We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Bali to your Saves list
Viceroy Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Pay 3
Ranked #7 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We was at this fantastic hotel July 2014, and it was a true paradise.
The best hotel we have ever styed at (and we have visited some).
The villas (not rooms) is... in a lack of Words - perfect!
The hotel service was very good, all smiling a willing to help.
They have free airport transfer, free transfer to ubud, free wi-fi every.
And the restaurant served fantastis food. Some of the best we have ever had!
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    52
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
333
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you really want to rest and renew yourself, you should come to Ubud. We selected Viceroy due to amazing comments in tripadvisor and now i understood why people like this hotel.
First of all, hotel has an amazing arhitecture, they considered every detail even while constructing. We stayed in villa and it was so comfortable and had amazing jungle view. you can just sit, rest in a small sitting area in the balcony and sleep while listening birds and other sounds coming from the jungle.
Restaurant was amazing. i am impressed by the chef. i tasted many dishes there and all were amazing.
All people working there were very nice and talkative but they dont bother you too.
Only one negative thing that i can say (but this is not their fault) is that you shouldnt forget you are in the mountain. Although Viceroy thought every details and took actions but nevertheless, you can easily see some small (not dangerous) animals like lizards or ants. i think you need to consider that we are their guest in their jungle.
This hotel is not cheap but definetly value for money!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

A glimpse of paradise in bali! Stunning villas with a picturesque backdrop of looming palm trees and families of monkeys. The staff and facilities are extraordinary. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Well, what can I say... words cannot express how you feel at Viceroy Bali. It is just amazing. We are just back from our honeymoon and I have never felt so relaxed!

Our days started with a beautiful breakfast and an awesome view. We basically had everything on the menu on the last day! The yoghurt and sumbawa honey was my favourite. We spent days in our private pool and balé spotting monkeys in the valley across! Sometimes we ventured into Ubud itself. We noticed a lot of guests came for a short time and went on to somewhere else in Bali. We spent two weeks in Ubud at the Viceroy and we are so glad that we did. Ubud is so beautiful and even though there are lots of tourists, it does not feel too "touristy". Then in the evening we went to the bar for cocktails at sunset looking out to Bali's highest peak.

We took a day trip one day with the wonderful Gama. This is totally worth it. He is great fun and very informative. He made us appreciate the Balinese culture even more. He also picked us up and dropped us off at the airport (a real luxury service) so he really became a good friend.

All of the staff became like family there. I have never seen such extreme team work before in every process, from cleaning the room to presenting breakfast.

We had some lovely dinners at the hotel including one romantic candlelight dinner (they know how to do honeymoons!). The chocolate fondant is a must for chocolate lovers... I had it every time! We also had a great couples treatment that I would totally recommend near the start of the holiday to get you on track for pure relaxation!

I really cant say enough about the place and we would definately go back there again. Our dreams really did come true.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I has stay there for 2 nights and it is not enough. We have booked ourself onto the Garden Pool Villa Room. The Ubud area is nice and not so busy as the nua dua area. (Although on the first day arrival, it takes us almost 1.5 hour to reach there because of traffic jam and the distance).

We have tried to use all the hotel facilities including the swimming pool, gym, reading room, the restruant, spa but most importantly the room and bed is fantastic and it would be so relaxing. The staff are all friendly greeting us and try to bring the details well thought. They have decorated the room as honeymoon couple with welcome cake and also flowers in our own bath.

We also tried on the last day to go for a half day tour and to our suprise the visit to rice paddle, volcano, trying out the bali coffee and tea is all amazing and well arranged. The weather in Bali is quite unpredictable but still we do have a few sunshine and the experience is great!

We would sure re-visit this hotel in future. (Stay in July 2014)

Room Tip: Definitely remember to choose the delux pool villa which would be nice and fantastic to have a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Viceroy Bali in Ubud is an amazing place to stay. It is a place where things are done with perfection.

Viceroy Bali is tucked away in the jungle with peaceful surroundings and stunning infinity views. Our villa itself had a super king sized bed with the best linen bedding imaginable, a perfect spacious bathroom, a large outdoor seating area and an awesome infinity pool overlooking the valley with a beautiful Bale to lounge. It was probably one of the best setups I've ever seen. The amenities were top!

The food in the restaurant was excellent. I was lucky to meet the Chef - Nic is his name - in person to congratulate him. As this stay was an engagement stay, (luckily she said yes) Nic made a special and unique tasting menu with all the dishes my fiancée loves. This dinner was served in the privacy of our villa and now destined to be one of the most memorable nights of our lives.

All the staff are very accommodating, helpful, efficient and kind. Anything you asked was done in the blink of an eye. Several of the hotel staff remembered our names and greeted us throughout the day when we passed them. It made for a magical atmosphere.

Viceroy Bali is a sight to behold and you really hate leaving for any reason; however, sooner or later you have to come back down to Earth.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are private pool villas so I guess they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our family recently completed our second stay at the Viceroy. We simply cannot speak highly enough about this resort. As a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 teenagers) we took 2 Deluxe Terrace Villa's, parents in one and children in the other. The Villa's are separate so provide privacy and are connected via a large door in the outside courtyards. We would thoroughly recommend this setup for a family. As usual the rooms were absolutely immaculate with everything you would want at your fingertips. The beds are huge and very comfortable. Since our last stay in 2012 the food at Cascades restaurant has got even better. Breakfast is great and dinner was absolutely superb. We ate dinner at Cascades each night for the 3 nights we were there and were blown away each night by the presentation and taste of the meals. Another really great part of a stay at the Viceroy is the staff. Without exception staff members are polite, always willing to assist, like to get to know you as a person / family and seem genuinely pleased and privileged to be part of the Viceroy 'family'. We also had a number of very interesting chats with Otto, the owner of the hotel and very much appreciated his hospitality. Aside from the great rooms, spectacular food and the staff the highlight of the stay was a bicycle ride, hosted by one of the staff through the beautiful Ubud country side. We rode through villages and rice paddies, seeing a side of Bali that was special and different to the usual tourist sites. We would recommended making this a must on any visit to the Viceroy. So......all up another great stay at a truly wonderful resort....we would recommend Viceroy with hesitation to anyone thinking of staying.

Room Tip: There are only 25 Villas, all are very private with great views. If the pool in the villa is too co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyBali, Director of Sales at Viceroy Bali, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks to you and your family for staying with us again, I'm glad your second stay was just as enjoyable. All our staff endeavour to make the Viceroy feel like a luxurious home away from home.

When booking as a family we have two options: the 2 adjoining Deluxe Terrace villas or the 2 bedroom Viceroy Presidential villa. The biggest difference between the two options is that the Presidential Villa has a large garden and common lounge area between the two bedrooms however the Deluxe Terrace villa pools are heated and (as you mentioned) can be separated for greater privacy.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Ubud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#6 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Luxury Honeymoon Hotel' in Asia, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the centre of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves French cuisine with an Asian twist and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Escapio, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.