We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beauitful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Tanggayuda to your Saves list
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Ubud
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beauitful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

this was my 1st trip to bali so it was all very daunting , this hotel was beautiful ! we stayed in a vila with a private pool , the room was spotless ! they staff were really friendly and helpful , the offer a free shuttle service to ubud markets . The food at the hotel was very nice we had all our meals at the hotel . The meals were fair priced . The spa services were great and very cheap , the pool area had beautiful views of the forest . I would go back and stay here , we had an amazing time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    111
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
116
857
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at this fabulous resort, the Komaneka at Tanggayuda, at the same period in July 2013, and during that time, they were constructing the Bale Daja, a two bedroom pool villa that consists of two master bedrooms, mini library or mini office, private swimming pool, with a shared living and dining room. We had this villa, sharing it with our son.
The first bed room on the top floor has a private courtyard overlooking the spectacular views of Mount Batukaru and Mount Agung with small tables for dining or drinks, and 2 long sun-chairs. The bedroom comes with a king-size or real twin bed, sofa, writing table and chairs, wide screen LCD TV with HDMI ready. As usual, WiFi is available in all areas.
The second bedroom below this also has a private courtyard and 4 long sun-chairs quite identical to the first, plus a long L-shaped swimming pool with one limb of the L, the shallow end for soaking, or just sipping your cocktails! Both rooms feature indoor and outdoor showers, and bath tubs for soaking, and between the two units, there are three sets of WCs, showers, and twin vanity sinks, the third set being attached to the living/dining room on the lower floor. The upper and lower units are connected by a broad spiral staircase, and the entrance to the duplex is through a small wooden door that can be secured at night.

In my previous review of the Resort ( see link below ) I captioned the review as, “ Among the best resorts, and getting better!” Needless to say, the Owners with their meticulous attention to maintenance, skilful management and their dedicated staff, have made the place nothing short of paradise.

The food is even better, with selections for Western, Balinese and Indonesian cuisines in addition to the Komenaka breakfast. There’s a short but tasteful selection of wines and champagne, classic and Balinese cocktails. There is also selection of beers and the usual non alcoholic beverages.
The main, north facing infinity pool offers fantastic views of the forested valley and to the mountains beyond. One receives the sun all day, as the sun rises in the East at Mount Agung, and sets in the West at Mount Batukaru, warming the pool water and providing you opportunities for all-day basking in the sun.

Currently, the resort comprises 33 pooled villas, plus two villas without a private pool. The resort has a gym with a heated pool, a mini office for general use, a gift shop, and spa. A hourly complimentary shuttle service takes you to the Neka Museum, Ubud Centre and to their sister resort, the Komaneka at Monkey Forest. The first shuttle departing at 8 am in the morning. The shuttle schedule and a map of Ubud is provided in every villa. The grounds are meticulously maintained, fogging done once a week on Saturdays in the evening.

Personal service level is still at it’s very best, even possibly better, quietly exuding the warmth and hospitality of the Balinese. Lovely furniture pieces of natural wood and stone abound throughout the rooms and grounds. I particularly like the quiet grounds and the virtual absence of distracting and disturbing noise from children and loud voiced guests! Only the forked-tail swifts can be seen swooping silently overhead as they feed on the aerial plankton of small insects.

The faint cascading sounds of water from the Oos River hidden in the valley below, the incessant call of the cicadas, the intermittent distant crowing of farmed cockerels: these provide soothing music to the senses, and food for the soul, in the heart of Ubud! You are left all to yourself to savor and enjoy what the management and staff affectionately refer to as: your “home”!

For my previous review of our first visit in July 2013 :
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g297701-d626311-r167747510-Komaneka_at_Tanggayuda-Ubud_Bali.html

For more information on the Bale Daja: http://www.komaneka.com/categories.php?cPath=2#sthash.4B8IxlEN.dpuf

Room Tip: Try out the Bale Daja. The views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spectacular! I've stayed at some very nice places but never one at a resort with its own private pool with such killer views! The staff is SO nice and customer service focused that the stay is so pleasant. Mom, Dad and 14 year old son all loved it in our villa which had ample room for the 3 of us. Mom and Dad for the reasons described and son for the free wi-fi in the room and throughout the resort. He'd hang by the pool ordering very cheap room service and surfing the net while we'd go to the Ubud market or do the resort spa or just relax out by the pool and soak in the valley views.

We debated doing the other Komaneka resorts but opted for this which is away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. The hotel provides an hourly shuttle which means getting to Ubud was always easy. I will say they did forget to pick us and two other couples up in Ubud but like any first class customer service oriented resort, offered a free spa treatment for both my wife and I.

