We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Holiday Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Tanggayuda to your Saves list
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT US$255NET
Ranked #3 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Albany, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Best Holiday Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Well, once again Komaneka @ Tanggayuda and it's wonderful staff made our 2-week holiday one of absolute bliss! This is our 2nd visit in 8 months and we enjoyed it immensely - not only the superb food and wonderful breakfasts, but more importantly, the feeling of coming home. We were treated like honored family members and nothing was ever too much trouble for the wonderful staff. From the moment we arrived, being greeted personally by our dear friends, to the daily personal greetings by every staff member, the attention to detail by the houseboys, the personal touches that were obviously 'extras' but so welcomingly received, the invitation to one of the staff's weddings, the service from the wonderful waitresses and chef, to the intimacy of the whole resort, we loved it all. Yes, there is a bit of maintenance happening ("The Project" is soon to finish, we've been told), but the compensation, a lovely free massage to "put me in a better mood for my full-moon dinner" was amazing turning the whole afternoon/night into one of absolute pampering and feeling like we were the 2 most special people in the world. This is the doing of the very special resort manager, Apendika, and his wonderful staff including some special friends we've made: Utami, Yunanti, Kande and Kantu. Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou to ALL of you. We can't wait until we come again - maybe 3 weeks next time??? Warm regards, Perri and John (Perth) Australia

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    92
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
106
718
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

This relatively small resort in the lush green countryside of Ubud has gorgeous extremely spacious villas with private courtyard, cabana and plunge pool. The main swimming pool has a stunning view over the valley - really an awe inspiring sight as you swim in sunshine or rain. The view is particularly beautiful in the mist. LIke another reviewer I would not rate the food highly. Mainly due to a lack of consistency and a somewhat old fashioned menu. We preferred to eat out at some very good local restaurants in Ubud. However what Komaneka lacked in the food area was made up for by the incredibly dedicated staff who never missed an opportunity to make us feel welcome and well looked after. We were truly sad to leave. A true hidden gem!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

The staff couldn't do more to make your trip a success. Everything promised is delivered - timely car transfer, correct drop off/pick up time at all restaurants. I'd rate the food B+ (it's not bad at all, it's just that you can find better food at cheaper prices in town). The rooms are always clean and the view of the valley from the pool villa is outstanding. Not noisy like Ubud town. Only con is that the villa is not very sound-proof (given it's all glass). We were trying to watch a movie one night inside our villa (at only medium volume - it really wasn't very high volume at all and we shut all the doors) and unfortunately the guests next door kept complaining he can hear the sounds very clearly!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

After researching several properties, we zeroed down on Komaneka for the first leg of our honeymoon in early December, 2009. Going by the positive feedback on Tripadvisor, we had high expectations from our visit. I must say that the resort not only met our expectations but in fact exceeded them. Right from the beginning we were treated like royalty. We'd taken a villa and very extremely pleased with our choice. The room had a small pool which was nestled amongst the green forest overlooking the pool. The room itself was luxurious with all modern amenities. Loved the gazebo by the poolside where we spent much of our time early in the morning or later in the evening.

Excellent rooms, excellent staff, excellent service, great food. Overall 10/10. Highly recommend it to anyone visiting Bali.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed at Komaneka at Tanggayuda over easter for 4 nights.... This was my first time to Bali and I am really glad we chose this hotel. Its 10 minutes outside Ubud but easy to get there with the hotel shuttle.
We had a great combination of relaxing... loved the outdoor day bed in our villa, and spa at hotel was great... small, but it was only us there, so plenty of time to relax in the steam room and jacuzzi after our balanise massage, also we had a plunge pool which was great for cooling off.... and the other side of the combination shopping and eating in Ubud.... good indonesian restaurants, and plenty of places to stop for a Bintang if you need a break shopping... there are some great boutiques as well as the usual tourist stuff.
We did the hotel organised treking one morning... a bit of an early start! but worth it... it was quite an adventure! and great to see the rural side of Bali.
Lastly the staff are excellent - and there is lots included in the price, afternoon tea, fruit and cookies in the room, shuttle service, breakfast (we often were the only ones in the restaurant - we loved the indonesian and balanise breakfasts) etc...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Sure the staff are amazing, in fact they ameliorate the otherwise ordinary, by Balinese standards hotel layout, gardens and gastronomy. I stayed in a pool villa which seemed a little worn with average amenities. The airconditioning just did not work over the 3 day period despite numerous attempts by the helpful staff . My worst however, were the tired polycotton sheets! A hotel in at this echelon should provide crisp percale an absolute necessity in the tropics.

The restaurant definitely focuses on Indonesian cuisine which I happen to relish. Be warned however that besides breakfeast there are very few non Indonesian options. I felt the food was pricey for what is plated.

The hotel layout and gardens do not catapult this hotel into Ubud's top 10 as far as I am concerned. There are far better. The pool is much smaller than one expects from web photo's. The pool service bar is tired and poorly maintained.

I have travelled to Bali many times and was, to be sure, lured to this hotel because of the rave reviews on TA. I was disappointed with the almost hostel-like layout and what I felt to be a 3 rather than a 5 star experience, especially after having moved over from Ibah, which although certainly not perfect, provides one with an absolutely quintessential Balinese experience!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010 via mobile

To the komaneka tanggayuda team, we have had such holiday blues since we left Bali n our honeymoon behind.
Firstly, after our stay at tanggayuda we also stayed at the westin in nusa dua and it was 5 STAR crap - leaking showers, poor facilities communication, loose taps n sweaty cheese to which I got sick for 2 days. Our final stop was villa de dawn in legian and probably rated an 8 out of 10 BUT we certainly had the BEST first.

Komaneka tanggayuda was 11 out of 10. The staff were courteous, friendly, personal and eager to make ur stay at the villa n Bali awesome...!

We have made close friends from tanggayuda with april n his girlfriend yulia, n had dinner with them on 2 separate occasions, while staying elsewhere in Bali. And since returning home to Perth, we still sms n plan to grow our friendships on return trips.

The ease of transportation into ubud was great n were made to feel like we were never any trouble.

The rooms were fantastic but the villa grounds were sensational, a real joy to move through n enjoy.

We did the cooking class with buggy n hope to buy his soon to b released cooking book n have tanggayuda post it to us. Buggy is so passionate about cooking and was able to answer all our questions we had and after our 4 courses we ended up rolling out. Tanggayuda even organised a fresh young coconut for us to drink, as we had mentioned that it would b nice to taste fresh coconut milk on our shopping trip that morning - yet another thoughtful surprise

We also had a wonderful couples massage in the in-house spa and took the free wood carving classes.

We had plenty to do at tanggayuda and in ubud for 7 days, so don't think ubud is a sleepy mountain town, we need to go back to finish our discoveries.

We are planning a return trip to komaneka bisma where april is now n meet his new boss mr suriya but will need atleast 2 nights at tanggayuda to relive memories n say hello to a place that really was our "home" and our Bali "family"...

Now need to go and thank our travel agent for recommending tanggayuda n giving us a week in heaven, on our honeymoon n coming away with friends in BALI that I call family...



. .

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Tanggayuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.