We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings about our stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“mixed feelings about our stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we had really high expectations about this hotel because of all the glowing reviews and while there were a lot of reasons to love it here, there were also a few disappointments. yes the welcome is friendly and Siwi, the housekeeping staff and breakfast staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. there were a couple of front desk staff that didn't seem to have the same genuine hospitality. we also chose here because we thought it was suitable for children. unfortunately there are some safety issues that made it a little harder to relax with young children. very high walkways/ balconies with long drops and railing with large gaps between or only a couple of wires running across meant we had to be on high alert. the koi pond in the breakfast area is nice but with slimy moss around the edges was very slippery. for 4 days out of our 7 day stay the pool was out of use as it had gone green from not being cleaned on time. not great after walking around hot ubud all day. having shuttle lifts to and from town was good as its too far to walk and we knew this when booking. some of the drivers are free lance and weren't always keen to drop off and pick up where or when you asked so we sometimes felt like we were imposing even though it clearly says on the website and reviews that its part of the service. we had to take turns going into town to visit day spas whilst the other stayed with the kids. we did try the spa in the hotel a few times to avoid having to travel back & forth so much but unfortunately the standard just wasn't as good as the spas in town. one time our driver didn't show up (the hotel did reimburse us the taxi fare) and a couple of times he was quite late. one time he was sitting out the front having a cigarette at the same time he was meant to be picking up my partner. we had an appointment booked in the spa as well as dinner reservation so I rang front desk to ask why he hadn't left yet as I could see he was still there but he stayed for another 5 minutes to finish. not the best attitude. we were also asked to keep our 4 & 6 yr olds from running or jumping on the wood floor as it echoed downstairs. that was interesting as our room was above the staff room and we never let them run on the verandahs because of the danger factor. still cant work that one out.now for all the wonderful things about this hotel. as mentioned certain staff were lovely the whole time. amazing location with beautiful scenery. great big rooms with balcony views over the rice fields and large bath to relax. yummy breakfasts ( my partner said the best brekky in bali). we did enjoy our stay and for the most part were made to feel very welcome ( thank you to Musgi for the drawings you gave the kids. we still have them). apparently they are expanding and improving some facilities which would be something to look forward to next time. by then the kids will be a bit older and we can really unwind and enjoy all aspects of the lovely junjungan even more

Room Tip: upstairs has nice high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    180
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
265
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in late November and just adored our stay. Our room was huge with a giant bed and very tall, pitched ceiling. We were most impressed with the fantastic staff who went out of their way to learn our names and are so friendly and charming. The breakfast is excellent and we ate in dinner as well in the restaurant at least two of our nights during our stay. We also had massages two different nights and thought they were good, definitely a great value for the money-$20 for a 90 minute massage. The hotel itself is beautiful with intricately carved wooden doors into every room; it felt very Balinese. It is about a five minute drive outside of Ubud, which I quite liked. They have a van that will take you into town and pick you up at no extra charge. Be sure to call about an hour in advance if you want to be picked up during rush hour as traffic in Ubud as really bad. If you're going to Ubud, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I found this hotel from TripAdvisor two months ago when I started to find the hotel for my Bali trip with my friend. The hotel is not far away from Ubud centre but it is very quiet. You will stay close to nature. Fresh air, no noisy sound, no distracted light at night, rice paddies and FIREFLY!!!

We booked via agency in Thailand and we got the upper floor room which is very high ceiling making more comfort. Staffs here have great service mind, we very appreciated.

In the room, there are bed, closet, hair dryer, safety box, 2 bottle of complimentary drinking water, fridge. Moreover, we enjoined with PS3, DVD Blu-Ray movies with a LCD TV.

The balcony, we very impressed the awesome view of rice paddies. At night we sat down and looking out through rice paddies everything was dark and we noticed that there were a group of fireflies blinking their light in the dark.

Bathroom was cleaned, in addition, bathtub was very big. They provided bath foam, shampoo, soap and other necessary stuffs such as cotton bud, toothbrush and toothpaste.

Restaurant was very great. It is located downstair. We had breakfast and dinner there. Actually, the hotel provided free afternoon tea but our program was tight and could not meet the afternoon tea time. So, we didn't try it. Breakfast was serve with selected choice (1 of 11 sets) prior one night before. I tried Nasi Goreng (Indonesian fried rice) serves with plate of fruits, hot coffee and watermelon juice. The food taste was awesome and very delicious. Mineral water was free and you can refill it during your meal. Staffs at restaurant was nice and helpful.

You can drink beer here with reasonable price that same price at supermarket in the centre. They provided free peanut for every dinner.

Moreover, they provide free bike cycle and shuttle bus to Ubud city centre. you can hop around junjungan village. Houses here are totally difference from Kuta are.

So, if you like peaceful, impressive surrounded Hindu culture and architecture, try here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester by the Sea, MA,US
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It is hard to know where to begin........, maybe with the greeting at reception, the lovely deluxe room, the peaceful environment, the awesome view of the rice paddies, the excellent spa services (at amazingly inexpensive prices), the included breakfast, the afternoon tea. And I loved the house music so much (it is a local musician, playing contemporary Balinese music), that I bought the CD's.
But really the most special element at the Junjungan Hotel was all of the fantastic staff I interacted with. Truly one of my best hotel experiences ever. Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the staff were very accommodating.

