We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cendana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cendana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Cendana Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice, but very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel grounds are very beautiful - lots of flowers and greenery, and we enjoyed watching the ducks roam around in the rice fields. It's really a very peaceful and relaxing location, and the cats that roam around the premises are quite cute and charming.

Our room smelled like mildew though, and our bathroom roof leaked during a rainstorm one night. I wasn't especially impressed with their breakfast buffet either; there was very little selection.

We weren't totally disappointed, but we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    139
    49
    9
    1
See reviews for
67
108
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Second time at cendana , stayed there for 2 weeks this trip,we love the location and staff are fantastic, they really look out for the kids.Looking out to rice feilds instead of walls is fanatastic and watching the ducks is entertaining
This time we stayed in the standard rooms which I found noisy from the nightclub behind the resort (earplugs helped).Rooms are clean, sheets and towels changed daily.I love the breakfast and the choice is quite large compared to other places in Bali.Would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Stay in superior rooms at back of property if you can afford them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed in Ubud three times and are about to make our fourth trip there. The first time, we (spouse + 2 adult children) stayed at Cendana, which seemed OK, but on the second occasion, we took advice from friends and stayed elsewhere in the town, and that made us appreciate Cendana to its full extent. We (spouse + 3 adult children) stayed there again over Xmas 2011 and will have another 11 days there in late July 2012. In terms of value for money, convenience and comfort, it would seem very hard to beat. It is located very close to the town centre (5 mins walk); there are any number of great eating places nearby; the rooms are mostly set amongst the rice paddies, away from the noisy street; the staff are always helpful, but unobtrusive; and the rooms are comfortably sized, furnished and clean. Sitting around the saltwater spa during the late afternoon and gazing at the rice paddies just beyond, complete with charming little families of ducks and the odd water buffalo, relaxation can be enjoyed.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are OK and predictably the deluxe are better. Both seem good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We are using Ubud as our base to travel in Indonesia and after staying at another hotel intially and then checking out our options we chose the Cendana for its location, salt water pool, AC, and free wi-fi. The location is right in the heart of Ubud and the restaurants and dance shows. This does mean some noise but it does not go on very late usually. We have stayed in a standard room and also the deluxe. The standard is good if you don't need alot of space. There are no refrigerators in the standard room but there are in the deluxe. Breakfast is decent with eggs, toast, bacon/sausage, fresh fruit and a fresh juice along with coffee or tea. When the wi-fi goes out if you speak to the front desk they can usually get it up and running again. As is the norm in Asia there is only cold water in the sink - hot water only in the shower. The deluxe room has a TV with many channels. We have left a suitcase with them so we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Chose the 2nd floor rooms. If a strong wi-fi signal in your room is important to you let them know w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our 6 nights at this lovely hotel in Ubud. The location is perfect if you want to be in the heart of the tourist zone, on Monkey Forest Road. To be honest though, I was over the tourist zone after 3 days, we just stayed here as a base for tours. A big plus is the proximity of great shopping and awesome restaurants. The monkey forest is just about 500 metres down the hill.

We stayed in a US$55 Standard AC room, but didn't switch on the AC given its July, so you could get by with a fan only room in winter.

If I have a complaint, the breakfast is pretty average. OK frankly they have the worst coffee in the universe (I speak as a coffee addict, I could not even sip their coffee). I only went because it was free and they do a decent juice and have some fruit. There are eggs and some other stuff. I've had much better breakfasts at resorts, but also worse, and to be honest I'm just as happy to sleep in past the 10am deadline and get a real coffee elsewhere in town.

We had massages at their spare which were reasonably priced at $10/half hour. The standard was good, though not incredible. I'd recommend using the masseurs at your resort where you know what you are going to get (Good if not incredible) rather than the very hit and miss experience on the main road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have just returned from a week in this delightful resort, shared with friends from my gym in Melbourne. The resort is well-located in the heart of everything but with the rice fields abutting the second pool, you feel as though you are in a village. All staff were welcoming and friendly and always happy to assist in arranging reliable transport. Breakfast was always a treat and we did partake of delicious soup ayam one afternoon when we were feeling a little peckish..

Room Tip: Rooms near the back of the property are further from Jalan Monkey Forest but I think any room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed in one of the newer rooms on the top lfoor overlooking the pool. The rooms are very big and have lovely big beds. The balcony has a comfy chair. Staff are very helpful and friendly but also very respectful of privacy. Located right on Monkey Forest Rd, but down a driveway so nice and quiet. Surrounded by working rice fields. Don't engage with the workers because they will ask for money. Breakfast was simple but ample.

Room Tip: I think the newer top floors are best. Up to you if you want pool or rice field view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cendana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cendana Resort and Spa

Address: Monkey Forest Road, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#39 Family Hotel in Ubud
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cendana Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cendana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cendana Hotel Ubud
Cendana Resort Ubud
Cendana Resort And Spa Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cendana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.