We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay at Kajane in Ubud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion to your Saves list
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding stay at Kajane in Ubud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed at Kajane for three nights mid-March 2009. We had the Toya villa, which is well decorated and spacious with a small private pool. The view from the villa is not that great, but if you're looking for privacy it is perfect, It is about a 5 minute walk from Monkey Forrest road, so not too bad. The villa has television, video player, a nice outdoor bath tub, air-con and a LARGE fridge outside on the terasse

When we arrived, the staff had put all sorts of toys by the pool, knowing that we would be staying with our 2-year old daughter. In short, the staff is the friendliest we have come across, and is the prime reason why we're bothering to type in this review. They would bring us breakfast in the villa every morning and promptly fix any small issues we had. This in stark contrast to some of the Nusa Dua resorts that we stayed at during the same vacation.

Kajane has bikes for free usage, there are baby-chairs in the restaurant and there is even a stroller you can borrow . They also have a free transport service to take you around the Ubud area.

The restaurant is very good. The pinnacle was the chocolate mouse/fondant, black and white chocolate half-molten, even though all the dishes we tried were very good. Again, the staff in the restaurant was excellent.

The was a small problem with the wireless internet access (free) in that it blocked a lot of pages due to an overzealous filtering program. To overcome this, simply set up your browser to use a proxy server (192 dot 168 dot 0 dot 5 at the time of our stay). The connection was fast enough to do reliable IP telephony calls.

In one of the earlier reviews on tripadvisor it is claimed that a toddler fell into a well. We asked the staff about this, and while they admitted that the well was not properly secured at the time of the incident, they claim that the child did not fall into the well, rather the father fell into the pool when trying to run towards the well when he saw that his son was in the vicinity. His mobile phone was ruined as a result of falling into the pool. While surely a very unpleasant incident, it does not justify a total slashing of the whole place and the people that work there.

We would highly recommend Kajane for a stay in Ubud, and we would not even bother looking for another place. It simply can't be much better than this!

Mimi + parents, Beijing 02.Apr.2009

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    109
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
123
384
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We just came back a few days ago from KajaNe Mua in Ubud Bali and already missed "our" little Toya Uma Villa. We were there for 2 nights and loved the layout of the hotel, location, in-villa breakfast and hi-tea, saltwater pool and definitely the exceptional service by all the staffs from all levels (even from the guards, gardeners, drivers and all of them!!).
To those planning to visit Bali, this is one great establishment to experience with at least
once in your lifetime!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at Kajane Mua Villas at the Beji Naba and it was great.
They had a great service, the staff was excellent and we loved the villa Beji Naba!!
It is at the end of the resort but it is a lovely walk towards it.
We really would like to thank the people of the Kajane and hopefully we will be back in the nearby future.

Roel&Suzanne@belanda

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Hi!Our honeymoon was planned quite in advance,and we chose to communicate directly with KajaneMua's reservation personnels than to liaise with meddlesome agents or 3rd parties.Just like anyone,we want to have the best value-and this is our 1st time staying in a luxury villa with our own private pool..And so,we were recommended the 3days 2 nights honeymoon package(US$450) with many inclusions,and perks indeed..Part of the inclusions are
a 2.5hr spa treat for us,
candlelit dinner with great food,
free trip to Neka Art Museum with our own driver in a very comfy Suzuki APV,
free pickup anytime anywhere
Free use of mountain bikes everyday(which we didint get to use,much to our pleasure)
yummy breakfasts,yummier menu with good choices
free movies
plus many more,actually..I still have the emails..
Much to my delight,we were served sooo pleasantly-through emails,even before we were there!I strongly believed that we would be served even better once there,and I was right on point!Everything was attended with a keen eye,sincere & humble ways that just touched us greatly..I come from the service industry myself,and being quite a seasoned Bali tripper,I am accustomed to fantastic customer service,giving and receiving..But nothing at all,NOTHING beats the people in KajaneMua!The villa is breathtakingly gorgeous,with views of rice terraces,and sweet aromatic flowers greeted our senses..we were welcomed by flower decoration on our bed..Quite corny(swan shaped & heart shaped),but very nice gesture.Upon roaming around the villa,I saw this beautious picture of a flower bed at the bathroom area..(with heart shape again)only to realize that its actually our nice hot welcoming bath,carefully & tediously arranged with an explosion of colorful flowers!Pretty as a picture indeed!!Glad to be fooled..Not an hour later,more elements of touch was applied as we received a hands & feet massage for 20mins with our choice of therapeutic oils..Bliss.. Well,what can i say-the times that followed were truly,immensely heavenly..My husband,till this day,cant stop raving about KajaneMua-even though we spent another 1.5week in Bali in other hotels..As our 1st yr wedding anniversary is getting near,we share an unspoken understanding of where our 1st anniversary trip will be...And for this added bond that we share,we have KajaneMua to give kudos to.We have only pictures to bear as evidence,but it does not gives full service like how we served...Absolute heaven.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Because of all the great reviews and recommendations we stayed at the Kajane as well during our stay in January 09. And the service in the hotel is absolutely great, everyone is so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much.

