We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped for in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Shanti

Save Saved
You added Alam Shanti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 119 hotels in Ubud
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in the Laksmi room, the ground level of the Garden House (I think). Everything was really great. The staff was very helpful, from arranging drivers, scheduling tours and cooking classes, bringing tea and breakfast and poolside drinks. They also have a complimentary shuttle to and from the central market area of Ubud.

Breakfast had many options, but I really enjoyed the muesli and the black rice pudding. The fresh juice is also delicious.

I think one of our favorite things about Alam Shanti was how quiet it was. It's so lose to several restaurants, spas, shops, and the Monkey Forest, but still it was peacefully quiet. And so beautiful! Very lush, green, but full of flowers!

We really loved being so close to the Monkey Forest. Hanging out with the monkeys was probably the highlight of our trip. They stay mostly in the park area, but they're completely free to wander wherever. I didn't see any on the grounds of Alam Shanti, but there were many walking around on the walk to many of restaurants and shops.

If we were ever lucky enough to return to Ubud, we would certainly hope to stay at Alam Shanti again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    73
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
119
257
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our 5th stay at Alam Shanti. We keep coming back because the place is fantastic. The staff are friendly and always helpful. We stay in Yamuna, which is a large room and has the most beautiful outlook and private pool, which we love. We will always come back to Alam Shanti it feels like a part of us and a home away from home. Big thanks to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here one night in the Garden House Saraswati ( upper floor) room. Check in was quick and we were escorted to our little oasis. There was a large sitting room with windows throughout and a separate bedroom and washroom which had AC. We didn't have a chance to enjoy afternoon tea as we were rushing to tour around with our wonderful driver Wayan Lia. The room had all the amenities you needed but as others have noted don't leave food around due to the ants.
We phoned in our breakfast request which was delivered to our room and the table set nicely for breakfast (you can also eat in the reception area). We didn't have time to use the pool but it was very nice and refreshing looking.
The hotel is down a long laneway removed from the busy street and there is an air of serenity in the setting.
There is lots to do in Ubud, monkey forest, shops, Bali dance show (we went to an evening show)
We would definitely return if we are in the Ubud area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper floor which had a nice view...if someone had mobility problems they would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriends and i stayed here for 6 nights & it definately lived up to its 'Travellers choice' Reputation and the well deserved wraps on Tripadvisor.
Everything, location just out of the hussle & noice, with a very easily organised free shuttle in and out. Although, it is an easy walk along side the Monkey forest if you want to brave them jumping at you.. twice !!
The grounds are just beautiful, we stayed in the Gangga Room with the Private Pool, which was awesome & the staff are beautiful. Having had to rearrange our travels the reception were on and off the phone for us helping out, no problem. The balcony, comfy lounges and open air bathrooms are cool & add that wonderful special 'im on holidays' feel. Overlooking the rice paddies, this is BALI !!!
Breaky delivered to our room was great and if your around afternoon tea as well, which we had around our pool. My girldfriends used the spa on site as well & loved the massage.
Would go back in a heartbeat.... this is a real gem !!!

Room Tip: Gangga with Private Pool, large & we slept 5 no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have just come back from 10 days holiday in Bali. We stayed in 3 different hotels during our holiday and Alam Shanti is my best hotel. We stayed in Narmada room. Although there somebody stayed on the second floor room, we almost always had the garden to ourselves.
It is a little way from the centre of Ubud but the hotel shuttle bus provided rides whenever we asked for it. I asked the suttle bus to a dance performance at the Ubud palace and the driver came to pick me up after the performance, pronto.

We enjoyed the quietness (well, except the roosters in the mornings). The property was gorgeous and breakfast was fantastic. They had water-bottle refill service, which is a big plus. If we had a chance, we will come back. This is such a precious little hotel. Thank you Alam Shanti and the staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I visit Bali three or four times a year and am always looking for somewhere new to stay. I found Alam Shanti on Trip Advisor and decided to join my daughter on an impromptu 6 night holiday to Ubud at the beginning of February. We were very lucky to get accommodation at the last minute, I understand the Alam group of hotels in Ubud are booked out for months in advance. We had to split our stay into two bookings, 3 nights in Gayatri; the house in the rice fields, and the following 3 days in Narmada.

They were both excellent and both so different. We preferred our stay in Gayatri, the room was smaller and more cosy, and we loved the balcony and view out to the rice fields. Having said that, we were also ambushed by monkeys one morning and lost most of our breakfast! The staff however responded very quickly to our cries of help and continued to patrol the area until they felt the monkeys had all move away. The Namarda room was much larger, with a huge verandah, huge bathroom, an outside kitchen and a separate dressing room....we felt like we should have invited all our friends to come and stay!

The staff and service were outstanding, and they had the best shuttle arrangement in and around Ubud that I have ever come across. The pool area was beautiful and even though the hotel was apparently full, each time we swam there we never saw anyone else, so we felt like we were in our own private villa. The hotel is close enough to walk to the centre of Ubud, and far enough away to feel like you're not with all the other tourists. Take a good torch with you if you intend to walk back to the hotel at night around the monkey forest....it's dark but safe, the monkeys are all asleep.

We enjoyed this hotel so much I booked two more stays in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What an amazing experience!! Alam Shanti met and exceeded our expectations in every possible way. The location was fantastic - very convenient to central Ubud but located behind the Monkey Forest Sanctuary to create some distance between you and the throngs of tourists. The property is absolutely gorgeous, our room (Saraswati) was spacious with a fantastic balcony, and the staff is accommodating and professional to a fault. The breakfasts and afternoon tea breaks were very appreciated, and although we only sat at the pool once, it was absolutely lovely. The only complaint we had was with the WiFi - for some reason, we had to continually log in to stay connected to the network, but considering we were on it so infrequently, it wasn't a major concern. The price was very reasonable considering the value we received - we won't hesitate to book there again on our next trip!!

Room Tip: The Sarawati suite was fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Shanti 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Shanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.