We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again in a heartbeat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Tanggayuda to your Saves list
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT US$255NET
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would stay again in a heartbeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife, 9-month old son and I stayed here for just three nights in February 2013. We booked a Valley Pool Villa based on the recommendations of others here on TripAdvisor and because we'd never tried booking what was supposed to be the best rooms at any hotel.

For reference sake - this was our first visit to Bali, and Indonesia. We were on a visit to my wife's family in Malaysia and wanted to have a few days (just four, far too little time to visit Bali or this amazing hotel) to get away and relax. So we cannot say firmly that Komaneka has the best service in Bali, or even Ubud - but we can say without a doubt that we have never received better service anywhere else in the world.

From the moment we arrived, everyone was very warm, very helpful, and incredibly thoughtful. Our perspective really is from how well the wonderful staff helped us with our infant son while we were there. We travelled from Canada to Malaysia only six days prior to our arrival in Bali, and he was still keeping us very tired because of the time change - but for not a single moment did he feel like a drain on us at Komaneka because of their staff and the surroundings. If he was bored and cranky during our breakfast, a staff member would often hold him and entertain him just so we could finish our meal in peace. They even offered to make baby food for him from fresh veggies and fruit! Similarly when checking in and checking out, he was whisked away by the staff so he wouldn't get bored, or us get too tired. Our room was also equipped with a beautiful crib with mosquito nets free of charge when we first arrived, and during our breakfasts we would be very quickly brought a lovely child seat for him to play in while we ate.

Breakfasts were amazing. The free selection is limited to I believe maybe five or six different set meals, but each one that we had was delicious and the perfect start to our day. Plus we only once actually ate in the proper dining room - and we ate by the main pool twice completely by ourselves, which was very peaceful for us, and for other guests who we didn't want to bother with our little noise-maker son. In fact - the food in general was of a very good standard, and with my wife being Malaysian, I assure you we are both picky eaters. Twice we decided to eat dinner in our rooms, and neither time were we disappointed by the excellent service or the genuinely very good food we were served. I would even argue that compared to many of the restaurants catering to tourists in Ubud, the price point of the room-service meals was very reasonable.

The rooms are of a very high standard and you won't be left wanting for much. The setting of the hotel on the side of a beautiful river valley is stunning - no photo can do it justice. We also preferred the location outside of the hectic centre of Ubud, as we felt more removed from the stresses of Bali, which is an incredibly saturated tourist destination. Being located further out did mean getting to other tourist destinations took about ten-twenty minutes longer though, but we were fine with that. We cannot comment on the shuttle to Ubud as we hired a private driver, but it definitely is not a long drive provided you don't get stuck behind slow traffic. We also loved the private pool at our villa. As others have mentioned, it is on the smaller side, and is indeed quite cool - but considering how hot it can get in Bali, it is great to just dip in and relax with a cool drink to escape the heat, and stare out across the valley. We also loved having a place to play with our son, who had a great time splashing about.

The only real negative point we have is that mosquitoes could be a problem - but obviously for us with a baby we were more concerned with that than most, and the hotel does go at length to minimize the impact of mosquitoes so this is more an observation than a criticism - generally we were not bothered by them. That being said, the outdoor bathtub behind the villa has a still-water pond next to it, which we did find was where the mosquitoes were congregating, even if the water was treated to prevent them from breeding there.

Overall, we'd highly recommend staying at Komaneka at Tanggayuda to anyone - even those with infant children.

Room Tip: Valley Pool Villa 108 is as far south as the villas go, and I believe is thus the most private, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    92
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
106
717
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The rooms were outstanding. We originally booked a 'standard' room, which was very spacious. Huge bed, lounges, private courtyard and gigantic step in bath in a large bathroom. We were then upgraded to a private villa which was just amazing. Deck chairs beside our private plunge pool and a MASSIVE Balinese day bed beside the pool. It had a fabulous marble bath filled with frangipanis. The service here was incredible. Everything is done with a smile and every staff member had learnt our names. There is an afternoon tea served by the infinity pool that overlooks lush rice terraces. It is about a twenty minute drive into Ubud, but the regular shuttle buses made this trip smooth. There is a basic gym there with a treadmill, bike and some weights - a great way to start the day before lounging around the pool. The restaurant is well priced and serves delicious meals and awesome cocktails. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ubud and can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Komaneka Tanggayuda for six nights in February in a Valley View Pool Villa. Villas 105 and 106 have absolutely stunning views and are highly recommended! We stayed in 105 - stunning views over the valley and rice terraces.

The staff here are lovely - friendly, accommodating and will learn your names as soon as you arrive to check in.

The welcome gift and farewell gift are a lovely touch.

It is a little outside of Ubud centre (10-15 minutes), however, the hotel's shuttle is more than sufficient to get you to and from at any time of the day.

A couple of things that could be improved are consistency with both room service and housekeeping. Attention to detail is lacking a little in this property.

Room service food is good but not great. It would be helpful if salt, pepper etc is provided when dining in your villa - these are provided sporadically, but not on every occasion. However, the staff are more than helpful if something is missing - again, I can't state enough how lovely the staff are.

