We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Shanti

Save Saved
You added Alam Shanti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 119 hotels in Ubud
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

-idyllic and quiet location set amongst rice fields south of monkey forest
-10 minute walk to central Ubud
-paid US$75/night plus tax for a beautiful large room with a view if a small rice field and koi pond with a huge bathroom and felt that this was great value for two of us
-staff were great and helpful
-free wifi which is fast enough for Skype connection
-great breakfast delivered to patio at desired time 
-only gripe is that we settled for the room rate with credit card at the end and they offered a pretty mediocre exchange rate. Probably would be better off to settle in cash

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    75
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
123
257
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked this last minute and very lucky to get the Lumbug House for 2 nights.

Our own little very authentic 2 storey house overlooking the rice fields. A double bed with netting over it. From previous reviews I was expecting alot of creatures. After looking very hard, I only found 1 ghecko (In the bathroom every night) and surprisingly no mosquitoes. Did hear a few noises while tyrying to sleep and I would think "What was that", but I still went to sleep.

Breakfast was brought to us in the room at the time we chose in the morning. That was fantastic, seeing our breakfast being walked up the pathway on the head of the staff member and still hot when it arrived.

We would go out in the morning and come back to the pool in the afternoon, all to ourselves!!!
You also get afternoon coffee and cake included.
We had a couples two hour spa treatment. That was well worth the money, also received discount as guests of the hotel.

We have been to Bali many, many times and have not stayed in Ubud. It was a really nice surprise. Alam Shanti made it all the more special. Very authentic!!!! Staff very polite friendly, and helpful .

One little note to add is, the water pressure in Lumbug house is very poor as with the height of the shower head. We had to lay in the bath with the shower hose to get wet.
Something different!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second stay at Alam Shanti and one we intend to make an annual event. This time we stayed with friends for a week and took the pool rooms, Gangga and Yumana. The hotel staff could not be better and the location and setting of Alam Shanti superb with comfortable restaurants within easy walking distance (Kertiyassa Bungalows, Lake Leke including cultural shows 4 nights a week & Coffee & copper) . If you want to go further afield the drop off / pick up complimentary service works really well. The gardens are immaculate and serene. Highly recommended!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay Vic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My sister and l stayed in Indus room for 4 nights early Nov 2012. The room was extremely comfortable. There is plenty of room with a queen bed and a huge single bed. The bathroom/dressing room area has to be seen to be believed. For 2 women it was heaven with a dressing table with plenty of room for 2 and a big wardrobe each. 2 full length mirrors also. There was a bath and a free standing shower.
The service was friendly and very organized. The breakfast on the balcony such a beautiful way to start each day.
The shuttle service always reliable and great drivers on busy Ubud roads.
This is my second Alam property (stayed at Alam Indah before). The quality and calm/serenity about these places is so special.
The Alam Wangi spa delivered really good treatments in a truly beautiful environment up next to the pool. We often had the pool to ourselves. All the rooms were full l think but the place remains quite and relaxing. Loved this experience and hope to go again.

Room Tip: Air con helpful in November but when we stayed in July not necessary as much cooler and a fan was en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A lovely place slightly away from the main street of Ubud. Just take a 10mins walk pass monkey forest and you will reach Ubud town. The villa itself is so peaceful and calm. Service was great. Love the serenity around the whole resort. The free shuttle is tremendously helpful for dining out.
Well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lumbung house decorate is really nice. Especially the paddy view!!! Lie at the sofa, look at outside, is really relax n enjoy~~ Can order 1 day before, send breakfast to ur house. The breakfast is delicious, I reli like the jaffer. Staff friendly and service also very good.
Only 2 thing have to improve:
1) Room's floor not really clean, have dust.
2) And the bed can do it more clean, also have a bit dust.
Overall consider prefect!!! Keep it... Must going back in the future, and try other room type.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I did so love this place. I wish I could have stayed longer than the restful week we did.

We opted to pay the extra for the Gangga suite and were so glad we did. The private pool was such a lovely addition to what was already a wonderful experience.

The service at this place is faultless; not gushing insincere servitude as may be experienced in some hotels, but a genuine and understated desire to assist. From the moment that you are greeted at Alam Shanti with a cool welcoming fruit drink, to the moment you leave, nothing is too much trouble. They will suggest places to eat and make bookings without quibble, translating to and fro. The staff bringing the breakfast of a morning and clearing up afterwards were delightful and were integral to the pleasure of our stay.

The hotel itself is set in extensive grounds of beautiful gardens, lovingly maintained. The singing frogs and geckos of a night make it an opera!

The rooms themselves are by no means luxurious in a traditional Western sense but nor should they be; they are spacious and beautiful in an authentic way. The soaring ceiling was decorated with beautiful painting (and geckos!). Our private verandah was spacious and proved to be an important addition to our living arrangements, allowing us to read outside of a morning before going downstairs for a dip.

The view from our verandah over the rice fields, often being tilled of a morning, provided a splendid setting for breakfast. Breakfast comprised options including wafer thin pancakes -- more of a crepe -- with thinly sliced banana and palm sugar. So delicious. Juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and tea / coffee made for a filling start to the day. Afternoon tea was also provided for guests, lovely cakes and tea or coffee.

Alam Shanti Is a little out of town, about a 10 to 15 minute walk adjacent to the Monkey Forest. However, the hotel also provides a car service so if you are feeling lazy -- or merely disinclined to battle monkeys! -- you can get a car into town and then arrange for it to collect you wherever. This was a terrific way to have dinner of a night and then come home again.

All up I could not fault Alam Shanti. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. It's a magnificent property run by gracious people. I would return in a flash.

A tip: book well ahead. Thanks to reviews like this, it is popular and so it is advisable to book well ahead of travel. Also, take advantage of the car service to and fro Denpasar Airport. At $25 each way, it's a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#1 of 119 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Romantic, Bouti...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Romantic, City...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Tegal Sari
Tegal Sari
#23 of 119 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#1 of 5 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Beach, Pool, Qu...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#42 of 119 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Shanti 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Shanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.