We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money but not luxurious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tegal Sari to your Saves list
Tegal Sari
Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 127 Hotels in Ubud
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value for money but not luxurious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

It was our first visit to Ubud, and after hearing so much good reviews on this hotel, we decided this could be the best place to stay. My husband & I spent 2 nights at the Duplex room (one & only unit with jacuzzi) - room 14. Located in the middle, this unit offers the best rice paddies view. Perfect for those seeking serenity & not afraid of tropical (aka jungle) mosquitoes. Both the jacuzzi & bathroom is located downstairs outdoor, but toilet is indoor. In the morning, the ducks quacking was loud enough to wake u so it is not neccesary to set the alarm. Overall, it wa an unique experience for both of us but once is enough. If you are looking for a luxurious holiday, this is not the place. However for a rustic & value-for-money accomodation, this is perfect. Remember to book in advance (i.e I booked this unit 1 year in advance)!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    203
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
237
473
94
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Once again Tegal Sari was a delight. Lovely views from the wooden room. The staff are the most helpful and accomodating we have ever come across.
The hotel is small and all the guests are happy, ..you'd never see a cranky customer here like you always do in large hotes, it's quiet, low key, close to restaurants. The views of the rice paddies are gorgeous. And the price is almost too good to be true. Once we arrived we booked a 1hr massage, $7.50US, and the bottle of wine in the mini bar was only $11.50 US...we could really do whatever we liked without thinking about prices..when we go back to Bali for our 3rd trip, I simply will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

There are obviously many positive reviews for this place, but I would like to emphasize a few important things. If you are looking for a luxury hotel that is downtown next to the boutiques, this place is not for you. The hotel is located on the edge of southern Ubud, which means it borders rice fields and is a little bit away from the cheesy downtown marketplaces. I think this is a great thing and part of the charm, but others might not agree. For the price, it cannot be beaten. But there's no TV and the restaurant is small, so if your idea of a vacation is ordering room service and watching the golf channel, you also might not enjoy it here.

Positives: I really can't say enough great things about this place. First and foremost, the quality of service here is excellent. They can arrange nearly everything you need from a drop-off at a downtown restaurant (free) to a day-long excursion (6 US dollars/hour for a car, driver, and gas). The staff is extremely friendly, and we learned a vast amount of information about daily life in Bali from our driver during one outing. We stayed in the wooden room for one night (#18) and it is fantastic. I wish we could have stayed a whole week there. It is on stilts and has a thatched roof, beautiful four-post bed with mosquito net, a great porch with chairs, table, and bed (!), and an epic view of the rice fields--all for under 50 US dollars/night. Even more epic, however, would be a stay in one of their new villas (one is called the Bamboo Villa, not sure about the other). They look like they're out of Architectural Digest or the Robb Report. For some reason, they're not advertising them yet, but ASK!!! These are insanely cool! Totally modern, sleek, all white, floor-to-ceiling windows, wood floors, koi ponds. All for 150-250 US dollars/night. If we had known about these, we would have booked a week in one of them. Next time we come, we will definitely be staying in one of these.

They also provide unlimited filtered water to refill your plastic bottles in the lobby--very cool and eco-friendly. Also important is that the place is owned and managed by local Balinese, so your tourist dollars are not being funneled to some corporation in the US or UK but are actually benefitting local people.

Negatives: Not much bad to say here. Other rooms may not be as nice as the wooden room (#18), so I can't speak for all their accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

The reason why I booked to stay at Tegal Sari was because of the reviews on this site. And I am so very GLAD I did. Travelling with husband and 5 and 9 year old children - it was there first trip to Bali so they had no idea what to expect. We were met by a lovely young man, who during our ride to Ubud answered all our questions about Bali in general, very enthusiastically. On arrival we were enchanted by the beautiful location and the lush tropical surroundings. Our room (no 21) super deluxe was simple but spotlessly clean. During our time we had many meals from the restaurant (as walking all day with children makes it hard to go out at night!) All the meals we had from their kitchen were wonderful - my husband commented "why doesn't anyone tell you about the amazing food in Bali! It was also handy to a couple of great restaurants on JL Hanomen Rd - easy within walking distance. Also you had access via the new villas to Monkey Forest Road - so that was a good short cut. The staff were so friendly and warm - especially to my blonde 5 year old daughter - after only 2 days all the staff greeted her personally with her name!!! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff of this hotel - I particularly liked being able to change our Aussie dollars with them - their rates were the same and sometimes even better than the money changes in Ubud. They helped us arrange a trip to the Safari Park and the free shuttle into Ubud was great and used most mornings. As was the shuttle to their spa where the treatments were devine. Having the rice paddies in front of our room being harvested during our stay, gave us a true insight to Bali life - boy do we have it lucky in Western countries! We are already organising our return trip to Tegal Sari next year - I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Ubud - it was a truly relaxing, enjoyable stay - thank you Tegal Sari!!R

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We booked this hotel with our four sons as part of our Bali and Hong-Kong trip, mainly on the reviews of this site.

First of all; we are spoiled people. I knew that this hotel was a true bargain but was still curious about these raving reviews.
To be honest; we stayed there for just two hours, checked out again and moved to the Four Seasons Sayan. This probably has nothing to do with the hotel but more with us.

Staff was friendly indeed, but location, (OK some rice paddies, but you can also enjoy the view on a dirty factories and some hidious houses) rooms (in some rooms you hardly have any privacy; everyone can walk by your terrace, which you almost share with your neighbours), restaurant and the pool (looked like it had not been used for ages) were a true disappointment.

Where did we go wrong? The reviews on this site we so absolutely enthousiastic all the way that I hardly could believe what they were writing. In fact, all these reviewers might be right, taken into consideration the extreme low price you pay for these premises.
However, if you are used to 5-star quality, than this is just not the place to book.

If you look for a bargain in Ubud, this probably is the best place to book, but do not be mislead by the reviews. It still is a very basic place, not even in the best neighbourhood of Ubud and still a fair walk (15 min) to the town center.
Count on eating out, as their 'restaurant' looks more the that of a very average trainstation, containing just a couple of tables and offering Thai Curry for the price of only USD 5,-- a person.

Once again, this might be a nice hotel for those who are looking for a true bargain in Ubud. But do not expact too much here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva, switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at the Tegal Sari for the second time with our son. It was just an overnight trip from Legian. We booked the hotel over the telephone, it went smoothly. They also arranged for the pick-up and return trip, so no hassle finding a driver and negotiating.We had one of their superior rooms which was nice and excellent value for money. It is the details which make the Tegal Sari so good and popular. It starts with the staff who is efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, there was a real extra bed for our son (not just a mattress) and there were amenities such as liquid soap (in a dispenser,eco-friendly ! as is the possibility to place a card on your bed if your sheets do not need to be changed), a coffee and tea maker with the ingredients, complete documentation on the services offered and on things to do around Ubud. A very good breakfast was served on the private terrace (you get to choose from the menu) and last, but not least, there is an in-room safe, but there is no tv. The view on the rice fields largely compensates for this. There is a restaurant at the hotel and there are some nice restaurants in the vicinty. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Monkey Forest. We would definitely stay at the Tegal Sari again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed here for 7 days in June 2009 based on the reviews on this site and were definately not disappointed!!! we stayed at 3 other hotels on this trip at this price range and tegal sari was BY FAR the best! the staff were absolutely amazing, the location wonderful, the scenery fantastic and relaxing! what more can be said? stay here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tegal Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.