We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graciousness of staff unparalleled in this calm oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Graciousness of staff unparalleled in this calm oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a work conference in July, and chose the hotel based on reviews. I was not disappointed. The staff are amazing, one felt like a very honoured person throughout the stay. My room (2) was huge, with an emperor sized canopy bed, huge vaulted ceilings ( i am talking two storeys high) and small balcony. I loved all the use of wood. There are usual features, tv, minibar etc but i didnt pay much attention to them. The bathroom is ok, with a minor issue being probably Ubud-wide. However, I wasn't here for the bathroom. The mattress was great, and the quilt excellent. Lighting is a bit dim with various lamps and so on casting a lower light than we are used to back home. The location is great, about 5 minutes drive (or a fun cycle on the free bikes) from the centre of town, and beyond all the Ubud madness. Rooms look out on rice paddies, and are incredibly quite, despite proximity to the road. Lovely choice of breakfasts, with a fruit platter accompanying western dishes. The best feature is the staff, they are kind, courteous, and would do anything for you. Some have worked here over 10 years, giving an indication of loyalty to the place! Would happily recommend, and come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    180
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
265
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently spent three wonderful nights at the Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa. Furnishings are excellent and the views from the room wonderful. Food was very good including breakfasts. I would generally prefer not to have to choose what to eat and at what time the night before, however.

Staff are welcoming and helpful. The hotel is about 4 KMs out of town which makes it much more relaxing and you can enjoy the beauty of the surroundings. A shuttle van is available at all times to take you in to town and pick you up. We made use of it on several occasions.

The rates were a little high for us as we needed an extra bed for our daughter and there is sizable charge for this, but it was in the high season, and I believe rates may go down in low season.

Pick up from the airport was nicely done and the rate was very affordable.

On Mondays you can visit the local dance performance which is a short walk away.

Overall we had a very nice time at the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Junjungan is well located amidst the rice fields, and there is a natural water body flowing 24/7 in the premise of the resort, very warm and humble service provided, rooms are very ecofriendly, and beautiful, very traditional, the manager and all the staff very efficient and graceful.
Siwi who is the manager went out of her way to make my wife feel at home when she was not feeling well due to the journey stress, very personalized attention was provided. Also prompt delivery of our desktop connector that was left behind due to oversee, very commendable!!

I recommend this hotel for all those who like this kind of an ambience.

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice and large with a nice addition of a Japanese low seating room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We chose you go back in Ubud for our last night in Indonesia and we chose to stay amongst the rice fields. The photos cannot do justice, the hotel was beautiful and the surrounfigs are just out of a postcard. It was a cery peaceful and serene stay. The river runs thru the hotel so you fall asleep to the sound of water, you wake up to the wonderful views of rice fields while anjoying a yummy breakfast. It cannot get any better. We took a one hour walk thru the village and peeked thru the yards, it was such an idylic setting. After staying in 11 different hotels in Indonesia we could not find a better hotel to end our trip.
Staff was very nice and helpful plus the room decor was nicily done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at the Junjungan Hotel and Spa for 2 days and I really felt that you cannot wish for more. We got a good price for a very large double room with a balcony overlooking the beautifully serene rice fields. The food was good and came a t a really good price. I also had a full body aromatherapy massage, which was really relaxing, the massage therapist was excellent. But more than anything, the Junjungan has the most amazingly helpful, friendly and service minded staff I have ever come across. I have stayed in other hotels in Bali, and everywhere service has been good, but here they really go the extra mile to help you in any way they can, always with a smile and with such kindness. They also treat you to little things that make your day really special, like serving you tropical tea (ice with lots of chopped fruit) when you are lounging at the pool. Ubud is a nice town, but really the experience is to be found just outside the town in places like Junjungan, taking a bike ride and long walks around Ubud, was really the highlight of the Ubud experience. Which makes Junjungan the perfect place to stay when you are in Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Darlington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Most recent reviews point out the key features of this hotel, about 3km north of Ubud - and after a week there we endorse the positive comments. The outstanding feature is the service provided by the staff. Since leaving Ubud we've had a couple of nights in Amed and are now in Sanur in pretty good places, but we keep thinking back to the service at the Junjungan. The staff mostly remembered our names, nothing we asked ever appeared too much trouble, and we were able to get a free ride into town a couple of times each day, and were collected exactly as arranged. Whoever is looking after the staff there must be doing a great job because the staff do a great job of looking after the guests. A small hotel, in a nice location, great value for money, and the best service we've experienced in Bali - including at establishments three times the price. A three to three and a half star property with five star service. Great base to explore Ubud and surrounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very good hotel outside the village of Ubud. Staff was great too, very warm, welcoming and friendly. They have a shuttle service that will take you to the village. Rooms were spacious and cool, some will say dark, but we liked that. We loved the fresh flowers that were put everywhere. Our room had a lovely rice paddy view from the balcony. Breakfast and other food were very well prepared. They have a free afternoon tea with delicious snacks. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa

Address: Junjungan Ubud, Jl.Tirta Tawar km.3,5 | Br. Junjungan, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#31 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junjungan Ubud Hotel Ubud
Junjungan Ubud Hotel And Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.