And the food at the resort is absolutely delicious. I was surprised that it was event better than some of the Ubud restaurants that we tried. So, we ended up not leaving much. By the way, the restaurant is three levels all with gorgeous views and Bali prices! There are two pools and afternoon tea. It's not a big resort so you always feel like you're practically the only ones there. I'd easily go again! Just loved it!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We work hard and look forward to relaxing on breaks away, so that was the aim of our first week of holidays - to relax! Komaneka at Tanggayuda was perfection for us in that regard and in all honesty, there is nothing that we could complain about in the entire 8 days that we stayed in this resort. The personalised, but non intrusive service, was far above anything we have ever experienced and cannot be overstated. Due to our flight time, we did not arrive at the hotel until 11:30pm and although reception is open 24 hrs per day, our Personal Attendant, who was due to go off duty at 11:00pm, was still waiting for us on arrival.

The room, view, facilities and grounds all combine to create an amazing place to stay, as stated by many other travellers, but it is the people that make this place so special. At times, we could have been tricked into thinking that we were the only ones staying at the resort, as the service and attention to detail never once waivered. Yes, there was the odd problem to solve (life is like that), but the immediacy with which someone responded was absolutely spot on. Until we reach Heaven, I suspect there will always be the odd problem to solve, but it is how these things are dealt with that makes the difference. In this resort, they aim to make you happy and actually achieve it! It doesn't matter what level of staff you meet in any area of the resort, you are always greeted. Everyone knows your name and room number - you never need to give it or sign for anything - restaurant, drinks, tours etc.

Communication is excellent and when you ask for anything, you know you can leave it in their hands and they will get back to you ASAP. We did not do a lot in terms of tours etc, but what we did do was so, so easy to arrange.

Lots of other people have commented on the shuttle service, shopping in Ubud etc, so I will leave that. I do however want to comment on two more things - the Rice Paddy Trek with Gusti and the catering for my wife's allergies.

We went on the afternoon trek in the Tanggayuda village rice paddies with Gusti, a local guide. It was brilliant and far more than a look at rice paddies. It was a very good cultural experience as we walked through the local village and talked about life in general for the locals. Gusti had good English and a very friendly manner and I enjoyed it so much, that I actually booked a second walk with him. He decided to take me on a different route to the traditional market and along the back tracks back to the resort - another great walk. If I had gotten onto this earlier in my stay, I would have booked a walk with Gusti every day without hesitation.

I must also comment on the resort's catering for my wife's allergies. She has many allergies and they cover many essential ingredients for most foods, so I emailed in advance to the resort and was assured this would not be a problem. On arrival, this had not only been considered, but there was a personalised menu for her in our room and another copy in the restaurant. Never once did we have a problem and in actual fact, we ended up eating every meal for the entire 8 days at the resort. The catering amendments were far above just replacing something with fruit - Her substitute food was the equivalent of the tasty things that I received. Now that is fantastic customer service! Do not under estimate how good the service and customer relations in this resort is.

The added touches that kept surprising us - the free candle-lit dinner and kimono's with our names embroidered on them (because we were long term guests) and even the biscuits in unique containers as we left, just topped the whole experience off superbly and I guess that sums it it. This place is not just a place to stay - It is an unforgettable "experience" and I do not regret for one minute having followed the advice of many other Tripadvisor reviewers and booking our 8 day stay in Bali at this wonderful resort. Well done Komaneka at Tanggayuda! We loved every minute!

Room Tip: Room 101 was totally private and looked straight out over the jungle covered valley. It was like no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful location, 15 minutes north of the Ubud centre. There are hourly shuttle buses, so going in and out is no problem. We had a beautiful private pool villa. Lovely breakfasts, choice of 2 public pools, 1 hot pool, gym and spa. The staff were excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Komaneka at Tanggayuda is absolutely amazing and one of the best places iv'e stayed at. The valley pool villa was sooo nice! Above all the staff are so friendly and makes you really feel at home! The small things like the fantastic afternoon tea with the small lovely tastings of Balinese pastry to the beautiful oil lamps put out in the garden each evening - this is what a relaxing place should be like! Perfect location in the countryside still with Ubud easy to access via the shuttle.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

now if you ever go to Ubud you should stay in Komaneka , the staff is so friendly that they know your name.

i was on my 2 weeks honeymoon in bali when i stayed in this hotel, they know we're on our honeymoon so they upgrade our room, hmm thats nice, and then they gave us a honeymoon give a pair of pashmina.

they're not limiting breakfast time, the staff even offer they can bought it for us if we want any food around Ubud.

Room Tip: Pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Tanggayuda Hidden away and refreshing in a peaceful location with beautiful valley view's over the Batukaru mountain, feature spacious rooms and villas with private veranda to completed your memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Tanggayuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.