Housekeeping arrangements are a little odd - sometimes they come, sometimes they don't and we discovered that we had to continuously ring for towels, toilet paper, water etc because no-one was coming to do our room. I am still confused about the housekeeping arrangements in this property.

There are also lots and lots of bugs and insects which is of course, understandable considering the location. Except efforts should be made during turndown to perhaps mitigate this in the rooms through mosquito coils or bug bombing the rooms in between guests. There were a tad too many cockroaches in the room for my liking. Again, coming back to housekeeping, when we resolved the bug issue ourselves, the dead bugs were not swept away when housekeeping did randomly come to clean our room.

Our pool was also not cleaned during our stay....I can only compare this to the pool villa we stayed in the week previous in Seminyak where housekeeping were unbelievably good in both making up our rooms daily and turndown at night. The pool was cleaned daily with chlorine levels checked twice during our six night stay....this did not occur once during our visit to the Tanggayuda. It was nice to clean a bandaid off the base of the villa's pool....
Again - attention to detail.

The spa at the hotel is lovely. I visited three times for 1.5 hour massages - bliss.

All this considered - I would've given this property five out of five, except housekeeping and overall cleanliness of the villa let the Tanggayuda down a little. This aspect does need to be improved.

The staff are amazing though and the location is superb in terms of views.

Regardless - Did I love it here? Yes. Would I return? Absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable 2 night stay in a pool villa for the various reasons:
1. Great service: quick, helpful, welcoming, thorough service. From front desk receptionists to the shuttle bus drivers to the room service staff, everyone spoke good English and tried to address our requests from making un scheduled stops on the shuttle to bring us closer to our destinations, to changing the fruits on the daily fruit plate because they weren't to our taste.
Location and room: 15 minutes ride away from central Ubud, the resort was really tucked away from the hustle and bustle and set the tone if our very serene break. The pool and our room had a view out to lush greenery and distant paddy fields, and the only noise we heard throughout our stay was that of birds and insects. The resort, though small had decent amenities like a nice looking spa (we did not avail ourselves of the services even though a 15 minute welcome massage was offered at check in), a small fitness room with newish equipment, a gallery, library and dining areas. The villa was large and comfortable, and our favorite spot was the poolside pavilion where we ate breakfast and lounged the day away. Some improvements could be made however, like having bedside controls for the lights.
The little extras: the hourly shuttle service to ubud and back, complimentary tickets to the interesting Neka Museum, delicious fruits and cookies in the room, a yummy cake to commemorate our anniversary etc were all the little touches that made our stay feel extra special.
Would not hesitate to return or recommend the property to those who are in search of peace and pampering!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Komaneka at Tanggayuda is absolutely amazing and one of the best places iv'e stayed at. The valley pool villa was sooo nice! Above all the staff are so friendly and makes you really feel at home! The small things like the fantastic afternoon tea with the small lovely tastings of Balinese pastry to the beautiful oillamps put out in the garden each evening - this is what a relaxing place should be like! Perfect location in the countryside still with Ubud easy to access via the shuttle! I so hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in this lovely, relaxing, remarkable place for 5 nights on our honeymoon in January 2012.

It's located 10-15 minutes outside of Ubud town in Tanggayuda village, surrounded by picturesque jungle and rice terraces. The neighbourhood itself is well worth an explore, and i'd highly recommends the several hour trek offered by he hotel, which will give you a glimpse into the lives of people in the area.

To the resort itself - the stunningly welcoming and helpful staff are the place's best asset, and will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We stayed in a valley pool villa - spacious, clean, nice furniture, awesome bath, nice waterfall feature at the side. Having your own pool is a real treat (though the larger shared pool is equally pleasant, has a great view and was never occupied by more than a couple of people while we were there.

The breakfasts, which you can have in your villa or in the restaurant, were terrific - large choice of western and local flavours, feel free to mix and match as you wish. The gym is adequate, if you feel like some exercise, and there's a small library if you're in need of something to read. The spa is also top shelf - good massages, good sauna. Much more expoensive than those in town, but you pay for privacy, convenience and quality - in our mind worth it, at least once or twice.

Lots of extra details, like the two men playing the gamelan each evening in the resort grounds, made our stay even more special.

We can't wait to return to celebrate an anniversary in the future, and would love to bring our extended families too so they can see what we have been raving about!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Komaneka surely does know how to spoil you and make you feel super special. Everyone here knows your name and even offered to buy us food at the market.

From the very first foot stepped into the location till they all line up n gave us water for our return trip, we kept saying wow!!!

They even clean our car! And gave us pressies at the end.

Even the concept of the resort are not as luxurious compared to others, but every bit are very well thought of, personal and special. The wood carving guru even told us that the gondola we were in was built in the fifties with an antique wood carved garuda. It was actually at the owner's house but he has a better one at home. He also let us take home our wooden turtle we made.

Food was average but very generous. Privacy is great but could be improved abit, since you can heat your neighbour talking.

View and villa was breathtaking and super relaxing.

This hotel is probably the best hotel ive stayed at and more importantly very very special for a honeymoon traveller like us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Tanggayuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.