We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Pita Maha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Pita Maha to your Saves list
The Royal Pita Maha
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Desa Kedewatan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. It's situated on a hillside surrounded by forest. Walking to the villas is like walking through a temple complex hidden in a jungle. The view from our villa (107) was amazing and we had a small personal pool. Our bathroom was very clean and modern with a large tub. The bed had a mosquito net and was comfortable. The only things I would mention is that it may not be the best place to stay if you have trouble walking up and down steps and you will see some small harmless bugs. We only saw one mosquito in our room. You'll see some bugs stuck on the mosquito net and a few ants on the floor, but that's to be expected from a hotel surrounded by forest. The grounds of the hotel are well kept. I would recommend exploring the area - it's a beautiul walk. There are three pools. A pool closer to the lobby, another pool a little bit further down the hill, and another pool that's very long closer to the river. There are bathrooms and changing rooms for each. The hotel also has yoga everyday from 9-10am outside by the river. There are also several restaurants including an organic restaurant opened for breakfast and lunch right by the river. Overall I would recommend this hotel. It has a luxurious feel full of Indonesian flavor. One last thing, the hotel is located further from the center of Ubud, but the hotel offers a convenient shuttle service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    108
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
66
426
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a fantastic experience. The highlight of our holiday was the hotel itself, very relaxing and peaceful. The staff were extremely friendly, and helpful, the view was absolutely stunning, the villa was always clean, neat and tidy. We enjoyed carefully manicured gardens and the beautiful Balinese food. The traditional Balinese dance show is not to be missed. The perfect place to retire to after a busy day shopping and seeing the local sights. Thank to all the staff, we had a fantastic experience and a very relaxing week.

Room Tip: Room 103 was the best!!!!!!!! anything on that level was great. Excellent views and close to the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Amazing hotel that takes you to a world of nature and beauty. The Villa is on the top and the view includes both mountain and river while enjoying the pool.Can't be better ,i would do another honeymoon to choose the Royal Pita Maha hotel.

Room Tip: Higher level Villas good for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staff amazing views unbelievable a very clean and tidy, while expensive if you want to go to some where special this is it. The rooms are large and the bed was huge, we're wondering to sleep across it. Love having our own private pool.

Room Tip: Had room 138 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed again at the Pita Maha. What a sanctuary! The rooms are set into the side of a hill with pristine gardens all around. The views are sensational. This hotel is peaceful and yet so close to many attractions. Like last time, we were warmly welcomed and staff continued to be attentive and friendly during our whole stay. Our room was luxurious, spacious and clean. Breakfasts were a great start to the day. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I made our first trip to this side of the world for our 1 year Anniversary/Honeymoon. Tonight is our final night with this magical place. I find it absolutely necessary to share our experience with all those whom consider staying here.

We both live on the other side of the earth, in the Cayman Islands. Being that Caymans economy also thrives on its tourism, we are accustomed to seeing high standards of service and natural beauty within the tourism business.

We stumbled across this hotel and others through a website. After being blown away by the pictures of all the hotels, we decided on the Royal Pita Maha because they were quick to get back to us and were very informative on my questions. (I later learned that this hotel belongs to the King of Ubud!! After learning this, its no wonder this place turned out to be magical!!)We opted for the "Healing Villas"(recommended).

Upon reservation, I asked their staff for information on a few tourist events we would wanted to enjoy and asked for other suggestions. The team at the hotel were quick to respond, giving us a full list of choices and the details of the trips, which was very helpful! Ask for Ayu (Our contact via email and at the resort), she was fantastic! Let me tell you though, I do not wish to discount any of her colleagues, the entire team at the Royal Pita Maha we great! they organized and/or changed any of our plans that we requested. Offered wakeup calls or reminders, gave us presents and their personal charm...all were the best!

I also asked, being that it was a special occasion, if they could help me organize a "special surprise night" (dinner served for my wife on the night of our anniversary. They assured me that this would be possible, providing me with a menu and details of the night....Their delivery was astounding!! But I will go into more detail with that in a minute...

