We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and pure beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Pita Maha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Pita Maha to your Saves list
The Royal Pita Maha
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Kedewatan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation and pure beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Amazing views and private pools, serenity is amazing!!
The service was always friendly, however there didn't appear to be a casual bar for afternoon drinks before heading to dinner.
Important to take time to relax and enjoy the beauty of the surrounding hills and river. You can easily lose time just kicking back with a good book!

Room Tip: Have a close look at the map - this resort is very big and I would have hated to be in a room down n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    109
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
66
429
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

It's centrally located in Ubud, near my favorite traditional Balinese chicken rice, Kedewatan.
I was so surprised to find out the area is huge. This is absolutely stunning.

My villa was located at the edge of the area near the Ayung river, the balcony and the outdoor view are amazing. I decided to have a Yoga session here. The next morning I found out that they have a regular Yoga class and provide a Yoga Guru. The area is the best to have true tranquility. After Yoga, don't forget to jump to the Holy pool where you can also drink the water from this pool directly.

Don't miss to try the Balinese spa treatment at Royal Kirana Spa and Wellness, very relaxing indeed.

Such an unique experience staying in this resort. I don't wanna leave.

My suggestion, don't bring old folks to this area since the resort has so many steps and the most suitable will be for couples and those who like Yoga.

Room Tip: All villas are well located, get the one in front of Ayung river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place is amazing. There are no words to describe beauty of the design and the location.
Rooms and furniture are dated and not of 5 stars standards, but it doesn't really meter.
It's well compensated by huge private pool, stunning views, arts and crafts throughout the resort.
Service is very friendly, but inconsistent.
The main problem here is the food - had poisoning with fever on second day (never eat outside the resort) and had to spend the other 6 days on Cipro.
The only relatively tasty meals was provided by organic restaurant by the river. (not open for diner)
Early morning check out wasn't very friendly - person in charge was very concern with settling mini bar bill (soda water equal $2) ,but forgot to serve breakfast promised a night before when we paid main bill of about $3500.
Also this hotel tend to ignore e-mails.
Still would probably recommend this place with some degree of caution

Room Tip: All good, but some have better view, some require more climbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is one of the finest resort I have ever lived in and I have lived in quite a many all over the world. This was also special as we were there for our honeymoon. The resort looks much nicer in real than the pictures posted on the internet. Its inside a kind of valley and there is a river flowing inside the resort. You have a breakfast just adjacent to the river which is one of the best things about this place. There is also yoga happening there in the morning, people doing rafting which you can view sitting inside the hotel.
We took a room with private pool and it had view of the river below from our pool. Its actually hard to describe how amazing the view was.
Its a memorable place and one should surely love atleast for a night if in Bali.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is nearer to the lift as going up and down could be a challenge, if done multipl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just got back from our Bali/ Ubud holiday,we stayed at the Royal Pita Maha In Ubud,We stayed in Villa 158 which had some amazing views of the valley unfortunely not of the Ayung River,the room was very clean & well appointed,the pool was awesome we swam everyday,you could easily walk around the grounds day after day.
We ate in the Restaurant on the top floor each night,the food was excellent & compairable prices to Perth,Free Buffet Breakfast each morning with a large range of food.3 lunch & 4 dinner cost about $400 aus.The hotel staff are so friendly & always ready to help with anything you need.
We did see a few large lizards frogs & a scorpion but we were in the forest, ghekos a plenty ( they do scream) But you get used to them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

First of all, I would like to say thank you to Mr. Wijana and The Management of Royal Pita Maha Bali for helping us before and during our stay at Royal Pita Maha, Kadewatan Ubud.

1. The driver picked us at airport on time. He is very kind and friendly and told us about the villa
2. We are lucky because we try the newest villa "Royal Pool Villa" that has modern feature, but still kept their exotic and traditional side.
3. The Royal Pool Villa has its own private pool, king size bed with canopy, living room with 2 LCD TV and modern bath up and shower. When we arrived, our bed and bathup was decorated with flower and they gave us two gift on the bed
4. The food was standart, but the view from the restaurant was breathtaking. They served buffet breakfast and gave guests free afternoon tea.
5. We have tried their massage in Royal Kirana Spa. My husband really like their massage because it eliminate muscle pain. Amazing experience at Royal Kirana Spa because we have chance to try their jacuzzi and swimming pool. They have herbal mist and sauna too, but If you're pregnant, you can't try the sauna and hot herbal mist.
6.Last but not least, I love my experience with Royal Pita Maha :) I wish I could come back one day to enjoy their breathtaking view, fresh air, natural villa, their kindness and the spa :) :) :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The was the most unique and spectacular resort that we have ever visited. The location is just stunning, perched on the edge of a verdant valley overlooking the Ayung River.

The dining room and lobby are in a building perched on the edge of the valley with a fabulous view of the valley below. Both are open air, with soaring ceilings, enormous and intricately carved door mantels, cove mouldings, pillars and panelling.

The resort features original Balinese art and sculptures both traditional and modern, by master painters and sculptors throughout the property. Each villas showcases art by a particular artist. The pieces are on consignment and are available for sale. The owners who are of royal Balinese blood, have gone through great pains to highlight not only the surreal beauty of this valley in this magical island but also to showcase the brilliant talent that this hothouse of culture and arts nurtures. It truly is a magnificent place.

Art classes and cooking classes are available upon request. Worth it if those are your areas of interest - not for amateurs.

The landscaping of the property is out of this world, and the villas are large with individual swimming pools...and again those tremendous views. The food, the service - top-notch! Ms. Dewi and Mr. Agung - you have our deepest thanks.

Further down in the valley is a lagoon to swim in which meanders alongside the actual Ayung River. Another magical feature is a beautiful spring fed "holy pool" with an ancient shrine perched to your left and the thundering falls situated to your right. If you are lucky, and a quiet and early riser, you will observe a rather resplendent jungle fowl (male) strutting down the stone steps from the jungle, to help himself to the offerings by the pool. He's quite shy. No sudden moves or he's off.

You can walk along the river as well - it is quite a thrill for birdwatchers. We saw common kingfishers, olive-backed bulbuls, yellow-bellied sunbirds, sulphur-crested cockatoos, and yellow throated parakeets. There was also a giant black bird with russet wings that we could not identify.

The service at the resort is excellent, but it is the combination of the spectacular setting, the landscaping, the art, and the architecture that make this truly a magical place.

Where else would you find an elevator in the middle of a tropical rainforest?!

It is the best of the real Bali.

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps in this resort, so if you have mobility issues you may want to choose a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Pita Maha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Pita Maha

Address: Desa Kedewatan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#28 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Pita Maha 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the spiritually revered and picturesque area of Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali, The Royal Pita Maha's awesome atmosphere is enriched with its celestial history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Pita Maha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Royal Pita Maha Ubud
The Royal Pita Maha Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Pita Maha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.