We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amongst the best we've stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Tegal Sari to your Saves list
Tegal Sari
Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Ubud
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amongst the best we've stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked the Tegal Sari after seeing its glowing reviews. And I'm so glad that we did. Absolutely stunning location, beautiful rooms, great service. Possibly amongst the top three hotels of our entire south east asian stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    194
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
228
452
91
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 8 nights at this beautiful place...#18 Wooden that overlooks the rice patties....WOW! The only thing that exceeded the beautiful room was the wonderful people who cared for us at Tegal Sari. I join the other people who hate to review this resort for fear it may be too difficult to get reservations in the future. Elaine & Chuck

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The reviews you read about this place are 100% accurate. Yes the booking process is a bit laboured compared to some other places but it is worth it! It is within moments of everything but you feel like you are in your own private retreat! The rooms are outstanding (we stayed in a super deluxe) looking over the beautiful rice paddy fields. The staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. The hotel restaurant (with the exception of breakfast) is actually on Monkey forest road but you can eat there and charge it to your room. We had the most incredible massage by the pool on our last night which I can highly recommend.
Ubud is a stunning part of Bali and this place really does compliment your stay. We could have stayed there for a month! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23 at the bottom. As this is on the end you have unrestricted views immediately ou...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

after reading such great reviews about the tegal sari we had to stay here. we were not dissapointed! the staff were great and very helpful. our room was clean and tidy and had the most amazing view out onto the rice paddies. be sure to take advantage of getting a massage down by the swmming pool - best massages we had by far on our holiday. be sure to book in advance as this place can be hard to get into!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Outstanding service- Balan was so helpful and kind! This is a peaceful retreat from the overcrowded city center, yet walking distance to great restaurants and The Yoga Barn. Beautiful pool, views and an outdoor massage space- $8 for an excellent massage- I'll definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

As Tegal Sari was one of most popular accommodations in Ubud, I booked wooden room about half year earlier before arrival. All were perfect during my stay, staffs were friendly, the room was good, the location was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Certainly this intimate hotel is difficult to find its match for Ubud area. Great value in all aspects and we don't have words to describe how we fell in love with this hotel. Unfortunately you will have to book early to get the available rooms. There is a small fitness facility - although I rated it as poor but it is provided for free any way. Hence, we can't ask for more in view of the very reasonable room price.

Room Tip: Choose for new family-type of rooms at the back of the complex. They are more quiet and are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#8 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tegal Sari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.