We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alam Shanti

Save Saved
You added Alam Shanti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Shanti
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 120 hotels in Ubud
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I did so love this place. I wish I could have stayed longer than the restful week we did.

We opted to pay the extra for the Gangga suite and were so glad we did. The private pool was such a lovely addition to what was already a wonderful experience.

The service at this place is faultless; not gushing insincere servitude as may be experienced in some hotels, but a genuine and understated desire to assist. From the moment that you are greeted at Alam Shanti with a cool welcoming fruit drink, to the moment you leave, nothing is too much trouble. They will suggest places to eat and make bookings without quibble, translating to and fro. The staff bringing the breakfast of a morning and clearing up afterwards were delightful and were integral to the pleasure of our stay.

The hotel itself is set in extensive grounds of beautiful gardens, lovingly maintained. The singing frogs and geckos of a night make it an opera!

The rooms themselves are by no means luxurious in a traditional Western sense but nor should they be; they are spacious and beautiful in an authentic way. The soaring ceiling was decorated with beautiful painting (and geckos!). Our private verandah was spacious and proved to be an important addition to our living arrangements, allowing us to read outside of a morning before going downstairs for a dip.

The view from our verandah over the rice fields, often being tilled of a morning, provided a splendid setting for breakfast. Breakfast comprised options including wafer thin pancakes -- more of a crepe -- with thinly sliced banana and palm sugar. So delicious. Juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and tea / coffee made for a filling start to the day. Afternoon tea was also provided for guests, lovely cakes and tea or coffee.

Alam Shanti Is a little out of town, about a 10 to 15 minute walk adjacent to the Monkey Forest. However, the hotel also provides a car service so if you are feeling lazy -- or merely disinclined to battle monkeys! -- you can get a car into town and then arrange for it to collect you wherever. This was a terrific way to have dinner of a night and then come home again.

All up I could not fault Alam Shanti. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. It's a magnificent property run by gracious people. I would return in a flash.

A tip: book well ahead. Thanks to reviews like this, it is popular and so it is advisable to book well ahead of travel. Also, take advantage of the car service to and fro Denpasar Airport. At $25 each way, it's a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    76
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
127
260
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrnambool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We didn't stay at the Alam Shanti but we did use the spa which was lovely. It was down a little lane near some rice paddies then there were 2 beautiful free standing rooms to which my husband and I used one of them for our beautiful massage. After the massage we were taken to a little eatery near the rooms and were given tea and cake which were lovely little touches to the whole experience.Try it it is worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embsay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights here and kind of falling in love with this place. Want to stay here forever, very beautiful resort, clean and quiet. Room was big and we have our private pool, that was cool. Great service, courteous, friendly staffs, great breakfast. And one of our reason to stay here is price was very reasonable. Absolutely recommend to my friend!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just a lovely overall experience at peaceful Alam Shanti. Definitely all the great reviews are accurate concerning the quality of both the accommodations & service. The free shuttle to & from Ubud is definitely a nice perk which runs until 10PM. Ayu & the rest of the staff are knowledgeable & extremely friendly from the moment you arrive. Book your room early as they are always full due to their reputation on TA. The small, harmless geckos are visible everywhere, especially in the evenings (sometimes inside your villa). The ample breakfast is promptly delivered to your room every morning. The pool & Alam Wangi Spa are a nice plus. Look no further & book a room here!

Room Tip: Shindu is a spacious first floor villa with a an amazing bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were fortunate to stay at the Alam Shanti, in the Shindu villa for 10 days starting in late September. We loved it! The bedroom & indoor/outdoor bathroom were the largest we have ever stayed in and the grounds and gardens were gorgeous and beautifully maintained. This is a place to escape from the everyday and just relax - which is exactly what we did - with no TV/Radio or other distractions it is a perfect place 'to turn off'..

The staff were lovely and always quick with a smile, the breakfasts were good with sufficient variety, served at a time of our choosing on our verandah. The 2 storey buildings accommodate an upstairs & a downstairs villa but we never encountered our neighbours as they had their own private path & entrance. The gardens are all done by hand, including the lawns, so tyhere is nothing here to disturb the peace except the local wildlife, Everyday we would site on the deck, or recline on the day bed, and watch the birds (kingfishers, finches, honey eaters and a variety of water birds), water monitors, lizards and the ever playful squirrels. In the evening the geckos, cicadas and a symphony of frogs would entertain us.

The location is great as it is just a short walk via the monkey forest or bike path to the centre of Ubud. The shuttle bus was a bonus, especially after an evening meal at one of the many restaurants, or when you have realised that your shopping bags are just too heavy to carry back to the hotel.

A big thankyou to the staff at the Alam Shanti for a trul;ly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently stayed in the Lumbung room for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was just gorgeous. So much tranquility but also thoughtful touches of luxury. Lumbung house is a converted rice barn overlooking paddy fields a few minutes walk from reception. If you walk through the monkey forest it really isn't more than 10 minutes walk from Ubud, but the staff will happily take you into and pick you up from anywhere in Ubud you want to go, up until 10pm. The swimming pool was lovely and peaceful and I had a facial at the spa which was great.

There is no restaurant or tv so you have to come wanting to get away from it all, but the Laka Leke restaurant down the road is excellent and in beautiful surroundings. Plus there are all the restaurants of Ubud a ride away. The breakfasts are lovely and can be brought to your room, which is a nice touch.

The nightlife is plentiful but only to be expected in the Indoesian countryside! There is a great chorus of cicadas, frogs and geckos. There are of course geckos inside too as this hotel is not a sealed air conditioned box, but they help keep the insects away and are kind of cute! I didn't see any large spiders at all and mosquitos weren't much of a problem. The staff bring mossie coils every evening and we had one burning in our bedroom each night.

I would highly recommend this lovely little hotel for a spot of calming tranquility!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This small hotel is a gem. As I was travelling on my own it ticked all the boxes. Convenient, reliable pick up from the airport, in house massage facility, pool, shuttle bus into town, very quiet location, beautiful surroundings, gardens, views of rice paddies, security day and night. Staff were so pleasant and I will be back there next year. This is very much a retreat type hotel where one can really unwind without the bustle of hotels in Ubud itself.

Room Tip: I had the Parawati room. It was a little further away from the other villas but provided a more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alam Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Shanti

Address: P.O. Box 165 | Nyuhkuning, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ubud
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Shanti 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Alam Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Shanti Ubud, Bali
Alam Shanti Hotel Ubud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alam Shanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.