We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terima Kasi ! Thanks for our incredible stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Komaneka at Tanggayuda to your Saves list
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT US$295NET
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Ubud
Dendermonde, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Terima Kasi ! Thanks for our incredible stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

In March 2012 we visited Bali for 14 days, of which wa stayed 3 days in Komaneka Tanggayuda.
Our "room": 8by 5meters big, wunderfull bed, TV, saloon, private swingingpool, etc .. Every day fresh (exotic) fruit in the room. Private chauffeur and guide. One evening we had a romantic diner at our private pool, with private servants. Unforgetable!

Room Tip: The room further away from the public swimmingpool are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    90
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
103
705
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I had an amazing start to our Honeymoon at Komaneka at Tanggayuda. The villa was a delight and we could have not wished for more. But, at Komaneka at Tanggayuda, the staff takes care of even the slightest detail and need. They printed a vegetarian menu just for my wife, as during a conversation they came to know that she is a pure vegetarian. Every thing was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

There were only 20 villas in Komaneka at Tanggayuda so service was extremely personal. We had a personal assistant Kartika who would take care of everything within and outside of our villa. She could arrange where we want our breakfast (restaurant or room), arrange for activities including whitewater rafting, biking tour, cooking classes etc. We don't have to talk to different people.

Every staff in the hotel seemed to know our itinerary and program during our entire 4-day, 3- night stay and would keep checking to see that everything is in order. There must be some handing over during shift changes, much like what nurses do in the hospitals!

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary so we enjoyed the little touches e.g. welcome gifts, a pair of swan figures on our bed, an anniversary cake, personalized letters from the manager, farewell gifts etc.

Other reviewers have commented on the rooms, meals, facilities etc. I do agree that our valley pool villa was nicely decorated and well equipped. Frogs croaking and cicada "singing" at night did keep us up on the first night but it was a matter of getting used to while living so close to nature. Breakfast included a variety of set menus from local to international and it was pretty adequate for us. The gym and spa looked a little small to us and we didn't make use of them.

Nevertheless, the main draw of this place -- and the main reason for the success of this place -- lies in the service provided by the staff. I also forgot to mention that the housekeeping team was awesome. The room was always cleaned up while we were having breakfast. Extremely quick and efficient. And we had never seen them throughout our entire stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent the first half of our Bali holiday at the Komeneka, we originally chose the hotel based on the fact it was close enough to Ubud to get around easily and yet far enough away to be away from the hustle and bustle of tourism. We hit the nail on the head with our choice, the location of the hotel is amazingly peaceful and quiet. From the point of our arrival right through until our departure, the staff were attentive and so very polite, without being in your face every five minutes. By the end of the first day of our stay virtually every member of staff knew both of our names.
The quality and cleanliness of our room was beyond reproach, it was spacious and light, but could be made dark enough to allow for those late holiday sleep ins. Our villa came with a pool, which fitted the purpose perfectly, I have read one complaint on this site complaining about the size of the pool, I am not sure what this person wanted, perhaps an Olympic sized pool?
We had breakfast at the restaurant every day and were more than happy with the quality and freshness of the cuisine offered. Dinners were split between the restaurant and the local Ubud eateries, again nothing but praise for the service and quality.
Sometimes the staff did struggle with the language barrier, however, perseverance and some patience soon resolved this minor issue.
If you are planning to visit, the free afternoon tea provided near the main hotel pool on a daily basis displayed many many different flavours, the portions were large enough for a snack without impacting on our dinner and it was free, every day!
Whilst everyone has different tastes and likes in accommodation, we would highly recommmend a stay at Komeneka, it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spend a couple of days with my family at this hotel during my stay in Bali. Its excellent. Great unique rooms that fit perfectly into the Bali atmosphere. Great pool with view over the rice terraces. Great service and food. Just a nice unique place. Very recomendable

One tip:

