We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Tanggayuda to your Saves list
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT US$300NET
Ranked #3 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in this lovely, relaxing, remarkable place for 5 nights on our honeymoon in January 2012.

It's located 10-15 minutes outside of Ubud town in Tanggayuda village, surrounded by picturesque jungle and rice terraces. The neighbourhood itself is well worth an explore, and i'd highly recommends the several hour trek offered by he hotel, which will give you a glimpse into the lives of people in the area.

To the resort itself - the stunningly welcoming and helpful staff are the place's best asset, and will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We stayed in a valley pool villa - spacious, clean, nice furniture, awesome bath, nice waterfall feature at the side. Having your own pool is a real treat (though the larger shared pool is equally pleasant, has a great view and was never occupied by more than a couple of people while we were there.

The breakfasts, which you can have in your villa or in the restaurant, were terrific - large choice of western and local flavours, feel free to mix and match as you wish. The gym is adequate, if you feel like some exercise, and there's a small library if you're in need of something to read. The spa is also top shelf - good massages, good sauna. Much more expoensive than those in town, but you pay for privacy, convenience and quality - in our mind worth it, at least once or twice.

Lots of extra details, like the two men playing the gamelan each evening in the resort grounds, made our stay even more special.

We can't wait to return to celebrate an anniversary in the future, and would love to bring our extended families too so they can see what we have been raving about!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    92
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
107
723
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Komaneka surely does know how to spoil you and make you feel super special. Everyone here knows your name and even offered to buy us food at the market.

From the very first foot stepped into the location till they all line up n gave us water for our return trip, we kept saying wow!!!

They even clean our car! And gave us pressies at the end.

Even the concept of the resort are not as luxurious compared to others, but every bit are very well thought of, personal and special. The wood carving guru even told us that the gondola we were in was built in the fifties with an antique wood carved garuda. It was actually at the owner's house but he has a better one at home. He also let us take home our wooden turtle we made.

Food was average but very generous. Privacy is great but could be improved abit, since you can heat your neighbour talking.

View and villa was breathtaking and super relaxing.

This hotel is probably the best hotel ive stayed at and more importantly very very special for a honeymoon traveller like us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I will give my best recommodation to this hotel. We stayed at a Valley pool villa, with a nice view to the valley. High service and breakfast- lunch and dinner was very good and not very expensive at all. If we come back to Ubud this will be used again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

In March 2012 we visited Bali for 14 days, of which wa stayed 3 days in Komaneka Tanggayuda.
Our "room": 8by 5meters big, wunderfull bed, TV, saloon, private swingingpool, etc .. Every day fresh (exotic) fruit in the room. Private chauffeur and guide. One evening we had a romantic diner at our private pool, with private servants. Unforgetable!

Room Tip: The room further away from the public swimmingpool are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I had an amazing start to our Honeymoon at Komaneka at Tanggayuda. The villa was a delight and we could have not wished for more. But, at Komaneka at Tanggayuda, the staff takes care of even the slightest detail and need. They printed a vegetarian menu just for my wife, as during a conversation they came to know that she is a pure vegetarian. Every thing was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

There were only 20 villas in Komaneka at Tanggayuda so service was extremely personal. We had a personal assistant Kartika who would take care of everything within and outside of our villa. She could arrange where we want our breakfast (restaurant or room), arrange for activities including whitewater rafting, biking tour, cooking classes etc. We don't have to talk to different people.

Every staff in the hotel seemed to know our itinerary and program during our entire 4-day, 3- night stay and would keep checking to see that everything is in order. There must be some handing over during shift changes, much like what nurses do in the hospitals!

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary so we enjoyed the little touches e.g. welcome gifts, a pair of swan figures on our bed, an anniversary cake, personalized letters from the manager, farewell gifts etc.

Other reviewers have commented on the rooms, meals, facilities etc. I do agree that our valley pool villa was nicely decorated and well equipped. Frogs croaking and cicada "singing" at night did keep us up on the first night but it was a matter of getting used to while living so close to nature. Breakfast included a variety of set menus from local to international and it was pretty adequate for us. The gym and spa looked a little small to us and we didn't make use of them.

Nevertheless, the main draw of this place -- and the main reason for the success of this place -- lies in the service provided by the staff. I also forgot to mention that the housekeeping team was awesome. The room was always cleaned up while we were having breakfast. Extremely quick and efficient. And we had never seen them throughout our entire stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent the first half of our Bali holiday at the Komeneka, we originally chose the hotel based on the fact it was close enough to Ubud to get around easily and yet far enough away to be away from the hustle and bustle of tourism. We hit the nail on the head with our choice, the location of the hotel is amazingly peaceful and quiet. From the point of our arrival right through until our departure, the staff were attentive and so very polite, without being in your face every five minutes. By the end of the first day of our stay virtually every member of staff knew both of our names.
The quality and cleanliness of our room was beyond reproach, it was spacious and light, but could be made dark enough to allow for those late holiday sleep ins. Our villa came with a pool, which fitted the purpose perfectly, I have read one complaint on this site complaining about the size of the pool, I am not sure what this person wanted, perhaps an Olympic sized pool?
We had breakfast at the restaurant every day and were more than happy with the quality and freshness of the cuisine offered. Dinners were split between the restaurant and the local Ubud eateries, again nothing but praise for the service and quality.
Sometimes the staff did struggle with the language barrier, however, perseverance and some patience soon resolved this minor issue.
If you are planning to visit, the free afternoon tea provided near the main hotel pool on a daily basis displayed many many different flavours, the portions were large enough for a snack without impacting on our dinner and it was free, every day!
Whilst everyone has different tastes and likes in accommodation, we would highly recommmend a stay at Komeneka, it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Tanggayuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.