We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barong Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barong Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Barong Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 144 Hotels in Ubud
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights - the room was large, clean and tastefully decorated. Good food, nice pool and spa facilities. Quiet and very well located too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    54
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
74
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

this is a small hotel with 11-ish rooms (if i remember correctly from the staff). Thus the services they offer are pretty personalized because it is easy for them to remember the guests.

We had good experience in this hotel for 6 days as we spent our time around Ubud. Room was always clean and tidy. The cleaning lady came twice a day to 1)clean the room 2)make the bed for the night. Privacy is very well kept as each room has a private small yard with door. Breakfast was very nicely prepared and ingredients felt fresh (even if only few guests are having breakfast as it is a small hotel).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The place and location are awesome and good value for money. You will get an exclusive villa with surrounding walls and a little garden so it is very homey although not too big. The location is rght a long moneky forest with many cute shops and restaurants nearby. Services, however, are bot up to par esepcially with bali standard. Staffs are quite slow and not as responsive, although they are quite polite. Breakfast was not quite elaborative and not as yummy as other places. However there are also many other nearby places to walk to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

It would be perfect if not for the nightly traditional dance performance near the property.

Room: Great and spacious, especially that we were assigned with no. 1 villa (newly renovated) at ground level. The door opens into a sitting area where you would have in-villa meals. Everything else is great.

Staff initiative was lacking when there was a dog howling loudly outside the property; in the middle of the night with each episode lasting more than an hour, and short interval of less than 10 mins 'resting' time. When tried to phone the frontdesk, no one picked up the phone. No one was attending the frontdesk when we went to there; we also noticed many other guests were standing outside their villas trying to find the howling dog.

This went on for 2 nights (both the traditional dance performances involving drum beats and the dog howling), and the dog howling only stopped when we requested the staff to chase away the dog. After 2 sleepless nights, we had to cancel the remaining bookings and move to another location.

Aside from these, the villa would be perfect as the staff were generally very helpful and friendly (except for the initiative part) when approached.

Room Tip: Bring ear-plugs for light sleepers as the property is located conveniently along the belt of busiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

stayed 7 days which was too long in a rather gloomy traditional styled room TV hair dryer, room lighting shower all pretty useless Hard surfaces in room needed thorough clean Breakfast adequate Had dinner first night but not again !!!!! Did not try spa Plus side ? Very private (occupancy was low ) not too much music noise from Monkey Forest Rd central to Ubud 2 mini tours thrown in were very good Staff were accommodating but poorly trained ( check out murky pool ) & had minimal English Would we stay again ? Possiblity not we have stayed in better places in Ubud

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Our stay was excellent, we got a Deluxe villa due to the fact that we have 2 children's but we end up sleeping at the top room all of us, this guys provide us with a mattress so all good, as someone else point it out TV is hopeless we couldn't watch news or anything at all during our visit. The boys at the front wonderful, breakfast for us was excellent, as much juice as you can drink lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

One of the most beautiful rooms I've ever stayed in. I only wish they offered breakfast BUFFET!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#38 of 144 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 144 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#75 of 144 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barong Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barong Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#50 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#52 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barong Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barong Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Ubud
Barong Spa Ubud
Barong Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barong Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.