Arrangement was made to have us picked up from the airport(which is 1.5 hours away from the hotel) even though we arrived at 9:30pm! If you have never been to Bali before, you will be a little wary as you make the trip from the airport to the hotel. Even as you get close to the hotel, the streets are lined with small open convenience shops and other types. The streets in bali are not that clean, but as you will learn, this is also pert of the comforting quaint charm of this country.

This aside, when you reach the front gate of the hotel and make the turn into the long, beautiful driveway to the hotel, you will be blissfully surprised and know that you have just entered a very special place! You will undoubtably find that the photos on and off the website, nor words such as: excited, amazed, beautiful, naturalistic harmony, or detailed, do justice to what you will find here! A towering beautiful statue, beautifully crafted, hand trimmed thatched roofs, ornate & detailed stone carved figurines everywhere you look all over the resort. Nature married beautiful architecture, with healthy florescent green, naturally occurring moss on the exterior stone walkways walls & stairs and scattered small and large statues. Intricate and impressive 15ft wood carvings depicting perfectly the cultural highlights the country showcases. Waterfalls and rapid rivers which flow through the center and edges of the grounds. Small temples on mini pathways, waiting for you to discover as you stroll through the grounds with an uncontrollable smile.

After our reception, our dream continued as we were escort through the seductively night lit grounds. We could hear, but not see the sounds of the waterfall and river, one of which was outside our front door, the other somewhere in the back of our villa, hidden in the cover of the night. Our room is sublime! Wide open space, king size bed, a mosquito net(which is there only for decoration), hand carved traditional Balinese wooden doors. A huge tub, partially filled with water, with an arrangement of rose petals which was in the shape of a heart. Our own, private pool and outdoor shower, decorated with beautiful stone carvings.

We reluctantly went to bed, lullabied by the slight sound of the river passing behind our villa, anxious to see all that we couldn't that night...Let me tell you. I can confidently say that I will never have a more heartfelt, refreshing, joyous moment, first thing in the morning as what I and my wife felt when we woke the next day...One could write a novel about this hotel and still miss pieces of its beauty. holy pools, rice fields, riverside yoga area, wadding pebbled pools which wrap the resort, towering cliff faces riddled with natural greenery...get the picture?

The staff were courteous, respectful, cheerful and always smiling and eager to help. They always went far beyond the call of duty in anything you asked. An example of this way on our anniversary night, as I eluded to prior. They arranged to have a traditional Balinese bamboo instrumental trio to play for us as we enjoyed our dinner, served by members of staff, waiting to get whateverd on and do it with a smile, but I leave early in the morning, so I must end this review by saying, "Thank you, Royal Pita Maha and your amazing staff for giving me and my wife that single m we wanted. another example, is when we went on one of our excursions which picked us up very early in the morning. The front desk staff packed a small light breakfast for us to take, even though the organizers provided a meal.

I could go on anost amazing experience of our lives. You will all be forever in our minds and hearts and rest assured that the stories, told and untold, will be forever remembered thanks to you...Bravo!!"

Hayley & Damien

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I will remember for ever our experience at the Royal Pita Maha. It is like stepping in a different world, where you can feel the magic and sacred essence of this location. The views are amazing, the different water features, including our own pool in our private villa were spectacular. The spa, may be the most luxurious spa in the world, with the private open air rooms, incredible views, landscaping, birds, pools and great treatments.
We are avid travelers, always going to new places, but this is a place that I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Pita Maha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Pita Maha

Address: Desa Kedewatan | PO Box 198, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#28 Family Hotel in Ubud
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#28 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Pita Maha 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the spiritually revered and picturesque area of Kedewatan, Ubud, Bali, The Royal Pita Maha's awesome atmosphere is enriched with its celestial history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Pita Maha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Pita Maha Hotel Ubud
Royal Pita Maha Ubud
The Royal Pita Maha Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Pita Maha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.