We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite modest but ok for a last-min choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pande Permai Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pande Permai Bungalows to your Saves list
Pande Permai Bungalows
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monkey Forest Street, Ubud, Bali 805371, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 134 Hotels in Ubud
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quite modest but ok for a last-min choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We booked a room at Nick’s Pension several months in advance, they lost it, then managed to find us a rooms and finally on the day of our arrival told us we should stay in another hotel for the first evening, so we decided not to bother with them any more. At the airport we checked the available hotels at a travel agency and picked Pandi Permai with the clear understanding that we should lower our expectations to match a last-minute available budget hotel.
Considering this, altogether we were satisfied. The room, the bathroom and the balcony were huge and clean. Towels were stained but the bed linen was clean. We were given toilet paper however bought our own shampoo and soap. Breakfast was rather basic but sufficient.
Did not see any rats unlike some of the other unfortunate reviewers, but found out that a lizard lived in the air conditioner.
Staff were polite but asked for 300 000 rupee for a transfer to the airport while my finace managed to get a taxi for 200 000 in the street.
As the hotel is very close to the Monkey Forest , every morning of our stay, about 5 -6 am, there was a monkey “raid” - they swarmed into the garden and played around. It is fun watching them and I take this as an advantage of the hotel but it is not a good idea to leave your balcony doors/windows open. We suspect they could be entering the swimming pool as well as they are used to bathing in a fountain in the Forest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    12
    16
    22
See reviews for
7
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We have been in this hotel in 2005. Hence our second visit. What a huge disappointment!
We were staying in a so called suite but without a single appropriate amenity. The bathroom looked very luxurious but at the end you can only use it as a hand shower.
No complimentary mineral water. A badly placed television with only Indonesian snow. Intimidating monkeys sh**ing on our terrace. And on top of this, the swimming pool turned completely green because the filters were not functional.
Mediocre breakfast buffet with nothing. Dirty tables.
Noisy construction workers all day long.
At the end, we have paid USD 300 after insisting on discounts of USD 80. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We booked in advance, big mistake! The room and the bathroom were dirty. Bad service, there only interested in money and the outside of the hotel, but inside it's horrible. Bad breakfast, very poor.
Stay away from there !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

1) Rats in the room
2) The worst manager I've ever met, treating her staff and guests like dirt .
3) Suddenly no water and el.
4) Poor breakfast.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Went there with a travelling group - therefore no own choice - but reviewing the comments I expected the worst and was surprised about the spacious rooms surrounded by green jungle but in the center of Ubud.
Comment of our guide: there are different categories of rooms. Try and get a room with ample balkony from which you can survey the monkeys from nearby monkey forrest. Go to the Warung Ayan in an only 5 minutes walk for delicious food in a lush green garden. Or enjoy a professional massage for only 5 EUR in the Shangri La massage studio located in a little street next to the Lotus Lane Restaurant.
Good place to start shopping in Monkey Forrest Road.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

For 25$ is ok, no more.
Noisy. b-fast is very poor. bathroom tub leaking. towels always missing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

never, never, never stay here.... price/quality is very bad.
1. tiles in the pool cause scratches and cuts.
2. breakfast is very, very poor.
3. no satellite tv if work at all.
4. Curtains are dirty and many of them no able to use properly.
5. Toilet paper, soap and towels often not in the room after cleaning. When asked for it seems too much for the owner to give them
6. outside staircases become very slippery when wet.
7. very unfriendly, not ready to help owner.
8. Monkey's over all the place because of the location of the hotel, which is next to the monkey forest. This sounds as fun, but those little basterds become very aggresive if they don't get your slice of bread.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pande Permai Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pande Permai Bungalows

Address: Monkey Forest Street, Ubud, Bali 805371, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pande Permai Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Pande Permai Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pande Permai Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Pande Permai Hotel
Pande Permai Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pande Permai Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.