We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Bali

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I have never been compelled to review a place on Trip Advisor before but my stay was so amazing it deserves the praise after our 6 night stay.

The Viceroy is where I chose for my honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect. I would highly recommend it for a honeymoon, getaway, or rejuvenation trip.

- the property is stunning with amazing architecture and every detail thought through.
- you are surrounded by tranquility
- the food was amazing. We had reservations booked in Ubud but canceled all but one night because we enjoy staying on the property and enjoying the food.
- the staff was extremely kind and accommodating. Wonderful service!
- I am not positive but I think they said the place was 75% full and we felt like we owned the place.
- we recommend the sunrise volcano hike (early wakeup but worth it) and the massages are amazing

If I was to complain about anything it would be that there isn't another Viceroy in another part of the world. I would definitely travel there.

We followed our stay at The Viceroy with 4 days in Phuket on the beach and it was the perfect compliment to our stay at the Viceroy.

Thank you Viceroy!

David C.
USA

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    47
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
276
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

What an amazing place! The attention to detail unsurpassed -- from the beautiful stone & woodwork down to the in-room amenities. Staff were lovely, food superb, owners were absolutely delightful, architecture and landscaping stunning & the views into the jungle were spectacular. From our terrace, we could see monkeys swinging through the trees! We spent HOURS on the balé and in the private pool (not wanting to leave our fabulous room, except of course for a luxurious spa treatment)! I gush… but for good reason. Can’t wait to book my next holiday here.

Room Tip: Deluxe terrace was perfect -- spacious, quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is without a doubt the best Hotel in Ubud! The Villas are amazing and beautifully Conceived, The view is stunning, The food is first class Cuisine that any Chef in Europe would be proud of and the Service is friendly with great attention paid to detail. I would reccomend this place to anyone looking for a touch of class and a romantic setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Can't even begin to tell how great this place was! We had the deluxe terrace villa and it was stunning, breathtaking and luxurios. The restaurant food was the best we ate in Bali! The service was prestigious and you couldn't ask for better! Will be back here for sure! Wish it was a little cheaper but well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I planned an extended 5 week trip from NJ to London, then Singapore, Phuket, Bali then Paris before returning to my home in The Garden State. After a week at the W Hotel in Seminyak we headed to the Luxury enclave of The St. Regis Bali. from there we decided to change the scenery all together and spend 2 glorious nights high above the rice fields at the Viceroy in Ubud. The property shines with exclusitivity from the moment you approach the private road to the resort and pass the Viceroy's private helipad. Even though we arrived by private car service and not a Helicopter we were greeted with the utmost joy and courtesy. The extremely attentive staff and front office manger quickly escorted us to our villa perched high on a cliffside with dramatic views of the rice fields and river far down below. Its a magnificent view and very tranquil, serene environment. The villas have their own very private infinity pool overlooking the cliffs. The pool area is adorned with Balinese statues and and lounge chairs. It is pure luxury in a palace like setting. This is the absolute perfect addition to any trip to Bali. There is no other choice of lodging in this area of this caliber. The Bali Zoo and the Monkey Forest are both very close. In addition Ubud is a artists town full of shops and cafe's and paintings. It is a fabulous town and definite place of interest that is not to be missed. although it is a short 1 hr drive from most Resort hotels , a brief one or two night stay here is very relaxing and enjoyable. The rooms are pure luxury, the food is impeccable and the service is exemplary. Take my advice..you will be happy you you did.!!

Room Tip: All rooms at this luxury villa property are great. Tip...check out Luxurylink.com, they often list t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed there for 7 night the service was top rate .
The villas was wonderful large and airie massive bath rooms and a beautiful pool.
The staff were very attentive and friendly thanks tutut for our bike ride and rice paddy treck.
If you very go to Ubud the only place to stay is the Viceroy .

Room Tip: all room have a great aspec
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

As you pass the helipad you're greeted by a wide open lobby and smiling faces. Then you can call for a golf cart and driver that is happy to take you to your room. And this is where privacy & luxury meet. Your own private beautifully landscaped courtyard. A bedroom surrounded by glass on three sides opens to your courtyard. The bed is a grandiose oversized king fit for a fairy tale. The room is extremely large and spacious.
Looking out at your own luscious courtyard with personal infinity pool is calming. Little hidden nooks of relaxation within the courtyard are everywhere.
The entire bathroom area is outside, but still under the courtyard half covered roof. The actual toilet area looks through a glass area into a private atrium. The octagonal (big enough for 4 ppl) shower with multi-jets soothes every ache. But do not dismiss the spa because you will miss heaven. The spa experience is indescribable. No words do justice. Just do it!
The main pool is worth a visit for sure. A huge infinity pool falling into a distant jungle landscape. You will wear the paint off your camera's shutter button here.
The food... Let's just say they brought the fine dining experience of Paris to Bali. With lime sorbet between courses to cleanse your palet. Simply decadent. Even the flat rocks you step on situated in a trickling stream to get to your table is gorgeous and soothing as is every thing here. Elephant riding, the monkey forest and craftsman are just some of the once in a lifetime treats. Clearly this is one of the most beautiful and luxurious places on this earth. Last but not least, have your breakfast delivered directly to your room. You will love it. Our tour driver "Ma-day" is the BEST! Ask to visit the restaurant overlooking the volcano past the rice terraces and his favorite restaurant for "Bobbi-guling" (phonetic spelling). Your tastebuds will scream in ecstasy.
On the fence? Don't be. This place is somewhere you'll never want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Bali

Address: Jln. Lanyahan, Br. Nagi, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#42 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Bali 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viceroy Bali recently won 'Best Luxury Honeymoon Hotel' in Asia, it is a family owned and operated resort conveniently situated five minutes from the centre of Ubud and features 25 luxuriously appointed one and two bedroom private pool villas, CasCades fine dining restaurant which serves French cuisine with an Asian twist and the Lembah spa which has a variety of traditional Balinese and international treatments. The Viceroy Bali is a sanctuary in paradise and offers complete privacy with breathtaking tropical valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Bali Ubud
Viceroy Bali Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.