Maybe part of this had something to do with them not covering a well next to the swimming pool correctly so within 10 minutes after our arrival our 2.5 year old son fell in.....The well was approx 2.5 meters deep and contained water to a level of 1 meter. Thank heavens my husband was following our son around in the garden and saw everything happen. He did not hesitate, jumped in and saves our little guy. Probably because of the water he had nothing whatsoever. My husband had e few scratches and a dead phone because of the water. And we both nearly had a heart attack. How can you be so stupid as to not cover a whole in the ground but with a piece a 2mm thick carton board. The hotel admitted immediately it was a mistake which could not be made but you can't imagine what could have happened.

The hotel apologized a lot of times, offered us free massages (probably to make sure we did not sue them) and gave us a replacement phone immediately so we at least could be reached and make some phone calls. They also offered to pay 50% of the broken phone which was only 3 months old. But that was after a lot of negotiation and telling us the responsible staff had to pay for it (yep, always nice to do it that way so we, rich Westerners, feel guilty) Even if they could have killed our son.

Because of the accident I would never stay at the hotel again but it had nothing to do with the service. However, the villa we stayed in was not really the quality I expected as well: the room was a bit musty, the drain of the sink leaked so much there was a little water fall as soon as you switched on the tap. The bathroom had windows which you could open for your outdoor feeling but it looked into the back of the villa with a few plants and a lot of sand. So no outdoor feeling. The bathtub had a shower curtain which is really groce.
We walked around the rest of the resort and the villa's all look great with nice garden views, large terraces so nothing to complain. But a no go for me because of the rooms and the accident......

  • Liked — Location in town and still very quiet
  • Disliked — hazards lurking in the corners
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We loved the Kajane Villa's, we stayed in the Beji Villa with our own private infinity pool and garden. Most of the Beji Villa’s are set way back from the main road, a little bit of a hike but WELL worth it! If it’s hard for you to get around then you should go with there smaller villa “Toya”. We booked our villa with bali-tours.com - they met us at the airport, we paid them and they gave us the voucher to use for arrival at the Kajane Villa's several days later. There were some small ants (and geckos), but that is to be expected in such a lush tropical environment, just thought I would mention it. Even if you do not stay at this Villa and you are in UBUD- there spa services are AMAZING! Around $15 for 1hr and worth every penny and more! I am still telling people how amazing the massages were, they came to our room and set up the couples massage outside, truly wonderful.

  • Liked — The spa services and the private pool
  • Disliked — That we did not book our stay longer... we had 3 nights and that was not enough!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Just returned from a 9-night stay at Kajane.

The incredible service started from the airport where we were greeted by hotel driver with a cool towel to refresh ourselves from our 30-hour trip (from Los Angeles) and some refreshing water. It was about a 45-minute ride from the airport to the hotel and within a few minutes of our arrival we were in our villa (I think the name of the villa was Waya). Reviewing pictures prior to our trip gave us some expectations but didn’t do it justice, the place was perfect. From the Pool to the free Wi-Fi it was the closest thing to perfect that I have ever experienced.

We often used the free local driving services to go to the nearby Fitness Center (Ubud Fitness) in the mornings and always felt comfortable requesting this service and they always picked us up on time after our workout were completed. The best part is that every time we returned we came home to a clean villa. The hotel staff also assisted us when we visited the local ‘Medicine Man’ by not only driving us but also helping us communicate during our visit.

What made this hotel stand out from others we have stayed in the past was the incredible service (equivalent or perhaps even better than Four Seasons. Really!) The entire staff new our names and greeted us every time they saw us. They seemed genuinely concerned with how our stay was going making sure breakfast was good, and making sure there were no issues with the villa itself! At one point we thought the staff was reading our minds when as we were thirsty one afternoon and our afternoon tea showed up without any formal request and within minutes of my wife asking if I was thirsty!

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, we could easily walk to shopping (City Center), eating (many restaurants both Indonesia and ‘Western’ style) within a few steps of the resort and Kajane itself had their own restaurant (we didn’t try during our stay) and some site seeing (Monkey Forrest, etc…)

Our package included pick up from the airport, daily breakfast and afternoon tea for $190.00 (USD) night.

The resort also had DVD and books we could use during our stay and as I mentioned above free Wi-fi (other hotels were charging $6 per hour) which for us was perfect.

Overall, I would say this was probably one of the best hotel / resort experiences I have had. My only negative feedback would be that they don’t currently offer an expedited customs entry program so you can bypass the long lines going through customs at the airport (some hotels offer this) but learned they are working with the airport on this and plan to offer this in 2009 (if they have this program it is worth any expense, after our 30 hour trip we had to wait for another 90 minutes to get our visa and get through customs). We also learned they are in process of expanding the resort which may include a fitness center! We are looking forward to our next stay at Kajane.

  • Liked — Service, Accommodations, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion

Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#19 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theese exclusive private villa offers ten individually-designed spacious one bedroom villas and twelve more two-bedroom, three-bedroom, four-bedroom villas with locally-crafted furnishings reflecting Balinese and Javanese influences. Long glass windows and doors mirror the bamboo hand-woven ceiling of the room and view the green tropical garden at staggering ravine or rice terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kajane Mua Private Villa & Mansion Hotel Ubud
Kajane Mua Private Villa And Mansion
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.