We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL EVER - I could not ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Tanggayuda to your Saves list
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2Days/1Night Experience
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL EVER - I could not ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed in Komankea Tangayuda for our first stop in our honeymoon. This place is incredible! Great scenire, big open gardens, great service, and just ask for whatever you need, they will provide you.
They have a great shuttle service to center town. But if you go somewhere else, no problem they will drive you and pick you up.
If you are in Ubud walking, and you like to use the swimming pool of the other Komaneka's hotel. No problem.
Definetly this is the hotel to stay in Ubud!
Best Indonesian food in Ubud by far!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    106
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
113
809
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

This was my 6th time to bali, and Komaneka was my favourite place - ever. This place was really something special. We stayed in a pool villa - highly reccomend it. It was so nice having a private pool right outside your villa - with views of a rice paddy valley. Super nice if your with your partner or on a honeymoon. The Bed was comfortable, everthing was very clean. The bathroom was GREAT - big shower, a big volcano stone bath tub (which was filled with flowers on arrival) in a semi-outdoor area with hanging candles and a little pond. It was one of those places where you got "oh i forgot to bring.." and its either already in the room or the staff will have it to you within a few minutes. Every morning they brought us breakfast to our little day bed gazebo next to our private pool. The breakfast was good - included in the price - and generous.
If your looking for somewhere where you get a good feel for bali, a little luxury, total relaxation, and no let downs - this is your place. I think what stood out was their staff - they were really fantastic. Couldn't do enough for you, and so super friendly. They drove us anywhere we needed to go in very nice cars - for free. We wanted to internet, they brought us new laptops with wireless - for free. there were some noisy frogs outside - withing a few minutes 3 of them were snapping them up in their fists, so fast my partner walked in and said "the staff are some kind of ningas".
Great place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

There really is nothing left to say about Komaneka @ Tanggayuda. Its the staff that make this little resort a joy to stay in! Nothing's impossible for them. They heard me coughing quite badly and the next thing I know, there was a pot of steaming ginger tea which worked wonders for my throat! Our 11 year old daughter was made such a fuss of and she had a great time swimming, making offerings and wearing a sarong which the girls kindly provided! She also polished off the delicious home made cookies provided in our room - oh yes and there was fruit and fresh flowers too!! We stayed in a courtyard villa with a plunge pool and it was more than adequate for our needs. If there's one gripe, I'd say that the wood around the sink needed polishing - but as I write, all the villas are being renovated as unobtrusively as possible so maybe that'll be taken care of. Afternoon tea by the pool (free) is a great idea and the breakfast is sumptuous as well. (cooked to order and can be delivered to your room) We ate at "Warung Kudus" twice and the food was actually quite good but a bit pricey. Everyone gets an apertif (An arak coctktail, yummy) and an amouse bouche which was very welcome indeed. There are lots of free activities and the shuttle runs like clockwork. It was actually good that we stayed here, overlooking a valley instead of the busy town centre. We did manage a tour around the island but we feel 5 days wasn't enough so we're going back!!!!! This small resort is described as "the soul of Bali in the heart of Ubud" and that's good enough for me.

PS The nightwear they left out on the bed each night was as soft as a feather. I wish I'd bought one from the shop. Ah well, more reason to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this hotel and were shown our suite, which is the size of my apartment! Our own private pool, a bathtub full of rose petals, a clean balinese style bathroom, a day bed, and a million little touches that really made you feel welcome and special. The service was the best we have encountered, the breakfasts were amazing, the pool was spectacular and the room was a haven. We would absolutely recommend this hotel. It is truly a 5 star experience.

The only down side is that it is a drive out of Ubud, but they offer shuttle services every hour which made it easy to go in and out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at Tanggayuda for 2 days with out daughter. Most adorable resort!! Efficient service with a smile by the ever eager staff. The pool had a great location overlooking the rice valley. The complimentary set breakfast and afternoon tea with snacks is really a warm and generous touch on the part of the resort. The resorts shuttle service back and forth to Ubud town was well used by us. The resort has a small library and a couple of browsing stations, which helped catch up with the world.

The villa, was terrific. No great views in the villa where we stayed, but within itself, was self contained and very charming. The complimentary fruits and cookies was again a good welcoming touch.

Largest bathroom I have ever seen. Separate shower and WC stalls, twin bowl sink with lots of room, external rock-cut bath tub and a fairly large lap pool. The one thing that could be corrected was that the shower had full height glass window and glass door - completely visible from the room and lap pool, which I think is OK with honeymooning couples but quite a challenge to all others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Wow! the komaneka is one amazing place to stay - the villa's are fantastic, we had a plunge pool overlooking the valley, the bathroom is huge and the bedroom has a fab four poster bed. Every afternoon they serve balinese tea and you get to sample some strange and wonderful balinese food, breakfast was delicious and so was all the other food that they served here - and they serve plenty of it. The staff are very accomodating and they all know your name. This was our first stop on honeymoon and it definately set the scene!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We arrived for our stay at the komaneka very late at night and when we turned off of the main road onto a rough track our minds started to think oh no what have we come to, but don't be fooled , when we came to the entrance of the hotel we breathed a sigh of relief, even in the dark we knew we had arrived at a very special place. It had gone midnight when we checked in but we recieved one of the warmest welcomes, we were escorted to our room and given a personal introduction to everything. We were lucky enough to be staying in a pool villa, we have travelled the world alot and I have to say this is one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in, fresh fruit and homemade cookies everyday, the most amazing bath made from volcanic stone ,nightshirts layed out on your bed every night are just a few things to mention besides the basics of the room being very spacious and clean. The breakfasts was also a delight, a menu with the choice of both western and balinese dishes, the staff are very good at recomending things to try, all the food is cooked to order so is very fresh, as are all the freshly squeezed fruit juices , a bit different from the normal breakfast buffet where you have to stand in a queue for your eggs while your croissants have been warming up since 7:30am, the komaneka breakfast was a refreshing and tasty change.We did not use the restaurant in the evening as we like eat out locally when we are travelling but after enquiring with other guests about where to eat locally they said they hadn't left the hotel as the food was so good there. Now to the setting and wow what a setting, the hotel is set into the side of a valley and has been done very sympathetically with it natural surroundings, the infinity pool which looks out towards the valley and it rice terraces is dark green so blends in beautifully, all the sunbeds are supplied with mosquito repellant and a cool water spray . The grounds are very well maintained but with a very natural feel, ( there are some steps ). There is a small gallery and shop. So what makes this hotel even more special............the staff. From the moment we checked in it felt like we were staying in a family enviroment, everyone remembers your name, nothing is too much trouble, you were always greeted with a smile and this personally made our stay so special. We only had 4 nights at this hotel and in hindsight regret not staying longer, (we moved onto Sanur for 8 nights) The area around Ubud is beautiful with lots to see and do, so who needs a beach when you can stay at the tranquil oasis that is the Komaneka at Tangguyuda.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#21 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Tanggayuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.