We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ubud Village Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Ubud Village Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan raya Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed for 7 nights in a Garden Villa, utterly beautiful. The villa was completely sealed off from the outside world giving us amazing privacy and peace. Utterly wonderful to get out of bed, plunge in the pool then lay on the day bed to dry off!

On our first night, we had dinner in the restaurant which was exceptional and provided great views of the resort, pool and gardens, in the morning, we were blown away by the view from the second floor breakfast area. The breakfast was really good and the staff were happy to adjust choices as needed, always willing to oblige.

We felt very safe and secure, with a wall all around the villa, lock on the gate, doors etc and an in-room safe.

The shuttle service was really useful and the drivers really helpful, happy to drop you at your destination on the route. The restaurant recommendations (thank you Piki) were excellent and we enjoyed every meal.

The staff and service were wonderful and provided the best level of care, really allowing us to relax and enjoy the resort.

Only a couple of minor gripes:
1. I hate traveling to a foreign country and being quoted in US dollars, which is then converted to Indonesian Rupiah at the time of payment at a rate well above any published rate. The restaurant menu was in Rupiah and yet the services such as massage and spa were quoted in USD?
2. Similar to previous comments, staying in a 5 star resort, I do not expect sachets of Nescafe and creamer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    77
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
76
303
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

After the reviews, I was really looking forward to our stay at Ubud Village Resort and Spa. I have to admit, I was somewhat disappointed.

The villas are beautiful, but ours needs refurbishing. Mostly, the air conditioning was not strong enough. As you can imagine, Bali is hot, hot, hot. And I just couldn't cool off at that property. Dining was great, but outside, so also hot. I needed a very cool room to go home to. Not to be.

The furniture outside needs replacing. The wood decking was worn out. The lighting in the bathroom was very bad.With just a little money, this property could be spectacular. Did I mention the private pool? The outdoor shower? The outdoor tub? Really nice, but I was just hot.

The spa is great. The food was also great.

The staff are amazing. Specail regards to Piki and Kama who did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

When we walked into our villa it definitely had the wow factor. A plunge pool all of our very own, flat screen tv, four poster bed and a wonderful outdoor bath. The villa had a modern Balinese aesthetic that was very nice. It was an oasis away from the craziness of Ubud - 'taxi taxi TAXI?'

We stayed in a villa overlooking the garden/rice paddies/restaurant and the view was very nice when we weren't lazing around on the bed. Only real negative worth mentioning is that the tea/coffee facilities are very mediocre. Sachets of Nescafe and creamer dont shout 5 star to me. Perhaps coffee plungers/coffee pots and fresh milk (or UHT) should be made available so guests can enjoy a nice cup of coffee in bed?

The people working here are nice. However, at times genuine smiles were few and far between. We were also taken aback about the gentle interrogation about our plans on a couple of different occasions - and felt it wasn't just idle curiosity or interest in what we were up to. It wasn't a good feeling at the time and it still leaves a bad taste.

Saying this, we hung around the restaurant/garden the next day (late flight) and the staff took good care of myself and Mr Josh! Also having the luggage room was very handy. Another plus was that we able to access the regular free shuttle service even though we had technically checked out.

Breakfast was pretty good, an a la carte menu with about 5-6 different options. I must say though I prefer a buffet breakfast (I like to eat a lot of fruit). The view from the top floor of the restaurant was spectacular - overlooking rice paddies and the grounds. The grounds themselves are well kept and allow for sweeping views. The pool looked pretty good too - although we only used our private pool to swim in. Oh yeah, they provide free afternoon tea between 4 and 5pm which was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel/resort/spa offers something very different in the atmosphere and the service absolutely eclipses that of all other hotels in the area of Ubud. The owners have produced a luxury hotel but maintained the warm & accommodating feeling throughout which is found only in a genuine Balinese environment. The grounds, which are free to wander, offer the typical village life with an abundance of genuine coconut trees and once again, the owners have not spared the gift of intrigue for visitors to enjoy sitting and contemplating or meditating in the small bale bengong (pavilions)situated around the gardens. The food is absolutely devine - leave room for the delicious desserts!! I will definitely return to this haven of Balinese life.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the coconut palms - garden side for a peaceful sleep and stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

2 nights just spent at the Ubud Village Resort & Spa just wasn't enough! The service was outstanding and the villas were stunning. The whole resort is so spacious that you feel very secluded and peaceful.. I definitely recommend this resort as an escape from the hussle & bustle. Many thanks to the staff who made our first stay in Ubud a memorable one!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is easy to see why this report appears in the 2013 edition of the Conde Nast Traveler magazine. A secluded location five minutes out of the main area of Ubud set amongst tranquil rice fields.

The large villa's are tastefully decorated with comfy king size beds, TV & entertainment unit, desk, gazebo and marble bathrooms. Best of all the villa's feature an additional outdoor bathtub and shower area. A real highlight when staying in a private resort such as this.

Even a stroll through the property to the restaurant for breakfast or casual dining area for afternoon tea & coffee is a relaxing and memorable experience.

The reception staff are the icing on the cake. Reception Manager Adi went out of his way on several occasions to ensure everything was fine. He even suggested a couple of restaurants in town that were spot on. Adi - you made our stay just that little more special, so thank you!

A truly wonderful resort and an experience that is going to take a lot to beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and i recently travelled to Bali for our honeymoon and stayed at the Ubud Village Resort and Spa.
We were picked up at the airport in Denpasar by our pre-arranged driver and after just a little confusion about where he was supposed to take us which had me a little worried we eventually ended up at the right place. Right from the very beginning of our stay we were blown away by the beauty of the resort and the luxury of our villa.
We were staying in a garden view villa and even though this was the cheaper option of the villas, never once did we feel that we were not as valued as if we had stayed in one of the more expensive rooms.

We loved the resort so much that for the first couple of days we simply did not want to leave there and it was a struggle to go away from our luxurious room and explore UBUD and the rest of Bali.
We did end up exploring in Ubud and we loved the ease of which we could catch the shuttle bus into town and back again with it dropping us right in town and if we were the only people on the shuttle, we had the option of being dropped anywhere we liked.
I do have to mention, one day we were waiting in town to get a shuttle back tot he resort and were informed that it was running late. 15 minutes after the shuttle should have arrived we were informed that the shuttle got a flat tyre and that one of the hotel employees would drive us back to the resort in a different resort car. We were very appreciative and had a great chat with this hotel employee. Thanks!

The food was amazing, with a huge range available we were always able to find something to our tastes and breakfasts so filling i almost skipped lunch most days as i was still full!

A couple of days before heading home I developed what some may call the dreaded 'Bali Belly" (not from food at the resort) and the staff were very good in trying to be useful. I was not hungry so the staff would bring eextra water bottles to ourroom and small soups to encourage me to get better which was really nice. They offered to call a doctor as well but as i felt bad but not that bad i refused the offer. The staff were very accomodating and we were both very sad when it came time to leave.

One small issue we had was that our ceiling fan in the bedroom did not work. It did not really bother us so we did not complain about it. The air conditioner cooled the room down very well and took the humidity out of the room well.

Room Tip: We had the cheaper garden view room and i loved it, Would not bother to pay more for a different roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ubud Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ubud Village Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan raya Pengosekan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ubud Village Resort & Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ubud Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ubud Village Hotel Ubud
The Ubud Village Resort And Spa
The Ubud Village Resort & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ubud Village Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.