We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the beginning of July, and regretted not staying for longer!
This hotel is situated about a 5-10 minute car journey out of the centre of Ubud (slightly too far to walk). Don't let this put you off though - the hotel have a very efficient and reliable free minibus service to transport guests to the centre of Ubud and back.
The rooms were large, clean and beautifully designed with balinese furniture, and a small balcony overlooking the padi fields.
The staff were very attentive and it seemed like nothing was too much trouble.
What we particularly enjoyed about this hotel was the attention to detail and customer service - for example serving complimentary afternoon tea where we had lombok coffee and banana fritters, and delivering the delicious breakfast to the room because we were leaving before breakfast in the restaurant began.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    168
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
205
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive initially due to the distance from the town centre. We booked after reading previous reviews and were very happy with our choice.

The location is about 10min drive out of Ubud centre, the hotel supplies an on call shuttle and driver service between 9am-10pm - you can book a return time or use a phone in town to call when you want to come back to the hotel - In town we tended to ask restaraunt, cafe, shop staff to use their phones after we made a purchase of course, it would have been a good idea to have organised a sim card to use in Ubud but for our 4 night stay it hardly seemed worth it initally, half way through the stay with average of 2 trips to town a day - it probably would have been worth it.
A suggestion of pure extravagant convenience would be for management to have a selection of cheap phones for guests to take to town for use to text or call for pick up - however I can see how this could be taken advantage of/misused by naughty guests making distance calls.

The room was large, the ceiling high, the bath huuuge!! As 6 foot + tall people we were able to have a bath, quite a novelty that shorter people probably wouldn't quite apreciate haha. The bed is comfy with mosquito net attached, the aircon made short work of the heat despite the large size of the room. The balcony view 'rice terrace field' is lovely the area was plowed up during our stay to prepare for the new crop to be planted - I can imagine the view would be spectacular when full lush and green.

The food - breakfast is ordered the day before and you book in the time you would like to eat, in the restaraunt or your room - there are ample choices from traditonal Indonesean food to western options including full cooked breakfast, pancake selections, crossaints etc - all served with choice of juice and coffee/tea/hot choc. afternoon tea is included each day in the late afternoon a nice surprise, if you have the room in your belly from all the other gastronimic delights Ubud has to offer. We had dinner here on night 1 as we arrived late, and this was affordable, fresh and tasty also.

The service, was wonderful. Always smiling, polite staff who take the time and effort to remember your name and go out of their way to greet you and welcome you from arrival to departure.

We would reccomend this location, and stay here again in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

If you don't mind staying further away from the Ubud city centre with no restaurants or drinking place (except for the hotel restaurant and room service), this is a nice hotel to stay in. We stayed in a studio room for 2 nights and had a great experience. You can see paddy field in front and behind our hotel, fireflies at night (we missed it but other hotel guest told us that she saw it) and you can cycle for about 15-20min using the hotel's bicycle (free of charge) to watch Kokokan (heron) coming back to their nests at Pentulu village. The hotel staff is helpful and we had breakfast in the room instead of the restaurant and the breakfast is quite nice. They provide free shuttle to the city centre (upon your request) and you can SMS or call them to arrange to fetch you back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berschweiler germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed June 2014 & this was a great place. Staff was always warm and welcoming. Loved the free shuttle service into town. Nice cool rooms after hot days of shopping. Delicious breakfast and afternoon tea. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Would definitely stay here agsjn

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great stay. Everything comes together, perfect symphony.
One of theh major and best things is the attention to details.
Highly recommended. Also amazing are the rice fields. To ubud there is a shuttle bus or you can rent a
Motor bike and to some sight seeing. The motor bike is the best solution. Enjoy!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have one word for the staff and management at Junjungan Ubud - AWESOME.