The location is about a 5 minute drive from the City Center.The shuttle is free to use up until 10pm, which most businesses are closed by then. You can call down to let them know you need the shuttle or just walk down, most of the time we waited at most a couple of minutes. Getting back to the hotel is just as easy.

The surroundings are beautiful and we had a view of the rice paddy from our balcony. There is also a stream that runs under the hotel, which is nice when eating downstairs.

The room was pretty big with a single bed. The bathtub is huge and deep, as I am 6'4" and could actually lay down in it just about completely underwater. The hot water lasts for about 1 full fill of the tub before you have to wait for more hot water. There is an LCD TV with PS3 for entertainment. I could only find a few English channels, and we watched the History channel mostly while relaxing in the room. The lobby offers a good selection of PS3 games and Blu-Ray movies. The games were up to date and the movies were in a good range. They don't immediately give the PS3 controller, so don't forget to ask when picking up a movie.

Every single staff member was very curteous, always with a smile, and tried to help however they could. They always asked to choose our breakfast when we got back from town. And the breakfast is a great selection. It ranges from pancakes with ice cream on top to fried rice. There are enough options. And they give a choice of fruit juice and a nice selecting of mixed fruit. Later into our stay we found out we could have it brought up to the room for no extra cost.

Everyday the room was cleaned, bed was made, and a note left on the bed with a sheet of paper to fill out for any comments. We didn't see any bugs. Though there was an invisible bug that would bite us from time to time. The bed has curtains to help along with a device used to help repel mosquitoes. There is even a device you can pour a few different flavor liquids in to help the room smell even better.

The wifi was sort of spotty, but always worked at a decent speed to figure out where we were going next. And inside the menu in the room, there is the list of movies and games as well as tours and massages. She got a massage at the hotel which wasn't much more than the top rated spas and she said it was very good. The hotel tours were just a little more than hiring your own driver. About $5-10 more for the entire day. Prices overall for food, beers, or any extras besides breakfast were very reasonable, as we were so exhausted we did order dinner in one night. Across the street at the little convenience store I could buy a warm large beer for $3 or get a cold one for about $3.50 at the hotel.

We did take a tour using the hotel and our driver, Putra was cool. He was talkative and informative. His English was good enough, though he said he knew Japanese and was normally taking them on tours. We were taken to a few of the different shops/factories in different villages and he told us just look don't buy. We asked to see another and he said just look, again. We learned the drivers are on commission with the different shops, so it was nice to know he was giving us a heads up beforehand. Or maybe he wasn't hooked up with those shops? Either way it was still interesting to check these places out.

The atmosphere is very inviting. And it felt like most of the occupants were couples. The way the hotel is run and where its located is pretty romantic after all.

Someone was complaining about how their eggs were made, sunny side up. I don't think all the cooks know how to make this. My girlfriend walked back up to our room while this was happening and saw on the lobbies computer screen dozens of pictures of what sunny side up eggs look like. She decided to order those the next day and they came looking perfect. I don't expect world class service from this type of hotel, but the little things like she saw in the background show what the staff is doing to fix an issue, and really impressed me.

For those wondering how to get back from the City Center. The hotel gives a little card that you can show any of the restaurants, cafes, etc. and they will call the shuttle for you. Very easy and no need for a cellphone.

When we go back to Ubud I don't see a reason we wouldn't come back to this particular hotel. Travelling around the world, this has been one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We managed to stay at this hotel out of our 6 days visit to Bali. We are glad we make the right choice.
Junjungan Ubud is a nice boutique hotel in the middle of paddy field. Instead of seaview or garden view for most of the hotels, this hotel provides the magnificent view of the paddy field, with occasionally ducks (bebek) crossing the field. So lovely!
Furthermore, the check-in process is efficient and within minutes, a refreshing drink was being served.
As for the breakfast, you have 11 sets of choices to chose from. Simple and nice.
If you wish to enjoy the sunset of the field, the hotel does provide bicycle for you to paddle along the narrow roads. A free shuttle can be arranged for ubud town shopping.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

What can I say, it was a fabulous stay!!! I stayed in the suite.. They really pay attention to the details! They are really attentive to all our needs!!! Though it’s very secluded but yet you have almost everything in the room. They have good TV with various channel. They have WIFI, though you might have to find a good spot to get great signal. Mine was at the corner of the hall. Most awesome is they have PS3, it was raining during my stay in Ubud, worry not, if you are stuck in the hotel, you can rent blu ray DVD FOC! As mentioned in every previous comments. It’s the service that will blow you away apart from the serenity of the place, the room, the quietness!! Every time you rang them, they will be at your door within seconds. There was this one time, my husband request for a FIFA CD (game) but it couldn’t be played and we thought “owh, nevermind, it’s ok since it can’t be played, Also, because they have been very attentive to every request so we guess why not just let it go this time and just enjoy the rain or another movie” …. But after half an hour time, suddenly the staff appear and bring another set of PS3. He said it can’t be just let go, they must make sure the CD can be played! And yeah, the rest of story… my husband was hooked in front of the TV playing that FIFA game for the rest of the day! LOL

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.