We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEEPLY CHANGED IN WORST !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion to your Saves list
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Roma
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“DEEPLY CHANGED IN WORST !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Once this place was fantastic for the natural terraces and classical Ubud's jungle views!
Now unfortunately, had been intensly changed with new buildings and increase guests hospitality in numbers and in profits.
We found the place enough destroyied, but we guess: it is the way how Ubud is changing for the next future?
The hotel is still nice but it is far away from the Kajane Mua visited 2 years ago.

The new swimming pool is faraway from a nice pool place and there is too much cement and few of tropical garden, it is beside the palace/building recently done.

We have experienced overbooking, with a lot of problems and time got lost not for our responsability; they have room available in a new building just back the restaurant.
Unfortunately those rooms are without windows and this facy was not displayed at time of booking,
Then it is an unespectable surprise to come in Ubud and do not enjoy of the Jungle and the Sun lights and shadows.
Even if the rooms looked comfortable and spacious, we were not prepared to pay the large amount of money to pass our holiday in a secreted room with upper opaline windows and not served even by a lift, being a sort of palace/building and not a two floors villa.

The receptionists had been helpfull but they cannot do so much when the proprietors ask them to guarantee their maximum of money profits from the business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    109
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
123
385
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very luxurious, very clean. Staff friendly and helpfu, and sensitive to privacy. They always came when we were not in. They knew us by first name. Location ideal. Easy to navigate Ubud, including complimentary drivers and transportation locally. For larger road trips, they provided a driver and car for the day (at our expense but very reasonable). Complimentary (4 course) breakfast was outstanding. Complimentary massage - very nice. Great restaurant. Beautiful grounds. This was the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: private villas or more typical hotel rooms available; depends on your needs. The villas can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here in 2011 with large group of family and friends. I shared one of the rooms of the mansion. Everything was just amazing:
- service ( went out of their way to make you happy)
- rooms were modern with a tropical Balinese twist and very clean!
- ground were well maintained and clean
- had choice of swimming in the salt water private villa pool or the larger shared pool
- food was pretty good

Overall they had all the little touches that you want to enjoy when in holiday

The only thing I would say I'd try to get a villa closer to the road otherwise it may be a bit of a hike to the back of the complex

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We think this hotel would be ideal for those who need to get away from it all, yet can't bear being too far away from Ubud's shops and restaurants. The hotel is quite hard to find, its small restaurant is all that we could see of the hotel from the busy Monkey Forest road. Smaller rooms are located closer to the front, surrounding the main pool area, which is being spoilt by noisy building construction (aren't such high buildings banned in Ubud?). Compounds of rooms sharing smaller pools, as well as private villas, are located further away as the hotel seems to be expanding deeper into the wooded area at the rear. Most of the rooms seem to be in good condition, but the private villas are showing more wear and tear. We stayed in one of these villas with an infinity pool facing the hotel's private paddy field. The villa's four poster bedroom is decent sized but the closet/wardrobe area is bigger than many Hong Kong apartments. There is also an outdoor bathroom area/mini garden.  For the female traveller, a wicker shopping bag and a very large hat is provided - a nice touch. TV channel selection is limited. Overall, service is friendly (but on the slow side), breakfast is decent, with the clientele evenly split between couples and families with young children. As mentioned earlier, location is close to Ubud's centre, but by Indonesian walking distance standards quite far from its Palace and Museums. The hotel's Suzuki APV "limo-buses" are convenient for these trips and seem more spacious  than the Toyota Avanza we hired earlier. We'd like to come back, but preferably after all the expansion and construction work are completed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Me and my son spent a most pleasant 3 nights stay at Kajane Mua. Everyone was always smiling whenever you chance upon any of the hotel staff. They always greeted each guest and asked them how we were that day and finding out if we still needed anything. We stayed in one of the rooms of the Telaga mansion (Villas were fully booked) that had a mini patio facing the pool. Rooms were spacious, new and brightly colored. The bathroom was great and had all the amenities (it would've helped if the sliding clear glass door was glazed instead to provide some privacy). Food was well prepared, good and affordable... even breakfast can be served in your patio. It certainly was a nice gesture that my accommodation included a complimentary dinner for two that also included free foot massage. Location was right in the middle of the stretch of Monkey Forest Road were shops, convenience stores and restaurants/bars are located and plentiful (I recommend Cafe Wayan which is right beside the hotel). In spite of it's closeness to these establishments, our nights remained peaceful. Though there was construction work beside the hotel it was still tolerable. Going further down or up the road and around town is no problem as the hotel provided free shuttle service (including pick up). In fact, just ask any of the guest assistance staff on duty for anything you need to know about your stay in Ubud and surely they'll try their best to provide you with the info. Highly recommend you consider Kajane Mua.

Room Tip: Villas is worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in Kajane Mua in June and it was a very relaxing and serene experience.
The rooms are beautiful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Everything about this place is just perfect. It is located at the prime area of the Monkey forest road. One can just walk around to reach other nearby places of interest. And the breakfast they serve is awesome and healthy. And they are just doors away from the famous Cafe Wayan. You can just sit at their breakfast hall and watch the day unfold itself in the streets of Ubud. This place is highly recommended for a stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel itself was good and Balinese (not foreign owned),but there is building work on a hotel next door (not an issue, noise did not disturb us). Our room was very nice with an outdoor bathroom, but some of the wooden fencing was being repaired leaving a view of barbed wire which my wife was not comfortable with. As others have mentioned, the staff were outstanding especially with our children (they evne made them cakes and gave them leaving presents and plenty of cuddles). The hotel location is very central but quiet and the bicycles make for good fun on the bali streets (esp with child seat).
I only mark the value down due to booking aith Agoda at a cheaper rate (although airport transfer were then additonal). Did not try the spa.

Room Tip: We had a pool villa (Toya Maya) very nice and located at the rear of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion

Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#17 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theese exclusive private villa offers ten individually-designed spacious one bedroom villas and twelve more two-bedroom, three-bedroom, four-bedroom villas with locally-crafted furnishings reflecting Balinese and Javanese influences. Long glass windows and doors mirror the bamboo hand-woven ceiling of the room and view the green tropical garden at staggering ravine or rice terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kajane Mua Private Villa & Mansion Hotel Ubud
Kajane Mua Private Villa And Mansion
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.