We were a group of 2 families with very young children and the staff made our stay as pleasant as was possible.
The rooms were HUUUGE, the view was beautifull, the aromatic oils helped keep insects away, the FOOD was amazing.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and considerate.
We were to arrive by a late flight from Singapore, and on calling the hotel enroute, the reception advised us on their own to pre-order the food as the kitchen closed at 10pm.
When we reached the hotel, all famished and tired, we were immediately served hot dinner, even though the kitchen staff had left.

I wish them all the best and i hope that in my next trips to Bali i stay with them again.

Room Tip: Savah 5 has a huge Double Queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

One should never stay at Junjungan Hotel and Spa for this most obvious reason: Once you stay there, you will feel like the rest of the hotels that you stay at in future pale in comparison. Your conversations will always revolve around "Remember those days we spent at Junjungan..."

1) Location
This place isn't located in Central Ubud. It's quite a distance from there. But no worries, because there is a free shuttle service anytime you want it (from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m.). The shuttle service can drop you anywhere in Ubud- they provide a map and as long as the place you want to go to falls within that area, they can drop you there. Whatever time you want to get back, just let them know and they will pick you up at three convenient locations. The shuttle service takes around 10-15 minutes to reach central Ubud to the hotel, so it doesn't take much of your time away from exploring Ubud.

2) Room
There were only a few rooms located in this beautiful property. The rooms were spacious, lighting was a little dark though. Bed was comfortable. They have this area where you can use to enjoy your afternoon tea. Free afternoon tea from 3-6 p.m. There was a big bathtub, towels etc. provided.

You wake up to rice fields- now that is something you can't find everywhere. We spent mornings watching some ducks waddle across the fields and spent the nights looking up at stars in the night sky and fireflies darting across the dark rice fields. Complete with the faint croaking of frogs as it accompanies you into dreamland.

Cable channels available. There was also a range of blu-rays for you to choose from- Eat, Pray, Love was there on the list given that Elizabeth Gilbert spent some time in Ubud.

3) Food
The first day we arrived here, we were served free tea time which consisted of banana coated with a deep fried batter. It was then drizzled with chocolate sauce.

We spent our first night having dinner in the hotel restaurant because we were too tired to venture out. When we first arrived at the restaurant for dinner, we were the only diners and wondered, "Oops, is the food here bad such that no one's here?" Our worries were unfounded because the food here was decent. We had this entire place to ourself for quite some time and it felt like we had a private dining experience.

The Nasi Goreng Seafood (around Sin$4) was decent- distinct rice grains, not too oily with some prawns and fish.

For breakfast, you have to order a day in advance so that they can prepare it and serve it when you want it. Breakfast comes with a variety of fruits, hot chocolate/coffee/tea and a main course.

Food was okay, they probably don't do their Western fare as well as their local fare. But it was good enough in any case.

4) Amenities
They have a small swimming pool, not big enough for you to swim but probably for you to spend your afternoon lazing around.

The thing I like about this place is that they provide bicycles for free and the bicycles are in pretty good condition. We took the bicycles to ride around the place in the morning and it was a good way to start the day. Some slopes around so it can be a little tiring to pedal up these slopes.

Only downside was that wifi was a little spotty.

5) Service
Finally, the part I want to rave about.

Their service has spoilt me rotten and I give full them full marks for their service. Everyone here is polite and friendly. They even remember your name and greet you when they see you. But above that, they go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one.

When we reached this place, it was past 6 p.m. That means that tea time was over. But in any case, one of them arranged for the banana fritters to be served to us even though they didn't need to.

When we were going to trek Mount Batur the next morning and told them we weren't having breakfast, they offered to pack breakfast consisting of assorted bread just so that we wouldn't be hungry. We had to leave the hotel at 2:30 a.m. Guess what they said, with a smile, "No problem." And indeed before we left, their staff were standing there, ready with our packed boxes.

Two thumbs up for the wonderful staff here!

6) Price
For all that wonderful things above, how much did we spend a night? Sin$130 a night. Now, how's that for a fantastic deal?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.