We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unique, in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Save
You added Tegal Sari to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 145 Hotels in Ubud
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
404 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unique, in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for the brief portion of our honeymoon that wasn't spent on Bali's beautiful beaches. We are so glad we took that break from the beaches, wonderful as they were, to enjoy all Ubud has to offer, and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay in Ubud than the Tegal Sari. We stayed in a deluxe room, that was actually a two-story domicile with a balcony and private jacuzzi. The room itself was quite nice, and the view from our balcony of rice fields was the most tranquil view I've ever experienced from a hotel room. Our rate included breakfast room service, and enjoying the delicious fresh juices and foods on our balcony was a highlight.

But, do not draw an impression that this hotel was in a remote rural paradise. Rather, the center of town was just a 5 minute walk in the other direction, giving us wonderful restaurants, shops, museums, and culture at our doorstep. The people who worked at the hotel were very helpful, arranging transportation to a traditional dance exhibition at no expense to us, and arranging transportation to our next hotel (a long drive from Ubud) at minimal cost.

I have no regrets about staying at this hotel and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    235
    28
    10
    15
See reviews for
262
506
108
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed 3 nights at Tegal Sari, first 2 nights in Room 23 Super Deluxe. Couldn't get it for the 3rd night so moved to Deluxe Room 17 which still a great view of the rice fields.
There's so many reviews on this hotel and it turned out to be everything we expected.
Great location, beautiful hotel.

Only thing I guess they could change is to perhaps put t.v.'s in the room, for people with children. At night there is nowhere to go in Ubud after dinner so a t.v. (with cable) in the room for afterwards wouldn't go astray.

Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

the hotel was built inbetween two pieces of rice fileds, can see local people working on the farm, volcanos at the end of your visual field.. we didnt even turn on air con at night, you can hear fogs at night,frsh air, cozy environment..the toilet is bigger than what i expect.. no TV, but I am sure you wont feel like watching TV there, just look at the rice field, it is 100 times better than watching TV.. need to walk about 20 minutes to the center of ubud, but along the way has plenty of shops n restaurants.. venezia aps just opposite hotel's back door, both hotel n spa offer reasonable price..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Have just returned from our first ever trip to Bali, and Tegal Sari and Ubud were without doubt my favourite out of the 3 areas and hotels we stayed in. As many people have said before me, the staff really made our stay, they are so warm and friendly and really made us feel so welcome from the time we arrived. Nothing was a problem for them and they always had time for a chat and a smile. I especially liked Kadek from the restaurant , she was so sweet. Our room (the super deluxe wooden #20) was just gorgeous. It was spotless, and heaps bigger than I expected, It was only a short walk past the new villas (got a peep inside one, they are simply stunning) and you were in Monkey Forest Rd. The only downside I found was that the room was a considerable distance to reception (especially in the rain), and the shower could be a problem for bigger people as it was not very big, but the MASSIVE bath more than made up for it. Pertiwi Spa was just superb and I actually fell asleep during my facial, it was so relaxing. Yes, Tegal Sari IS as good as they say, and I will certainly try to stay there again if and when I go to Ubud again, which I hope is sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Just stayed at Tegal Sari and it was great. The super deluxe rooms are excellent: quiet, spacious, well-appointed, wonderful views of rice paddies. The superior rooms are more basic, but still good value and located closer to the front desk and restaurant. Some of the super deluxe rooms are quite a long walk from the front desk as the hotel layout is pretty much linear, stretching over a distance of around 200 meters. The pool is ok but the floor of the pool is uneven and hard on the feet if you are standing in the water (as I was with my very young daughter). Great place, though, and I look forward to returning. Just be sure to book way early as they are almost always full.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was our second stay at Tegal sari and we loved it again. We took friends with us and they also loved it.
We were in 2 rooms by the pool. We were downstairs in 17 and they were above in 16.
Lovely staff, lovely view, great food, gorgeous rooms.
The only problem being that the air conditioners were not that powerful.
We did have fans as well....and with them on too, it was fine. But coming from a hotel in Kuta where it was cold......it was a little disappointing.
A short cut had us through to monkey forest and monkey forest road in no time.
Free shuttle service to and from town was needed and appreciated.
I must say the noise I expected to hear in the rice paddies that we heard when we visited in the month of July.......were not heard. (Thank goodness) Scarecrows etc frightening away birds etc, not good for sleep in's in such a serene place.
So I guess it depends on when you go as to just how quiet it is.
I love tegal sari, but they no longer serve breakfast....we got the last breakfast ever that was complimentary. (I am sure you can buy it now).....so perhaps next time we stay in ubud, it will be time to try another hotel, as i have never compared.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I've been going to Bali for the past several years, and have brought many friends on various trips. I have stayed in a lot of places around Ubud and the rest of the Island and have ever had the experience with staff that I have had at Tegal Sari. So many memorable experiences, but one of the best was when a staff member, Astana, invited us to his "home village" for the annual temple ceremony. It was such a beautiful magical night, and I will never forget it. But it's the attention to detail, the staffs amazing ability to intuit what is needed, and their professionalism. The staff have shared the reasons that they love working there and have stayed despite the fact that they can make more money in other hotels, They are each trained to do all the jobs, which they love. The hotel is Balinese owned (some of the workers are related to the owner) and so their Holidays are honored (many hotels do not honor this.)
I could go on and on..I will just say that it is beautiful, relaxed, the pool is gorgeous and will refresh your soul. The spa is amazing. I love it there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#61 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#38 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#56 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#45 of 145 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tegal Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.