaborative and not as yummy as other places. However there are also many other nearby places to walk to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Barong Hotel
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali
Address: Jalan Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#46 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barong Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.