We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Villa in Ubud , Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Shanti

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alam Shanti
Save
You added Alam Shanti to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 135 Hotels in Ubud
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Villa in Ubud , Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Alam Shanti's environment is fantastic and it is so natural. Besides that, their service is also excellent every morning they will serve breakfast for us and when they see you they will greet us and they are very friendly...Alam Shanti's service is the Best...we are very appreciate the workers there ...... we love it

Room Tip: Choose the room that has your own garden it is perfect........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    80
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
133
272
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is fantastic. We stayed in the Gangga room, which is on the top floor and has a private pool and after 4 nights did not want to leave. The ratio quality/price was off the roof, good service, super beautiful room, great breakfast by the pool or on the terrace. This is THE place to stay in Ubud hands down.

Room Tip: Gangga room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Alam Shanti was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Beautiful hotel in an amazing location with impeccable service, a green attitude and you are supporting a local owner! A friend and I stayed in gangga room, which we highly recommend. It is on the second floor, private and comes with its own pool.

The grounds: wonderfully maintained, gorgeous and provide ample space between accommodations to make your space feel alone and private. Gangga room looks out onto the rice fields- serene and amazing

The room: much more beautiful and upscale then the hotel website makes them look like. I was concerned the room would be more rustic than I would like, but was blown away. The room is beautiful- with marble floors and gorgeous furnishings and two outdoor showers- still looking authentically bali with wood carvings and hand done furniture. Private balcony that faced the rice field with couch and table, where we ate breakfast every morning.

The location: for us, perfection. Just outside the main drag of ubud, so it was quiet and made us feel like we were in the middle of no where, yet less than a 10 min walk away from everything...and the walk is a pleasant stroll through monkey forest. We enjoyed walking into town everyday.

Service: amazing. Always ready to help or do anything. Breakfast in our room was prompt, polite, delicious and delivered each morning by gracious employees. We needed help calling drivers and arranging activities and the front desk staff always helped and took care of things. The "shuttle" to ubud they offer is really a private short distance driver- they will drop you anywhere in ubud or pick you up from anywhere in town with almost no notice.... Get tired of walking and just want a ride home? Just call the hotel and they will send someone! I don't know anyone else who offers this for free and it was so great.

Spa: while pricey for bali, the 23$/hr the hotel charges at the spa is so much more than worth it. The very best massages we received in bali! Professional, amazing, clean, quiet and better than many massages I have has in the US. You get what you pay for in bali, if you want a remarkable massage- come here.

Green:
While allowing you to keep your towels and linens to save water, this hotel also gives you bottled water and then offers you refills in the main lobby. This saves a ton of plastic- yay!

Downside: the ONLY complaint we had, was not exactly the fault of the hotel. The people in the room below us the last two days had a toddler who literally screamed for hours the first day they arrived while they took over the pool, which really made it hard to enjoy the quiet wonderful ambiance of our room. Our thought, that maybe because of the serene nature of the hotel- maybe having the hotel discourage guests from bringing really young kids.

Room Tip: Gangga room is on the second floor, totally private and has its own huge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just left after 4 fabulous days in this Balinese oasis . Setting is gorgeous overlooking the jungle and monkey forest. Service over the top, food from the Wayan Cafe delicious . Every detail of the impeccable grounds , the decor of the villa and ambiance was fantastic !! I'm coming back here! Located walking distance to monkey forest and free shuttle into Ubud. Put this on your must see! You won't be disappointed . Enjoy!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at Alam Shanti for one week after three weeks of scuba diving in Indonesia. It was the perfect place to recuperate and prepare for the long journey back to the US. The staff are very accomodating, the rooms are beautiful and the food is great. We went to the spa twice and found the massages to be excellent and inexpensive. The shuttle service is responsive and free - we used it three times to go into or out of Ubud. It was an easy walk to Ubud through the Monkey Forest which is nearby Alam Shanti.

Room Tip: We were in Dewi - it felt like a tree house with its large patio and day bed on the second floor. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Peaceful with an amazing staff with the ability of being there when needed but always showing respect for privacy. Breakfast served in beautiful spaces when and as you wish. Situated in a serene Ubud outskirts with zen like gardens and a private spa with inexpensive treatments. Beautiful rooms with huge bathrooms and open views. Speaking only of the Saraswati room I have never stayed in a suite with such area and outdoor beds to read or nap in on the private terrace. A pleasant walk to Ubud past the Monkey forest or a frequent shuttle available free. Return pick up from anywhere in Ubud. (We mostly walked) this stay is memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in at Alam Shanti and in retrospect wished we stayed there for our entire trip to Bali. Ubud is central to the entire island, making excursions anywhere relatively easy. Alam Shanti is located on Monkey Forest Road, and it is literally a 2 minute walk to the Monkey Forest. You can either walk through the Money Forest to get to town or take the hotel shuttle, which runs frequently. Our beautiful and spacious villa, called Purwati, had a picturesque view of rice paddies and a nearby farm. Everything about the experience was perfect. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and went out of their way to ensure our needs were met. Our room was massive and had a nice patio where we enjoyed an amazing breakfast every morning in the backdrop of the rice paddies. There was an outdoor seating area adjoining our room where we would sleep outdoors or read while enjoying afternoon tea served by the hotel staff. The room had lots of closet space so you can fully unpack and feel at home. The A/C kept the room nice and cool, though we often left the screen door open to take in some fresh air. The bed had a wrap-around mosquito net, so you could sleep easy. We decided to pamper ourselves each day at Alam Shanti's luxurious spa - which I highly recommend. One day our villa was raided by several monkeys from the nearby Monkey Forest who came down from the roof while we were eating breakfast. I didn't quite know how to react, so I simply yelled for security. Within seconds the guard and some staff came with brooms and drove the monkeys away. Later, more monkeys came while I was working on my computer outside, but emboldened by what I witnessed earlier, I chased them away with a chair. The hotel staff said its not a regular occurrence, so no need to be on edge if you are staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alam Shanti 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Shanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.