Do the guided walk through the rice fields !! Definetly worth it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We are so pleased that we have stayed in this outstanding villa for 2 nights. We were really welcomed and greeted by the Komaneka team upon our arrival. Our personal assistant Tika accompanied us to our villa with offering detailed intro. of the room. Then a welcome afternoon tea set in Balinese style was sent to our room. It was exotic and delicious. By the way, please do enjoy the freah and yummy chocolate homemade cookies, they are kept in the jar on the wooden table. The staffs are super attentive and helpful. Though this hotel is not located at the center of UBUD, please do not worry the transport as they offer free shuttle bus service to the center and monkey forest. You could have a very lazy breakfast in either your room or the restaurant. It is not traditional buffet. Instead, the breakfast is served by sets with serval options such as Baliness style, Komaneka style and traditional western style as well. As for the villa, everything in the room is just exquisite as Komaneka is a brand which strongly links with Balinese arts. Also there are some magazines and books about UBUD and arts in your room. When we were leaving for Jimbaran, the lovely staff JJ arranged a very responsible driver for us so that we could save our luggages in his car when we were having lunch at Three Monkeys. More importantly, we were very surprised that Komaneka presented two nice packed gifts to us before we got on the car. My only regret is that we have not live the UBUD with Komaneka for long enough. Komanka has totally exceeded my expectation and we have been really taken good care of by the great Komaneka team. Must say, Komaneka is idyllic and it truly represents the soul of UBUD as well as the kindness of Balinese people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

*** Please visit my blog for the full review and A LOT of photos! http://thehustleblog.com/2013/01/13/rtw-to-bali-so-long-hyatt-hello-komaneka/

Komaneka at Tanggayuda is one of four Komaneka resorts in Bali. We picked the one at Tanggayuda because it was just outside the craziness of the city, yet only a 10 minute drive away.

When we arrived at the open air lobby (just about everything here is open), we were greeted by the front desk concierge and a very friendly bellman.

Check-In

Like the Hyatt, we were brought cold scented towels along with welcome drinks.

Sariti, the concierge, told us she would be also our personal assistant for our 5 day stay. Our bags were already on the way to our room while we relaxed and waited.

When she was finished checking us in, the concierge asked to show us around the resort and then to our room.

The Facilities

Sariti walked us around the lush grounds, showing us the infinity pool, the cafe that overlooked it where we could take complimentary afternoon tea, the spa, and the restaurant.

During our stay, we took advantage of almost all the on-site amenities and they were all great.

Also, surprisingly enough, they weren’t overpriced like we’re used to when staying at luxury resorts.

The infinity was absolutely breathtaking. It overlooked a valley and a span of rice terraces along a hillside.

Our Valley Pool Villa

Let me tell you, we don’t stay in luxury rooms very often. Regardless, this room completely blew us away.

In addition to all the awesome amenities pictured, Komaneka also offered free WiFi that was fast and no extra charge for ordering room service.

The Food

The food here was generally better than the Hyatt, but the Hyatt did have more variety.

Here at Komaneka, there was only one restaurant for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service. The menu wasn’t too extensive so we didn’t eat there often; we were busy in Ubud most days.

What was nice is that every room rate at Komaneka seems to include breakfast and you can choose to eat it in the restaurant or in your room, for no extra charge.

Food prices were just as fair as the Hyatt, nothing even close to what we’re use to overpaying in America.

Staff & Service

The staff is what you’d expect from a resort with only about 20 villas… extraordinary.

We were always greeted formally by name. Every staff member we interacted with asked if they could be of service and then wished us well.

If Bali Hyatt had an amazing staff, Komaneka at Tanggayuda’s staff was out of this world.

In particular, our personal assistant, Sariti, was a delight. She told us about the activities we could set up through the resort.

Normally, we wouldn’t think to do anything through the resort, but with this level of service, we figured we’d give it a shot.

We took two excursions - Trekking and Biking. Sariti was our guide for both and she was really informative and genuinely friendly. It felt like we were just hiking with one of our friends.

Overall Impressions

Overall, our stay at Komaneka at Tanggayuda was perfect. It was even better than stays at highly rated luxury hotels earlier this year – St. Regis Princeville & Four Seasons Maui.

The location is great because it’s a 10 minute car ride outside of Ubud, which can get crazy. We liked having the option of getting out of the city and relaxing.

We tried hard and we couldn’t think of anything less than stellar about our stay at Komaneka. Even the price was affordable. While more expensive than the Hyatt, it was still cheaper per night than both our stays at the two aforementioned hotels!

The only negative was that we only stayed there for 4 nights!

Room Tip: Room 108 is a Valley Pool Villa and is very private. Far away from the public infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Komaneka at Tanggayuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Tanggayuda

Address: Banjar Tanggayuda, Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komaneka at Tanggayuda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Komaneka at Tanggayuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Ubud, Bali
Komaneka At Tanggayuda Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komaneka at Tanggayuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.